Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pumpkin Cream Cheese Muffins (Like Starbucks) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pumpkin Cream Cheese Muffins (Like Starbucks)

    Average Rating:

    75 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 75

    Sort by:

    • on November 18, 2010

      I've made this recipe three times, and everyone goes crazy for them. However, after sampling Starbucks version again, I felt that this recipe seemed pale, and lacked the richness and spicy, peppery bite which made this muffin so appealing to me in the first place.

      So, the last time I made them I added an additional teaspoon of cinnamon and nutmeg, a teaspoon of ginger, an additional 1/2 teaspoon of cloves, 1/8 teaspoon of cardamom, 2 tablespoons of chocolate powder, and 1/4 cup of dark molasses, as well as the sugar and vanilla addition to the cream cheese.

      WOW! The additions made the muffins extremely rich and spicy, and closer to the original than I had imagined.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2011

      Glad I read some of the other reviews first.. these muffins were DELICIOUS, but I did have to make a few changes. I mostly followed the other review that said to add cocoa powder, molasses, and more spices. But since I could only find pumpkin pie filling, and not just plain pumpkin.. I only added half the amount of spices (1/2 tsp. instead of tsp. for all the spices that were already in the pumpkin pie filling), but also added the tsp. of ginger, 1/2 tsp. of allspice, 2 Tbs. molasses, and 2 Tbs. cocoa powder. For the cream cheese filling, I added 2 Tbs. of powdered sugar, 1 Tbs. of light brown sugar, and 1/4 tsp. of vanilla. The filling was PERFECT and tasted EXACTLY like a delicious danish/cheese cake. After all of the above changes, this recipe yielded about FORTY muffins (regular size muffin pan, not oversized). I would recommend doubling the cream cheese mixture though (or just halfing the batter mixture), because I ran out about half way through, and started using other toppings/fillings for the remaining muffins (chocolate chips, brown sugar topping, etc).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      GLUTEN FREE option:
      I used this recipe, but altered to be gluten free by doing the following:
      2 1/2 cups Bob's gf all purpose flour mix
      1/2 cup almond flour
      2 1/4 tsp. xanthan gum
      Then, I lightened the fat by subbing 3/4 cup lowfat buttermilk, 1/2 cup oil for the 1 1/4 cup oil. Added 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder.
      I also followed another cook's suggestion for mixing the cream cheese with 1 egg, 3 T. brown sugar & 1 tsp. vanilla.
      I baked 20" in a convection oven. They were FABULOUS!!!!!! (if you're gf, you know how exciting it is when baked goods turn out well!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2010

      This is an excellent recipe! I did a few things to cut calories and they still turned out amazing. With my substitutions, each muffin turned out to be 158 calories, 3g of fat and 26 carbs.

      Substitute the oil with unsweetened applesauce.
      Use 1/4 of pecans as topping.
      Use low fat cream cheese instead of regular.
      Use Splenda instead of sugar.

      They still turn out to be very moist and delicious! HUGE hit at Thanksgiving!

      ps. I also tried this recipe with banana - replace the 2 cups of pumpkin with 2 cups of mashed banana, and replace the 4 tsp of pumpkin spice with 3 tsp of allspice and 1 extra tsp of nutmeg. DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      We love these. I changed how I do the cream cheese and make it differently. I added 2 Tbsp of Butter, 1 tsp of vanilla extract and 3/4 c. powdered sugar. I beat this together but not too much, or it becomes grainy. I put 1/2 the muffin mix in the muffin cup. Then I add a dollop of the cream cheese mix in the center; I use wet fingers to push the cream cheese mix flatter. Finally, I cover with the other 1/2 of the muffin mx. Works like a charm! Also, I cut both the cloves and nutmeg to 1/2 tsp - just personal preference. If I leave the cream cheese without making it a little sweeter then my kids won't eat them. You can also use a pasty bag or ziploc bag to pip the cream cheese mix into the muffins too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      I made these up for a recent camping trip and they went over well. Everyone liked the flavor and I was impressed with the density and depth of flavor even though I was lacking in the cloves. I ended up making 24 muffins with this one batch and still had enough batter left over that could have easily made at LEAST 6 more. The only thing I will do different next time is sweeten up the cream cheese dollops. I used the low fat version and I just didnt like biting into that plain flavor of cream cheese in such an otherwise flavorful muffin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2010

      The muffins were AMAZING! And such an easy recipe too- coming from a non-baker like myself. I halved the recipe, which comes out to 12 muffins, sifted all of the dry ingredients, added an extra tsp of pumpkin pie spice (so in total 3 tsp), subbed 2/3rds of the oil with unsweetened applesauce, baked for 23 minutes and they were SO GOOD fresh out of the oven. I did not use cardamom and don't believe the recipe needs it. They're incredibly moist but dense and have the perfect amount of sweetness. I doubted subbing applesauce for the oil (I rarely bake so this was new to me) but because I wanted a "healthier" muffin (har har), I gave it a try. Smart move! The applesauce didn't sacrifice the texture nor flavor- plus I didn't feel so bad about eating so many of them since they're not as oily. I forgot to buy cream cheese and only had a little left in the fridge so I frosted the muffins with just a little bit of cream cheese frosting afterwards (per the recipe in the other reviews- powdered sugar, vanilla extract, butter). The bf and I couldn't stop eating them- I was originally going to bring some over to my friend but decided to keep them all for ourselves. Shhh... don't tell!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      Wonderful recipe ... this was my first recipe I found on recipezaar, and I have been hooked ever since. The muffins taste better when completed cooled off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2011

