20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The first time I made these I followed the receipt except for the raisins. They came out very good but I was disappointed about them not having a pumpkin taste. So, the next time instead of just canned pumpkin I used the canned pumpkin pie mix. The difference was amazing and they had a nice pumpkin pie type flavor too. I used homemade cream cheese frosting instead of the Carmel. Everyone in my family loves them.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TsunamiGirl November 06, 2008

Made an almost identical recipe from http://www.recipegirl.com/2009/01/02/amish-pumpkin-cinnamon-rolls-with-caramel-icing/ yesterday and loved them. I added 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice to flour mixture and 1/2 cup chopped pecans to filling. I think the pecans and icing really make these rolls.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Huntergirl* October 24, 2009

It's a tradition of my husband's family to have pilsbury cinnamon rolls out of the can the day after Thanksgiving and Dec. 26. We made these on our own Thanksgiving night and they were ready to eat the next morning. They were excellent and moist. The frosting was too sweet, so for Christmas we'll make less. We're also going to try mixing in some pumpkin with the brown sugar mixture for the centers to hopefully give them a little more pumpkin flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katieabrams December 21, 2008

I made some homemade pumpkin puree and decided this would be one of the first recipes I'd use it in. It was delicious, soft but no pumpkin-y in taste. Beautiful colour from the pumpkin and the caramel frosting was great. I did use dark raisins instead of golden ones though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxanne J.R. January 07, 2010

This was fantastic. I added some crystallized ginger, cranberries, walnuts, brown sugar and cinnamon for filling. the ginger was fantastic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zookeenee November 15, 2009

I saw this same recipe at http://www.recipelink.com/mf/31/13896 It was posted in 1998. I think when people copy a recipe from another site they should at least say where they got it. That way people can see what you changed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RM94566 September 24, 2009

I used sweet potato instead of pumpkin, and the dough was wonderful to work with. I skipped the raisins, and heaped on the cinnamon and brown sugar, and added nutmeg, ginger and cloves, but I wish I would have used even more spice. The glaze was good; I should have made a full batch instead of half (because of reading reviews about having too much). Still, these weren't too overly sweet; definitely a little bit healthier (and more interesting) than your average cinnamon roll!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annlouise February 14, 2009

Really delicious. I used the extra cinnamon, nutmeg and brown sugar, but NO raisins! I actually didn't try them when they were done, but just took a bite now and I couldn't stop eating them! Thanks so much, we will definitely be making these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrookenBee November 26, 2008

The second time I made this I actually kneaded the filling into the dough and formed it into a loaf (too lazy to roll out the dough :P) I guess it was pumpkin cinnamon bread then... still tasted great all the same! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Salazar October 24, 2008

These were easy to make. This recipe make 12 of the smallest cinnamon rolls I've ever seen so I'm really glad I wasn't planning this for a crowd. Of course, reading the recipe closer probably should have given me a clue. I adore the caramel frosting - added a star just for that - but even though I only used about half it seemed to overwhelm the rolls for me. The family was excited and loved them so I will probably make them again but use much less frosting on them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keolani October 05, 2008
Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls