Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pumpkin Cake Bars With Cream Cheese Frosting! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pumpkin Cake Bars With Cream Cheese Frosting!

    Average Rating:

    122 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 122

    Sort by:

    • on October 17, 2011

      Moist and sooo amazing! I added 1/2 tsp of nutmeg and 1/2 tsp of clove to spice it up a bit. It was definitely a hit with my family. Plus it was super easy to make. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2011

      Alright! Fabulous! I gotta say though, I changed a lot in this recipe to make it healthier and you can't even tell!!! Amazing, here is what I did:
      Only 1 1/2 cups sugar
      I used 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and 1/4 quinoa flour instead of 3/4 cup of white flour
      only 1/2 tsp salt
      I used 1/2 cup applesauce instead of 1/2 the oil and for the remainder of the oil, I used 1/4 cup olive oil, 1/4 cup vegetable oil

      I also used 2 cups of fresh pumpkin

      For frosting, I used 2 1/2 cups powder sugar, 1 stick butter (8 tbsp) and 4 oz cream cheese

      Also put a couple dashes nutmeg in batter and sprinkled a little cinnamon and nutmeg on top of the frosting!

      Even with all my revisions, it's still PLENTY sweet, but without making you sick! Absolutely wonderful! Next time I may eliminate the oil altogether and only use applesauce (healthier)

      Thanks for a fabulous recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      Simply awesome! My family ADORED this cake and it was gone in a flash. It was super moist and flavorful with just the right amount of spice and sweetness. The frosting was also excellent, I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese and it was still incredibly tasty. I wouldn't call these "bars" per se, they rise pretty high, so its more of a pumpkin cake to me, but no matter what you call it, its delicious and a new family favorite! Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2012

      My daughter and I have both made this recipe now and it turned out great both times. We substituted unsweetened applesauce for 1/2 the oil and the texture was still perfect. Definitely a good fall dessert. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2011

      I added 1/2 t. ginger, 1/4 t. cloves and used roasted frozen pumpkin. Very good bars. I baked in the jelly roll pan so they weren't as thick. Turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2010

      This is a very good pumpkin cake. It was very easy to make and uses simple ingredients I always have on hand. I had to bake for 35 minutes for the center to be completely done. The frosting was an added bonus! I think next time I might try to make this in my large sheet pan so it will be a sheet cake (thinner cake) instead. Update: I have made this a lot using my sheet pan and it works out wonderful! I have had many requests for this cake and my twins asked I make this for their birthday cake! They just turned 4. This is definitely one of our favorite cakes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      very good recipe!! only thing I found is it is more like a cake then bars..next time I think I would use a bigger pan to make it more like bars. I did have to cook it longer then it said because the middle was not done. I will make it again though:) it was a hit with all the kids.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2010

      Made these for Thanksgiving UMM!!! Very delicious and fulfilling!! Everyone loved them, and now will make them for Thanksgiving every year from now on. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      Fab-u-lous. Just made it to start the holiday season off and oh my. This is going to be seen a few more times before Christmas is over. I added some nutmeg and cloves to the cake it self and the tinniest amount of ground ginger to the icing. Next time I am going to try cutting down on the oil and subbing in apple sauce. This is so good, even my husband who only eats sweets with chocolate admitted this was pretty darn tasty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      This is one of those recipes that you can already tell before you bake it how mind-blowing it is... and i didnt even expect it! All I added was the 1 t. of Pumpkin Pie all-spice which summed up my ginger, nutmeg, etc. combo I was looking for... other than that.. the flavor is amazing... I will probably make the cream cheese frosting the way another person sugg. with the confect. sugar, vanilla, butter, and cream cheese... on a side note: my husband left an empty box of little debbie brownies that I purposely for myself (pregnancy cravings ;) ... and now, these are all for me. He can watch me enjoy them- hope he enjoyed the brownies! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      Very moist and delicious! The whole family liked it. I did have to leave it in the oven for an additional 10 minutes, because the center of the cake was not done yet. Your recipe for the frosting was very good too, although it does make alot. I actually used one half of the frosting for the cake, and the remaining half for a batch of pumpkin cookies that I made. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      OOOOHHHHHH KC_Cooker I am loving you! I took this to a house party last night and I got rave reviews...could hardly get my head through the door when I got back home. Everyone loved it, so needless to say this goes in the "best of the best" folder! Thx for sharing your recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      Someone brought these to my office last year, telling us she got the recipe from Food Network. I don't care much for pumpkin, but they were so wonderful that I found the recipe and made these bars for Thanksgiving. My SIL's only request for dinner was that I make a pumpkin pie, but she ended up eating these and didn't touch the pie! Just now as I was trying to track down the recipe, DD said, "I remember those! They were delicious!". Will be making them again this year! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      I was searching here for the perfect pumpkin recipe to celebrate at my Pumpkinfest party- and I found it! This cake is Very moist with just the right amount of spice- and the frosting is the perfect compliment! I had a bit of trouble with the frosting- it was very thick & did not want to spread. I should have added some liquid, however, I just dolloped it on the still warm cake and let the heat melt it to spreading consistency. It set up well too, and was a hit with my family! I had to give away the few leftover pieces to my friend- just so I wouldn't eat the rest!Two thumbs way up!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2005

      All my family and my inlaws loved these bars! Quick and easy to make, served Christmas night and was a big hit! The cake was moist and a good texture. The icing was just the right topping and complimented the pumpkin flavor in the cake. Yummy! Thanks KC Cooker!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2003

      These were great! I added nutmeg and cloves to the recipe for a bit more spice. My husband loved them and he usually doesn't eat cream cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2015

      I read this recipe and thought this needs to be Amped up. I increased the cinnamon to 1 tablespoon, added a teaspoon of ginger, teaspoon of nutmeg. I made a lemon bourbon glaze with zest of lemon, juice of lemon, bourbon and confectioners sugar. Really delicious and the glaze soaked into the cake making it extra yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2015

      Absolutely delicious! Very creamy and smooth icing and perfect balance of spices. So moist, perfect balance of spices, super easy to make. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2015

      This was my 1st cake

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2014

      Bland, very sweet and not much pumpkin flavor. Takes more than cinnamon to spice up pumpkin. Follow others' advice to make this healthier and better tasting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pumpkin Cake Bars With Cream Cheese Frosting!

    Serving Size: 1 (86 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 594.7
     
    Calories from Fat 275
    46%
    Total Fat 30.6 g
    47%
    Saturated Fat 9.3 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 92.8 mg
    30%
    Sodium 480.8 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 77.1 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 58.1 g
    232%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes