Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pumpkin, Banana and Chickpea Curry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pumpkin, Banana and Chickpea Curry

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 04, 2008

      What a wonderful recipe! In all the fuss to make sure I got it right I forgot the bananas (the very reason I choose this recipe in the first place!). No matter - with or without bananas this is a beaut curry! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2006

      This was a really delicious, flavoursome veggie curry. I roasted the pumpkin/ curry paste combo in the oven, as it seemed less hassle than frying. Also, despite (or maybe because of!) using pine nuts in most of the recipes I've made in the past few weeks, whether they were called for or not, I'd run out, so used cashews instead.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2006

      Love the recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2006

      Just wonderful. I was somewhat stumped about the sequencing and when the pumpkin was to be incorporated in the curry. After sauteeing the onions, peppers, garlic and spices, I moved them to a bowl. Then cooked up the pumkin and curry paste. After 5 minutes added the onions and pepers back in and continued with the dish. Managed to also reduce the total amount of oil to 1 tablespoon by using some extra vegetable stock to soften the onions. Used fresh tomatoes but think this would work equally well with the canned variety. My final tweak was that I used a very ripe plaintain instead of the banana, a simple matter of availability and preference for cooking with plantains as they hold there shape a bit better. Will certainly make this soon as it was thoroughly enjoyed. Imagining variations with small amounts of chicken in lieu of some of the chickpeas, or a light addition of allspice. Thank you so much Sharon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2005

      Absolutely delicous! It was definitely alot lighter than the usual curry I make(I have a thing for SE Asian curries, so I rarely try other one) but I wanted to do something different with my excess bananas. This only used one, and later on thought I should have added more, but then I ate it and decided 'No.' The banana added a very subtle flavour to this, and it was really nice and easy. I'm so glad I had everything on hand. I used one can of tomatoes and I want to say thankyou so much for this different and delicious recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2005

      Delicious!! What an awesome recipe and so easy to prepare. I had everything at home except the cumin and cinnamon and it was still fantastic with vege stock and fresh tomatoes. Thank-you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2003

      Wow.. this is so good! I love the variety of veggies and the addition of banana is fabulous!!!! I used fresh tomatoes and vegetable broth. I didnt have any pine nuts on hand, so I decided to top with some chopped cashew nuts... and it was actually marvelous! Thanks for the recipe :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2003

      This recipe is so good, full of flavour. I used the choice of fresh tomatoes and used chicken stock. I think the banana gives a touch of sweetness to balance the curry and spices. I served this with basmati rice to have a complete vegetarian meal, but it would be good as a side dish with a steamed chicken breast.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pumpkin, Banana and Chickpea Curry

    Serving Size: 1 (435 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 449.3
     
    Calories from Fat 216
    48%
    Total Fat 24.0 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 643.3 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.1 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 10.2 g
    41%
    Sugars 12.1 g
    48%
    Protein 11.5 g
    23%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites