27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've made these MANY times now and they are, bar none, our favorite muffin recipe. The only changes I make are: using 1 1/2 cups sugar (3/4 cup brown and 3/4 cup regular); doubling the streusel topping (my husband's favorite part); using olive oil instead of veggie oil; doubling the spices. I have found that doubling the spices and using some brown sugar adds a richness to these muffins. Baking them a second longer than 35 minutes tends to make them a bit overdone and stick to the pan. They are even better 2 or 3 days later...after they have been incubating in a tupperware for awhile, it makes them even more moist and yummified. I only wish I could take credit for this recipe myself when I give them away to people, but alas, I cannot tell a lie and I tell them where I got the recipe, hee hee. