25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this to take in to my staff as a Monday-morning treat and they all but licked the plate! The recipe works great, even in high altitude. I did drizzle a simple powdered sugar icing on top, with a sprinkle of cinnamon added. NOW, I have to find another great treat to take in because Kay missed it! Thanks for the wonderful recipe, Johnson!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mostrah November 04, 2002

My family loved this cake! I used yellow cake mix and butterscotch pudding, following the recipe exactly. It has a nice, spicy flavor. Part of the reason it was such a hit, though, was the Brown Sugar Glaze I topped it with--a Kittencalskitchen recipe that accompanies her Apple-Nut Cinnamon Bundt Cake. I will use that glaze often (though I still haven't tried the cake!).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki #4 October 11, 2013

Recipe was perfect! I just added a sugar glaze and also Walnuts! Everyone loved this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CupcakeGenM November 03, 2014

Made this cake today for work and everyone raved about it. I used a French Vanilla cake mix and instead of water used french vanilla creamer instead of water. Very good. Very moist. I topped it with a brown butter icing that everyone really liked too. 1 stick of butter, browned, 2 cups sifted powered sugar, and 2 tablespoons liquid. Again I used French Vanilla creamer for the liquid in the icing, too. Very good. Very simple. I agree that it is the butterscotch pudding that is the secret ingredient that makes the difference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Penny C. October 18, 2014

This recipe earned rave reviews from dinner guests yesterday. I added 1 cup of Baking Raisins to the batter and it was perfect! Did not have Pumpkin Pie Spice, so used 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp nutmeg, and 1/4 tsp allspice. Also only found 1 oz packages of Low Fat/Sugar Free Butterscotch instant pudding mix at the store - so added 2 packages.

Simply dusted with powdered sugar and served with Cool Whip. Cake was ultra moist and my brother commented it tasted like "Bakery Quality" cake.
This recipe is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maureen in MA October 29, 2012

Made this today and it is a wonderful, moist cake. I followed the directions and I couldn't be more pleased at the results. My son won't stay out of it! I made a super thick cream cheese frosting: 1 pkg cream cheese, 1/4 c butter, 1 tsp vanilla and about 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar. Tastes like the frosting from "Nothing Bundt Cakes." Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Texas October 25, 2012

I was in a bind and needed to make a cake in a hurry, no time to run to the store for ingredients either. My cake mix was bigger than called for, I only had 3 eggs, my butterscotch pudding mix was smaller than called for and sugar free. I used the entire can of pumpkin in hopes of compensating a little for the missing egg. I had no choice, just had to throw it in all together and hope for the best. Even with all of that going against me, the cake turned out wonderful! Served it with fat free whipped cool whip that I had in the freezer and it was wonderful!! Can't imagine it could have turned out better. Moist and flavorful with just the right about of spice. I'll be making this again. Thanks Marg! This recipe was a real lifesaver.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom November 07, 2011

I really liked this cake and so did the people who tried it. I made it with spice cake mix and pumpkin flavored pudding and drizzled it with the cream cheese icing from Gooey Cinnamon Rolls (Bread Machine Recipe). If you go that route I'd suggest keeping a container w/ the rest of the icing w/ to serve. I poured extra icing in the middle and people wanted more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smarahcakes December 10, 2010

I've made this cake for years - got the recipe from my Mom. I use a yellow cake mix and either butterscotch pudding (sugar free) or when I can find it I use pumpkin pudding mix (I've seen it a few times around the holidays). I serve it with whipped topping - YUM!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Resner November 17, 2010

This is a 5-star recipe after making a few alterations I learned about from other reviewers. I used a spice cake mix and vanilla pudding, only 3 eggs and a whole can of pumpkin. VERY moist and flavorful!!! I glazed it with a basic sugar glazed and served it with Cool Whip at work.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary_K November 03, 2010
Pumpkin Bundt Cake II