55 Reviews

What a way to welcome Fall! Better than Entenmann's (& we grew uo with Entenmann's!) Got up early today & made for DH & our houseguest - Wonderful texture! Creamed the butter & sugar for a couple of minutes & then added the eggs one at a time beating well. Sifted the dry ingredients & added 1/3 at a time, alternating with the sour cream - used 1 1/2 cups sour cream. Reduced sugar in pumpkin mix & topping (used 1/2 cup in pumpkin & 1/2 cup in topping) - this is simply outstanding. Perfect cakey texture with the smooth pumpkin & crunchy top contrast - 4 people ate over 1/2 in one brunch (lottsa calories to work off today!). Thank you Carol for a real keeper - easy enough to make in the am (I am not a good am person) & turns out fancy enough for guests!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buster's friend October 10, 2009

This recipe is almost like one of my favorite recipes I've been using for years from the "Best of the Best from Virginia" cookbook. The differences are: in the pumpkin layer: use 16 oz (2 c) of pumpkin, only 1/3 c sugar, only 1 egg, and no liquid added. The streusel layer calls for brown sugar instead of white. Also, 1/2 of the streusel is sprinkled over the first layer of batter (before the pumpkin layer is added. For easy speading of the 2nd layer, I place the batter in evenly spaced dollops, then spread with back of spoon. Worked well for me. Funny thing is: years ago someone brought a pumpkin coffee cake to work that I loved...only it was made with a yeast dough. No one knew who brought it in. I probably spent a year searching for a recipe similar to it and came across the one in the Best of..VA cookbook (which I truly love, but it's not the one I tasted from work). Today I began searching again for the yeast-dough-based pumpkin coffee cake.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suannesb January 03, 2009

This is outstanding. I took it to work to share and everyone loved it. I used brown sugar in the topping.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dclark120_12564619 October 31, 2010

I made this for a church brunch and it was well received. I used the full amounts of sugar in this recipe and did not think it was too sweet at all. I did however, replace the white sugar in the topping with brown sugar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeeperAtHome November 08, 2009

I wish mine had turned out like one of the pictures. I was just able to stretch the batter out to fit a 9x13 pan, perhaps a 9x9 would have given me more success? Great while warm from the oven but got soggy the next day.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SoupCookie April 26, 2009

This was a bit weird to me, it seemed a little soggy and the topping sunk into the rest of the cake. The flavor was good, but not the best coffee cake I've ever had.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lt. Amy November 22, 2008

This coffee cake was outstanding, but I agree with one of the reviewers that you can't just mix together the first 8 ingredients. Cream the butter and sugar. Add eggs one at a time. Add vanilla. Sift dry ingredients and add alternately with sour cram. Then proceed with Step #3. Also, beacuse there is a lot of topping, I spread half on top of the first layer of batter, and spread the remaining topping on top of the final batter layer. Excellent. Excellent. Excellent. Thank you, Carol.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SJMG November 25, 2007

Yum! The most pleasant part of this recipe is that it is the best of both worlds. Tasty, tender coffee cake and spicy, creamy pumpkin pie. My main difference was in the mixing: I did not just mix the first eight ingredients together - I creamed the butter and sugar, added the eggs one at a time, added the vanilla, and added the sifted dry ingredients alternately with the sour cream. This resulted in a very airy and tender cake that was to die for on its own, not to mention with this very scrumptious pumpkin running through the middle. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'm_Genia February 05, 2007

This was really good. I substituted canola oil for the butter and cut it back to 1/3 of a cup and it still turned out nice. I thought the pumpkin could have been firmer so next time I will cut back on the milk. It might have just been the brand I used.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Serenus August 16, 2012

Yum! DH loved it. I didn't add the evap milk after realizing I was out and reading Chef 412162's review (I also added less sugar like she suggested). It wasn't like pumpkin pie, but it was still excellent. Will definitely add the evap milk & the full amt of sugar next time. Thanks for this wonderful special recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz November 17, 2011
Pumpkin Coffee Cake