77 Reviews

I just made a half batch of the recipe, 2 tbsp cocoa powder (due to the comments I read), and mixing 1 tbsp powdered sugar, 1/2 tbsp light brown sugar, 1/4 tsp vanilla extract to the cream cheese. I won't add cocoa next time, and I definitely won't increase any of the spices in these muffins. They are "spicy" enough as is, I could hardly taste the pumpkin. IMO, it tasted like ginger bread because of the strength of the spices used. That said, it is an AMAZING recipe that's too delicious.

It yielded EXACTLY 12 regular sized muffins for me, though they were kind of small.
I give the original recipe 5 stars, it really is delicious as is. The cream cheese alteration, though, I do approve of because I like it smelling sweet.
I will try stacybanana's recommendation next time to make a banana version :D

UPDATE: just made stacybanana's version and it was awesome. I'd give it a 4.5 stars. I ate them warm and all the spices went great together, but I don't think cream cheese went well with it like the pumpkin version. Other than that, very moist and perfectly spiced with her given recommendations.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WuhanNoodle November 10, 2012

would like the 29 0z pumpkin version of pumpkin cream cheese muffins (like Starbucks)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
banders5 October 09, 2012

Made these for Christmas Brunch 2011! Just look at them! They have eat me all over the top of the muffin! These are just outstanding! Thank you for the copycat recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mit That's Tim December 31, 2011

I made half a recipe and got 15 muffins. I used frozen roasted puree that I had thawed. Very good but will add a little sugar to the cream cheese next time. Great for breakfast or snacks or dessert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound November 08, 2011

Made from fresh pumpkin -- absolutely world rocking! Filling up the freezer!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elielia November 04, 2011

PERFECT. Followed the recipe and they came out just beautiful and very tasty. I wouldn't change anything, love them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crimsontoll October 28, 2011

I have to say I was pretty disappointed with this recipe. These Muffins were bland and the bottoms burned before the centers were fully cooked.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EvaCos October 09, 2011

These are the best muffins EVER! I am a muffin fanatic, and these take the cake! I also substiture the oil with applesauce and they are just perfect! My only problem is that now they are requested so much I am tired of making them! Literally, best muffins ever.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LAMB5472 December 03, 2010

I made these muffins for a special dinner we had at my church. Every one of them was eaten, and I got SOOOO many compliments on them! I even made mini ones, with a smaller piece of cream cheese (obviously) and just cooked them for a shorter time...I didn't keep track of time, I just checked them with the cake tester until they were done. Anyway, I will definitely be making these again, only next time I will use more cream cheese so you get a little in every bite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamie Suzanne October 11, 2010
Pumpkin Cream Cheese Muffins (Like Starbucks)