16 Reviews

Canning alert, people! I read a few reviews that said you canned this great pumpkin butter, but warning -- you shouldn't. Here is the article: http://www.foodinjars.com/2010/10/canning-101-why-pumpkin-butter-cant-be-canned/. But it freezes and stores in fridge very well and lasts a long time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nitasell November 19, 2012

This is good stuff!!! A ten-star recipe! I just finished canning it and so far have only eaten it with cornbread, but I can't think of anything this would not be good on. Used frozen cooked pumpkin which tends to be a bit thinner, cooked in a 4-quart crockpot for 8 hours on low, then on high for about 2 hours until it was golden brown and nearly thick enough to spread, stirring throughout the cooking time. Got 8 half-pints plus about 1/2 cup. A perfect blend of spices that smells heavenly while cooking. I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing the recipe!! UPDATE: I just read that home canning of plain pumpkin as well as pumpkin butter is no longer recommended. Please be safe and store this in the fridge or freezer. It really is wonderful stuff!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama November 11, 2006

This is the best recipe for pumpkin butter I have ever tried. Everyone loves it! I used brown sugar, but also took the advice on one of the reviews and added 1/4 tsp allspice, increased cinnamon to 2 tsp, 6 tablespoons fresh lemon juice, and 1/2 tsp maple flavoring. I cooked it on low in the crockpot about 10 hours, then processed it for 40 minutes in a hot water bath. You cannot overcook this! The result was outstanding!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
conhackney November 02, 2009

Cooked on low for 10 hours, ran my hand mixer through it to puree everything - perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xpnsve October 13, 2012

This is really good. I cut the sugar to 3 c. and added 3 pkgs. of truvia. Increased the spices a bit too. My son ate this on his oatmeal and had 3 bowls. He Loves it. I froze it instead of canning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
farmchick #2 November 08, 2009

Out of lemons and short on lemon juice, subbed some Rose's Lime Juice. Yummy. Cooked in crock pot over night.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJJohnson November 01, 2009

I made this recipe last fall and it was absolutely wonderful! I used bottled lemon juice, but that was the only change. It tasted just like autumn. I put this in many small bowls and froze them, pulling out one at a time throughout the next 6+ months. They keep in the fridge for 2-3 weeks (although very few bowls made it that long-we ate them too fast!). This year I'm living in a place where autumn is not as noticeable, so I just bought a pumpkin to make this and help it feel like autumn here!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisasaba September 29, 2009

EEEK! I forgot to rate your recipe. So sorry. I've had pumpkin butter in the past...ick....but found your recipe and it is the best ever! Thank you for sharing! Every one got a pint in their Christmas baskets last year and all loved it. My husband requests it all the time for his pbj sandwiches for work....:) Can't beat that!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama~Kitty July 02, 2009

I used this recipe and made it on the stove top instead of the crock pot so I only cooked it a few minutes. I used brown sugar and added some apple juice and maple flavoring. I processed them about 6 minutes. The results were so yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizAnn November 14, 2007

I made this yesterday, as it is getting to be fall and I look forward to pumpkin "stuff." I usually buy one of the local farm market brands. No more! This recipe is easy, delicious and inexpensive. Thank you for posting this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QL7 September 30, 2006
Pumpkin Butter (Crock Pot)