37 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a great dessert. Enjoyed by the whole clan!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diabeticdelimma1 March 05, 2011

We love bread pudding at our house and I wanted to do something to celebrate the fall, so I thought I'd try this recipe. I used an entire loaf of Pepperidge Farm Pumpkin Swirl bread and just doubled the rest of the ingredients. I also used Splenda to save on some extra calories. I omitted the raisins just due to personal preference. Served with a dollop of Cool Whip, this was a tasty treat! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noor.Khalid October 28, 2013

Just made this today. I doubled the recipe because I bought raisin Challah (SP??) bread and cubed it up about 1" cubes and there was ALOT! :-) (Darn!) :-) but I used 1 cup egg whites, 2 eggs and 2 flaxseed egg replacements. I used 4 cups skim milk and 1/2 cup fat free greek yogurt, added 1/4 tsp salt, extra cinnamon but other than that I followed the recipe. (I guess that is quite a few changes, huh?? It's what I had on hand though) It has WONDERFUL flavor and my bread pudding hating husband even liked it. I think this might be Christmas morning breakfast this year. Thanks for a quick and easy AND YUMMY recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sconehead December 15, 2012

I loved this with whipped cream on top! It tastes like pumpkin pie. I even featured it with some minor changes on my food blog at http://damegoodeats.blogspot.com/2010/10/pumpkin-bread-pudding.html

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misscuppycake October 26, 2010

With a generous dollop of whipped cream on the top it can't be beat! So delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheffette Teresa February 22, 2010

After all the rave reviews I was really eager to try this recipe, but I was not quite as thrilled with the result. It smelled delicious coming out of the oven and cooked through to the perfect texture, but the flavor was lacking for me. I found that it tasted sort of like bland pumpkin pie. However, for a low-fat dessert it was easy to make and still quite edible, just not as rich as I was expecting based on other reviews. I very much want to love this dessert, so I may try making it again with 2% milk instead of skim and see if that improves the flavor for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Casual Gourmet January 29, 2010

Cooked it for Christmas dinner, and it turned out awesome. I followed the recipe, did not change anything, and served with vanilla ice cream. Everyone loved it. The best part is that it's a guilt-free indulgence knowing that it's a low-fat dessert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
florrie05 January 02, 2010

loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jjuulliiee2222 November 27, 2009

WOW! This was great! I halved the recipe, used light whole wheat bread (45cal/slice), and did 1/4 cup of Splenda granulated and 1/4 cup of brown sugar. It was tad bit sweet, so I might reduce the total sugar to 1/3 cup (for the 1/2 recipe) for my next preparation. Mine took 40 minutes in the oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MDinNYC November 13, 2009

This was delicious! i halved the recipe and made it in an 8x8 pan so the cook time was a bit less, and this was just wonderful. tasted like pumpkin pie! I topped it with maple syrup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I Can't Believe It's Healthy June 23, 2009
Pumpkin Bread Pudding (Low Fat)