Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Easy Fall Entertaining >

    27 One-Pot Meals

    27 One-Pot Meals

    Easy & Comforting Dinners
    28 Fall Pumpkin Recipes

    28 Fall Pumpkin Recipes

    (Pumpkin) Spice Up Your Life
    Seasonal Squash

    Seasonal Squash

    Get Your Cool-Weather Veggie Fix
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pumpkin Cranberry Breakfast Cookie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pumpkin Cranberry Breakfast Cookie

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on July 19, 2010

      I'm pleasantly surprised at how easy and tasty these are.

      Pros:
      ~easy and fast to make
      ~Would make a decent cookie-in-a-jar gift
      ~On hand ingredients
      ~Healthy
      ~Easy to adapt to new/other ingredients
      ~Gets kids to eat pumpkin!

      Cons:
      ~I had to bake for a couple extra minutes
      ~dough was very dry, I added an extra 1/4 cup pumpkin

      What I changed:
      I know, I know, you're supposed to make recipe as written the first time, but why make my own mistakes when I can learn from previously written reviews? :-)
      ~I replaced 2 T flax seed for 2 T flour, for extra fiber
      ~Instead of pumpkin pie spice I did 1 part cloves, 2 parts ginger, and 4 parts cinnamon to equal about a heaping teaspoon. Next time, however, I plan to do 1/4 teaspoon cloves, 1/2 teaspoon ginger, and 1 teaspoon cinnamon to make it extra spicy.
      ~I used 1 cup pumpkin puree instead of the 6 tablespoons applesause and 6 tablespoons pumpkin. Applesause is more wet, which is why I need to add extra moisture.
      ~I used one whole egg instead of two egg whites.

      Weight Watchers:
      The whole recipe contained 2354.5 calories, 20.5 grams of fat, and 56.5 grams of fiber with my additions and substitutions.
      Per cookie (recipe made 24): 98 calories, .85 grams of fat, and 2.4 grams of fiber, which equals 2 WW POINTS for 1 cookies, 3.5 WW POINTS for 2, and 5.5 WW POINTS for 3.

      Thank you for this recipe! Very yummy. I've eaten three and they haven't even been out of the oven for 30 minutes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      These were good the day they were made, but excellent the next day! They are moist and have wonderful flavor. I followed the ingredient list exactly, except for adding extra pumpkin pie spice. I'm pretty sure I made them larger than golf balls and still ended up with 12 cookies. Because they were so large, I did add a couple of minutes to the baking time, even for moist cookies (if I remember correctly, I baked them at 325F convection about 10 minutes). I baked them on parchment paper, flattening them some with my hands, and just skipped the part about spraying them and flipping them over. They came off the parchment fine, and I placed them on a rack to cool. I love pumpkin, dried cranberries and oats, so these were right down my alley. We all loved them--thanks for posting the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2013

      I started making these cookies/bars as the recipe was written... Then realized my rolled oats were literally for the birds (live in Cancun and we've had 3 months of nonstop rain) So I had already mixed all wet ing. with soda, baking powder and salt and decided to continue with steel 1 cup cut oats 1/4 cup flax seed and the 2 cups whole wheat flour. I also used 1 cup of pumpkin omitting apple sauce but adding 1/4C molasses and 1/2 cup of sugar. They do mak large cookie bars so the second batch I halved the size.<br/>These are great for my daughter that trains at 5am for swim team 4 days a week. or any time of day for athletes that train 5 plus hours a day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2013

      I made this twice so far. Loving it, I used all pumpkin this last time as I was making puree at the time. I made them smaller, using a 2 tbsp portion scoop. I am thinking I am going to make these at work too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2013

      These are great! I get so tired of cereal and yogurt that I don't eat breakfast half the time even though I am starving. I doubled this recipe because it sounded good and I figured I could always feed them to the birds if they weren't. I just made a few small changes (who doesn't?) Instead of regular brown sugar I used Splenda brown sugar blend, which only requires 1/2 the amt of brown sugar, so I only needed a cup. I put in more than double the amount of craisins because I had an extra handful or two left in the bag. I also added a couple of handfuls of sliced almonds. I used a 15 oz can of pumpkin and it was too dry because of all my additions so I added 1 of the individual unsweetened applesauce cups. These are delicious! I'm going to pack them up 2 per bag and throw them in the freezer for an easy breakfast on the go. I baked them on silpat sheets so I didn't have to worry about greasing the pan or oiling the cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2012

      Excellent recipe! I put just pumpkin in mine (without the applesauce) as well, added flax seed, and ended up adding 1/4 cup of milk to get the dough to stick together as my homemade pumpkin puree was very thick. Very easy and yummy! You've gotta love a "No Guilt", portable breakfast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2012

      My husband and I thought these were a great snack and breakfast option. I will definitely make them again. I think next time I will use half white flour and all pumpkin (without the applesauce).
      My kids were expecting a real cookie flavor and were disappointed, but when I put then in their lunches they disappeared. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2011

