133 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were excellent. I used fresh pumpkin. I made muffins and small loaves and then drizzled them with some leftover cream cheese frosting I had.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreenEyesCO February 08, 2009

This was absolutely amazing, one of the best recipes i've ever tasted/made.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
becflower December 28, 2008

Not posting stars at this time - but will update later when I do it right! In the past I have taken left-over candied yams (with apples, cranberries, nuts) and made pumpkin muffins and they were delicious. This time, I was a little short of my candied yam concoction, so added a bit of cooked carrots too. Even with the cinnamon and brown sugar in the candied yams, I think I would add more cinnamon to these when I do them next. I bet they'd be great as written, but wanted to use what I had in the fridge up. Love the chocolate chips in them. Also used a bit of whole wheat flour - not much. Will update when I do them as written.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charlie #5 December 06, 2008

Moist and tasty. Made half with choc chips and half with a crumb topping. Both good, I preferred the crumb topping a little more. Also added a bit more vanilla and cinnamon, and dashes of ginger and nutmeg.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbud November 30, 2008

I have made this recipe several times and it is THE BOMB. I first made it for my daughter's tenth birthday at school (we have to bring in "healthier" choices now, with no frosting). I drizzled a tiny swirl of confectioner's sugar icing (10x sugar + milk) to psyche the kids into thinking it was frosting. Oh My Gosh! So so so good. Even without the icing drizzle they are delish, and even better frozen. We like the mini-chips best, and I usually double the recipe (one 29 oz can of pumpkin) and halve the chips (a 12 oz bag is more than enough for a doubled recipe). Enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jacquie Darcey November 22, 2008

While teaching a homeschool co-op cooking class, I had my students make these muffins. They loved them, everyone of them, which was surprising to me. I just knew at least one would say "I don't like pumpkin", but they all tried it and most had seconds. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teratriv November 21, 2008

Very yummy! I had never tried the pumpkin-chocolate combination before, but it worked very well! I only made a half batch, which yielded a dozen nice-sized muffins. I used whole wheat pastry flour in lieu of all the white flour, added about 1/4 cup of ground flax seed (in place of 1/4 cup of the oil), substituted sucanat (dehydrated cane juice) for the regular sugar, doubled the vanilla, used pumpkin pie spice and cinnamon, and baked the muffins at 350 degrees (At 400 the oil in my flax seeds would have broken down, which I, of course, didn't want). They took about 7 more minutes to cook, but they tasted so yummy and not too sweet!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
doggy momma November 19, 2008

Yummo a huge hit! I used half wheat flour and used 1/4 c oil the rest applesauce plus added a bit of wheat germ....healthed it up a bit for the kiddos! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FromKatesKitchen November 10, 2008

These were a huge hit with my family. We really enjoyed them, and so did the neighbors. I am going to make some and mail them off, so we will see how they do after a couple of days. Thanks for a great Fall recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ttreber October 22, 2008
Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins