22 Reviews

Absolutely AMAZING! I bought a can of pumpkin when it finally came in stock, and have been waiting for a worthy recipe to use it on. I opted to make pumpkin muffins, so I didn't use the frosting; otherwise, I followed the recipe to the tee. These guys are so moist! I was able to make 12 muffins and 3 mini muffins. I added toasted walnuts to some of the batch, which was a great idea. I plan on making these again this week with the walnuts. Also, I watched mine and ceased baking at 15 minutes, so be sure to keep an eye on yours!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbell Bunny October 19, 2009

I needed to use up some pumpkin puree that I had prepared and froze last fall. Also needed to use up some buttermilk. Didn't have any pumpkin pie spice, but found a substitute recipe on line. I froze them and have been enjoying them in the morning for breakfast. I didn't frost them, so they are really just like muffins.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 March 19, 2009

DELICIOUS! I made this in a bundt pan and cooked it for about 45 mins. and it came out WONDERFULLY. Also added a little bit of Nutella for a little something extra in the frosting and it was beautiful. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
raychel4korn November 07, 2011

These were excellent. They had the delicate soft crumb of a cupcake, but with the less sweet and easy to get out of the pan part of a muffin. I followed other reviewers and added 2 teaspoons of the pumpkin pie spice. It was mild, but just right for me. We thought these were definitely better without the icing, it overpowered it. I got 13 very well risen muffins out of this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito September 06, 2011

As previous reviewer stated...this is more like a muffin than a cupcake. The sweetness is primarily the icing. The texture, firmness... not much sweetness...more like a muffin. I gave it 3 stars as a "muffin" but would give even less as a cupcake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jopalis October 15, 2010

We really liked the cupcake didn't like the icing too much. We made half with buttercream frosting and loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cantcook2saveme September 15, 2010

My son wanted to make pumpkin muffins yesterday, and this was the lucky recipe we chose. These are fantastic. Easy to make, light and moist. I did follow other comments and upped the pumpkin pie spice to 2 tsp. I also frosted them with Coooked Chocolate Fudge Icing #122759, instead of cream cheese icing, which is very decadent and over the top good. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jmommy209 March 01, 2010

Unbelievable! So smooth and soft and light! I agree about the spice... should increase it to 2 tsp, but it's still nice. I used soy milk (instead of buttermilk) because I didn't have any "real" milk... it didn't do anything weird to the cupcakes. They are amazing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Babylemke January 04, 2010

These are really moist and surprisingly fluffy IF you sift the flour and don't over-stir. I used the white chocolate cream cheese icing White Chocolate and Cream Cheese Icing and then drizzled them with some caramel syrup - DIVINE! And they looked great too, like something from a fancy bakery!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachie P October 30, 2009

These cupcakes turned out great!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Newbie to the Block October 15, 2009
Pumpkin Cupcakes