      We made these today and they are so delicious. I tweaked the recipe a bit. I was out of pumpkin puree, so used applesauce. Added cinnamon, cloves and allspice. Also added about 1/4 cup chopped walnuts. My small ice cream scoop worked great for putting on cookie sheet. We baked them for 12 minutes and they were so nice and moist. I make muffins a lot, but intend to try using this recipe and substituting to make the same flavors I do in muffins. Hubby likes cookies much better than muffins. My favorite thing of all...I just put all ingrediends in my mixer and did it on the lowest setting till all was mixed

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      I thought this was a nice healthy cookie, but it lacked a good pumpkin taste. They were a little dry too. I think next time I'll add extra pumpkin and omit the applesauce. I also added a couple tablespoons of pecan chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      I made these twice in a week. My DMIL loves pumpkin.I'm doing low car so I switched Splend T of molasses for the brown sugar. I soaked the dried cranberries in hot water. The freeze well. I enjoy 1 every morning for breakfast and DMIL eats 2 or 3 a day. She has no idea they are healthy. They are moist and delicious. I use only "pastry" whole wheat flour, so much better then the whole wheat flour in the grocery stores.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      Very good. They took a little longer to cook, but I know that is just a varation between different ovens. I also squashed them a little with my fingers to flatten a little before baking. I added about 2 Tbs finely chopped pecans. I also did use the applesauce, but will try the only pumpkin suggestion next time. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      This cookie is a HUGE hit whenever I bring it in for breakfast pitch-ins at work, or when I make the sugar-altered version [listed below] for my parents. Our dogs even LOVE these cookies. No, we don’t actually give them to the dogs, but our usually mild mannered dogs are known to stand on chairs to attempt [and sometimes succeed] stealing these cookies. Please see my recipe suggestions listed below. I will also occasionally add in chopped walnuts/pecans or white chocolate chips. The white chocolate chips in these cookies are HEAVEN. Suggested modifications: (1) As many others have said—use another 6 T of pumpkin puree instead of the applesauce. Yum. I also measure my pumpkin pie spice over the bowl—in case a little extra spice falls in the bowl ;-) (2) To measure out the cookies I find it helpful to use a medium sized “trigger� ice cream scoop that is sprayed with aerosol cooking spray. (3) Lightly spray your cookie sheet, and then lightly spray your “mashing� fork. When I lightly sprayed the tops of the cookies with spray—the fork still stuck & I just ended up with greasy top cookies. They look better if not sprayed. You will need to mash though! (4) For lower sugar cookies—I use the Splenda Brown Sugar baking blend. It cuts your added sugar almost in half—and tastes the exact same!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      FABULOUS!! Just the thing for breakfast or an afternoon snack. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      These turned out great! I used half splenda and half brown sugar, substituted 2 T of canola oil for 2 T of the applesauce (to improve texture), added a 1/4 cup of chopped walnuts and scooped by tablespoonfuls. Made 32 cookies - 65 calories each by my calculation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      Yummy cookies For Breakfast Only! Like so many reviewers, I added only the pumpkin. They aren't too sweet, which is nice with coffee. I did, though, double the recipe and then added chocolate chips to one-half, thinking my teenage boys would eat them with the added chocolate. I was right! The chocolate adds a much needed punch. Thanks for the start!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      These had a great flavor, especially because i eliminated the applesauce and just put in pumpkin! the cranberries really complimented the pumpkin. It just these were quite cakey... I would proably tweak the recipe next time to hopefully get more desired results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      We loved these! Even dh, who is normally anti-health food, said they were good! I used the Splenda brown sugar, and I couldn't even tell a difference in taste. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      Wow.... I really liked these cookies... they had a healthy taste to them.... and since there is no fat... they make a great breakfast on-the-go kind of meal. i followed the recipe exactly. Be sure to flatten because they really don't spread out or change the shape... so just make sure you don't make golf balls... hahaha! great cookie... thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      This was a very good cookie to put on my office tray this year as we have some dieters and this is very low fat. The only problem I had was that I followed the recipe exactly, only making one substitution of raisins for the cranberries, and I got way more than 10 cookies. It was more like 3 dozen. I was just testing the recipe to make sure I was going to like it before making a second batch to go on the cookie tray, good thing I loved it since it made so much more than I bargained for. BTW, I brought my tray in to work this morning and that was the 1st cookie to disappear from the tray! Good Job Shannon Payne! Edit: Made this again today and ended up using some carrot and orange pulp that I had saved from using my power juicer, instead of the applesauce and pumpkin puree. I had to add some extra water to get it to mix but it was delicious this way too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      This was wonderful! I had extra ingredients after baking pumpkin cranberry bread and decided to make these. I used lots of fresh cranberries....YUM!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pumpkin Cranberry Breakfast Cookie

    Serving Size: 1 (23 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 36

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 60.8
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    47%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 95.6 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.5 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites