11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for our church Fall Festival and its a good thing I took some out for lunch the next day cause there was NONE left at the end of the night. It was delicious and the pumpkin gave it such a rich flavor. I also added a bit of cinnamon which really complimented the rest of the flavors.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blcook06 November 02, 2009

I made this for a family Christmas gathering and although everyone was a little hesitant, once they tried it they loved it. I used ground turkey instead of chopped cooked turkey and didn't have cream sherry to add. I did add a couple dashes of cayenne pepper (I love a little heat!). Will definitely be making this again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Resner December 27, 2007

Used 2 celery ribs instead of the bell pepper, leftover Butternut Squash Tian (66047), mashed, and 2 cups chicken in box and 1.5 cups Rescued Turkey Stock (24576), no sherry. All dark meat turkey. 1 tsp cumin, 2 tsp chili powder for wimpy DH.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc November 25, 2012

This soup is WONDERFUL, I would give it 10 stars if I could. Very easy and quick to make. The only turkey I had was frozen turkey burgers, I just chopped them up. I tasted it before I added the spices and it was bland, but after the spices it was perfect. I will be making this regularly. I do have to say this made about 8 servings for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luminajd December 08, 2008

When I saw the pumpkin in this recipe, my curiosity was piqued, but I was in a huge hurry and didn't even have time to measure the ingredients. I literally threw it together, reducing the broth because of my time limits, substituting ground beef because it was handy, and it turned out great! 5 stars for the creative source of vitamin A! (Nobody tasted the pumpkin) I can't wait to try it again when I'm not so rushed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nicknamer September 18, 2008

This was okay - it tasted like a so-so chili. We used green onions and cheese to flavor up the chili, and some crackers. It was easy to make, but I wouldn't make it again. Thanks for the recipe, hope others give it a try and decide if they like it themselves.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NELady September 05, 2008

I had high hopes for this recipe. It looked yummy, it smelled yummy, the texture was nice but unfortunately nobody at my dinner table cared for the taste of this chili. But I also couldn't tell you what exactly is was that we didn't like.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nickeletta October 14, 2007

Very good, unique flavor. For those following the Inflammation Free Diet Plan, one serving of this recipe rates about a postive 300 (assuming olive oil, skinless turkey breast, and excluding the sherry because I didn't have access to its IF rating). So, not only does it taste good but is an anti-inflammatory meal as well!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
azdewdrop November 14, 2006

Made this in the crockpot like a prior review said, on low 8 hrs. Skipped the sherry, OOPs!! and used cubed cooked chicken breast. Really excellent rich taste. The day I couldn't find anymore frozen in the back of my freezer when I was packing my lunch was a day indeed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ConvivialJen September 22, 2005

OMG!! If you didn't know it had pumpkin in it - you wouldn't know! Tastes great, easy to go together, and, best of all, I made it in a crock pot after step 4 - cooked on "low" for 8 hours. My SU ate 3 bowls of this 1st time out! Will make again! Even the dog loved it - I accidently dropped the left overs on the floor and Morgan lapped it up - totally - before I could get there!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacey in BG!!! December 02, 2004
Pumpkin Black Bean Turkey Chili