15 Reviews

I absolutely LOVED this recipe!!! Rich, moist and flavorful... When you finished one of these "brownies", you just had to eye the pan and ask yourself... Should I eat just ONE more??? In one word... deeeeelicious! Thanks for posting !!! PS But I have to ask.... How did a chef called Bugstomper come up with the name??? =) Curious Barb

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aroostook February 12, 2003

Nice spicy taste. I agree that it's not exactly what one would expect from a brownie. It's more like gingerbread. The amount of batter didn't look like much for a 9x13 pan, so I wound up baking it in a 9-inch square pan, still for 30 minutes. It came out fine, with a soft, cakey texture. I also used regular flour, as I didn't have any whole wheat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jo Ann L March 08, 2003

This was superb! If you're looking for snacks that are on the healthier side, this one fits the bill. If you're looking for a traditional brownie though, you may be disappointed cause I found it more cakey than the fudgey brownies I imagine! I didn't have any nutmeg, so I substituted pumpkin pie spice and omitted the nuts cause no one here is fond of them and it was magnificent with a glob of ultra low-fat cool whip. Thanks Bugs!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Love2Eat March 04, 2003

More of a spice cake than a brownie, in our opinion. The pumpkin flavor isn't very pronounced. We all love spice cake though, so we did like them. They'd probably be even better with a thin layer of cream cheese icing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) October 06, 2014

Not was I was expecting. The flavor was nice, but they were dry. I love that fact this recipe uses whole wheat flour and calls for very little oil. If I make these again, I will reduce the oven temp and add a tad more buttermilk. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview October 04, 2009

Irresistable! I thought the texture was perfect, and they came out nice and moist. I'm watching calories, so I used your egg suggestion, and I replaced the brown sugar with splenda. They were perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stars1012 September 21, 2009

Because many of the other reviews said that the brownies were a bit dry, I added more buttermilk to the recipe...probably about 1/2 cup total of buttermilk. I also left out the walnuts as my husband doesn't like them. The brownies turned out very well and I would make them again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rifka November 15, 2007

These were good but did not have the texture of a brownie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
army wife owens October 30, 2007

These brownies tasted very good, but mine turned out dry. I will try to add more liquid next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
death_by_parsnip December 02, 2006

A really nice snacking cake and healthy too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ty's Kitchen October 04, 2006
Pumpkin Brownies