Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pumpkin Brownies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pumpkin Brownies

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on February 12, 2003

      I absolutely LOVED this recipe!!! Rich, moist and flavorful... When you finished one of these "brownies", you just had to eye the pan and ask yourself... Should I eat just ONE more??? In one word... deeeeelicious! Thanks for posting !!! PS But I have to ask.... How did a chef called Bugstomper come up with the name??? =) Curious Barb

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2003

      Nice spicy taste. I agree that it's not exactly what one would expect from a brownie. It's more like gingerbread. The amount of batter didn't look like much for a 9x13 pan, so I wound up baking it in a 9-inch square pan, still for 30 minutes. It came out fine, with a soft, cakey texture. I also used regular flour, as I didn't have any whole wheat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2003

      This was superb! If you're looking for snacks that are on the healthier side, this one fits the bill. If you're looking for a traditional brownie though, you may be disappointed cause I found it more cakey than the fudgey brownies I imagine! I didn't have any nutmeg, so I substituted pumpkin pie spice and omitted the nuts cause no one here is fond of them and it was magnificent with a glob of ultra low-fat cool whip. Thanks Bugs!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      Not was I was expecting. The flavor was nice, but they were dry. I love that fact this recipe uses whole wheat flour and calls for very little oil. If I make these again, I will reduce the oven temp and add a tad more buttermilk. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      Irresistable! I thought the texture was perfect, and they came out nice and moist. I'm watching calories, so I used your egg suggestion, and I replaced the brown sugar with splenda. They were perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      Because many of the other reviews said that the brownies were a bit dry, I added more buttermilk to the recipe...probably about 1/2 cup total of buttermilk. I also left out the walnuts as my husband doesn't like them. The brownies turned out very well and I would make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      These were good but did not have the texture of a brownie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2006

      These brownies tasted very good, but mine turned out dry. I will try to add more liquid next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2006

      A really nice snacking cake and healthy too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2006

      Pumpkin desserts are among my favorite things to munch all autumn! This was a wonderful recipe. I cut the sugar a touch (I have to be very careful about my sugar intake) and had to omit the walnuts as my boyfriend can't eat them. The whole wheat texture is wonderful with pumpkin and the spices balanced nicely! Thank you for a new favorite :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2005

      Execellent! My teenagers loved them, and I was happy that they were eating a somewhat healthy treat. They are more like a cake than a brownie - if you increase the ginger a bit, you could call it "pumkin gingerbread". Next time I think I'll cut back the sugar to 3/4 cup, as it was quite sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2005

      Made these on Thanksgiving and used brown sugar splenda so we would have a sugar free dessert and they turned out really well. They had a great pumpkiny / spicy flavor. Used applesauce instead of the oil. Also took Jo Ann's suggestion and made then in a 8x8 pan. Ended up cooking them for almost an hour to get the center to be completely cooked, but the extra cooking time didn't seem to dry them out any. The only resemblence to a brownie though was the square shape. More like a cake or bar. Great dessert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2004

      Thought I had made some comments, but don't see them in the review section. Anyway the idea of the brownies is wonderful. I have made them twice. Yesterday I made a few adaptions: Brown Sugar--I used 1/2C and then 4t Sweet 'N Low (brown, and spoon supplied), only a pinch of salt, Buttermilk---I used 1/4C Vanilla Silk Soy Milk and 1t lemon juice, and the 1/2C egg substitute. They were better to us and neighbors then the first batch I had made. Anyway, thanks for the recipe. I did the adaptions for a couple reasons, they are all to make them healthier! Diane

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2003

      These have an excellent flavor but are noticeably dry. They're acceptable alone, but definately need milk to make up for the dryer consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pumpkin Brownies

    Serving Size: 1 (785 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 102.4
     
    Calories from Fat 40
    39%
    Total Fat 4.4 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 17.7 mg
    5%
    Sodium 102.4 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.5 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 9.2 g
    36%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites