16 Reviews

This turned out fantastic! Nice and moist (with a slightly crusty outer - which I was hoping for). I halved the oil and replaced it with lowfat buttermilk in hopes of making it "healthier". Could not have been tastier and feel better about the fat content now. Maybe I should not have had a 2nd slice, though....probably cancelled out my lowfat idea! ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wedrinktea'ere October 05, 2012

Great recipe! This turned out a very moist cake. Everyone loved it! The only advice I would add is that it took almost an hour and a half to bake....could be just my oven, but thought I'd mention it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lynettezta November 08, 2009

I like this. It's a little heavy, I suppose from the pumpkin. It has some pumpkin taste but it's not as pronounced as it is in pie.

I increased the cinnamon to 2 teaspoons, but I have a high tolerance for cinnamon ;) Also added 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract. Like one of the other reviewers I cut the oil in half and made up the difference with buttermilk. I also subbed one cup of the AP flour with whole wheat pastry flour. I used one whole egg and 2 egg whites and used flax seed meal mixed with water to make up for the missing egg yolks. I cut the sugar by one cup (used a cup and a half) and it suits my taste very well (if I make this for other people I will use the recommended amount). Finally, I used only 1/2 cup of chocolate chips and added 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts. I'm thinking that pecans will go into it next time. One hour of baking and it was done perfectly.

This cake took my substitutions very well. I will make it again. The only thing that keeps me from giving it 5 stars is that it is somewhat heavy, which is probably due to the pumpkin. But I can't fault that too much because this cake is a very good pumpkin delivery system that doesn't involve turning it into a pie (pumpkin is a great food).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Riverside Len January 20, 2013

I was looking for a Thanksgiving holiday dessert to wow and this wasn't it. Presentation is a 5, tastes is a 2. Too sweet even though I cut the sugar and only used 2 cups but flavorless. Too heavy and rustic for a wow dessert. I topped with a Maple-creme cheese icing and that helped give it flavor. Maybe with some tweeking this would be good and I will try again, but by the time I am adjusting, I could not call it the same recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dbraydee November 18, 2012

I made this with brown rice flour in order to make it gluten free. It turned out great! I also "powdered" the pan with cocoa instead of flour. Topped it with cinnamon cream cheese frosting. Delish :) Making it again for Thanksgiving and topping it with ganache this time. Very moist, great pumpkin flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
greyhound119 November 23, 2011

This cake is excellent! I made it using whole wheat flour, and you'd never know it. It's tender and moist, and the chocolate chips make it so much better than plain pumpkin (which I've always loved). I intend to make this for my family when they come for the Thanksgiving holiday. I'm sure they'll be impressed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
missmanda September 08, 2010

This cake was good! I didn't have canned pumpkin so I used my own pumpkin puree which probably had a bit more moisture in it. It was moist and flavorful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen__Princess March 10, 2010

Fantastic cake! I made one for a church bake sale and then came home and made one for us. I very generously greased and flour-dusted my pan and the cake released without a hitch. The recipe didn't specify, so I left it in the pan for 10 minutes on a rack and then turned it out to finish cooling. I was happy that Mecoombs had mentioned using regular chips with good success, because that's all I had. Like KateL, I used the Nordic Ware 30th anniversary pan. The only two changes I made was to use 2 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda. If you are curious about this, please read my page for an explanation. The second change was that I whisked the pumpkin in with the wet ingredients and then combined as in making quick bread. Kittencal, thanks for a wonderful recipe! I will be making bunches of these for holiday gifts!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose November 17, 2009

This is a great cake! I made it today for a church gathering. Everyone loved it including me! I didn't have mini chocolate chips, so used regular ones.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mecoombs January 04, 2009

5 Stars, I can't imagine this could be improved upon, it was moist and had a fine texture. I was ready to frost it with 2Bleu's Chocolate Hazelnut Spread (Mock Nutella from Gale Gand) #328709, but no frosting is needed due to the ample amount of chocolate chips. Used your Pan Release, Professional Pan Coating (Better Than Pam Spray!) #78579 and the Nordicware 30th Anniversary Bundt Pan, and voila, a perfect cake! Love this cake! Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL November 30, 2008
Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bundt Cake