      Amazing. Unbelievably good and it makes a bunch. I followed the modifications that added 1 tsp vanila extract, 3/4 C. Icing sugar to the Cream cheese. You could do without it, to be honest, but it's just amazing by itself and worth it if you really want something special. I also substitute half the oil for applesauce. Very moist. Everybody who tried it wanted the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      I took another bakers advice and added 2 tbsp butter, 1 tsp vanila extract, 3/4 C. Icing sugar to the Cream cheese. I also subbed 2 Cups of whole wheat flour leaving 1 white, used 2 egg whites and 2 eggs instead of 4, and for 3/4 of the Vegetable Oil, I subbed homemade applesauce.
      These were amazing!!! I tend to think Starbucks muffins are a little too 'cakey,' and these do still have a lot of sugar. But they were super moist and turned out absolutely perfectly with the directions on the recipe. I'll definitely make them again for my husband and I!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2013

      This is a good base recipe for very moist and tasty muffins. However, you absolutely cannot just place hunks of unaltered cream cheese in the middle- it is far too bitter in the middle of a sweet muffin. When I tried to alter it by beating with butter, vanilla, and sugar- the consistency was too soft (even after freezing for quite some time) and consequently the filling exploded all over the muffins during the baking process. The taste was great, presentation not so much. I am still tinkering with a way to have a sweeter cream cheese center (that is visible) and still keep the look of the muffin (similar to Starbucks' old muffins) in tact.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2013

      Everyone loves these muffins. i made extremely slight changes, I used caned pumpkin which made them nice and spiciey. For the topping I used raw pecans and pumpkin seeds, I mixed them with a teaspoon of molasses 1 teaspoon of brown sugar a pinch of each of the spices perfecto!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2013

      Simple and Delish! Moist, creamy, great aroma, a fall/holiday go to baking treat. I add a drip of vanilla ontop of each pat of cream cheese once in the muffins for color and flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2013

      I used the applesauce and mixed some brown sugar in with the white. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2013

      Awesome! Tastes better than the Starbucks muffins actually. I stuck to the recipe, except I cut the sugar by 1/2 cup (trying to cut sugar for health reasons). It was still sweet enough, and was nice because it didn't overpower the rich spices and pumpkin flavour of the muffin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2013

      This was tasty, but I also found that it made far too much batter. Next time, I will double the cream cheese filling, and plan on making closer to 36 muffins. I used the extra batter by covering the cream cheese with an extra Tbsp of batter for a dozen muffins. I poured the remaining batter into a loaf pan, and made a small pumpkin bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2013

      Oh My Goodness!! These are amazing! I took the advice of some other reviewers and doubled the cinnamon. I halved the cloves as I'm not a huge fan of it. I also jazzed up the cream cheese with vanilla, powdered sugar and brown sugar. So glad I did that, it made the cream cheese sweet and helped to balance the spices from the muffin nicely. I also topped them with some leftover streusel that I had leftover from another muffin and added the chopped pecans. It's everything I can do to not sit down with them all and help them disappear. My new favorite muffin recipe for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2013

      Very delicious! I can't remember what the Starbucks version tastes like now (gluten free for a while so no more tasty pastries with my coffee), but these were very good. I was a little unsure how they would turn out because the batter was very bitter, but they were not bitter at all after they were baked. I suspect it may have been from the gluten free flour I used. <br/><br/>I used sucanat instead of white sugar, and light olive oil. Just kind of winged it with the spices since I didn't have pumpkin pie spice, but they were nicely spicy and pumpkiny. I also did as other reviewers and added powdered sugar and vanilla to the cream cheese. I will say that rolling the cream cheese into a log and freezing it would have worked better if I had put it in the freezer LONG before started mixing the batter. It was very messy and hard to work with because it wasn't really solid, but I didn't want to wait any longer. I topped the muffins with chopped pecans and a sprinkle of brown sugar, but demarrera (sp?) would have been better. <br/><br/>I will definitely make these again, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2012

      I just made a half batch of the recipe, 2 tbsp cocoa powder (due to the comments I read), and mixing 1 tbsp powdered sugar, 1/2 tbsp light brown sugar, 1/4 tsp vanilla extract to the cream cheese. I won't add cocoa next time, and I definitely won't increase any of the spices in these muffins. They are "spicy" enough as is, I could hardly taste the pumpkin. IMO, it tasted like ginger bread because of the strength of the spices used. That said, it is an AMAZING recipe that's too delicious.

      It yielded EXACTLY 12 regular sized muffins for me, though they were kind of small.
      I give the original recipe 5 stars, it really is delicious as is. The cream cheese alteration, though, I do approve of because I like it smelling sweet.
      I will try stacybanana's recommendation next time to make a banana version :D

      UPDATE: just made stacybanana's version and it was awesome. I'd give it a 4.5 stars. I ate them warm and all the spices went great together, but I don't think cream cheese went well with it like the pumpkin version. Other than that, very moist and perfectly spiced with her given recommendations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2012

      would like the 29 0z pumpkin version of pumpkin cream cheese muffins (like Starbucks)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pumpkin Cream Cheese Muffins (Like Starbucks)

    Serving Size: 1 (74 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 273.5
     
    Calories from Fat 142
    52%
    Total Fat 15.8 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 49.1 mg
    16%
    Sodium 195.4 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 17.2 g
    68%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites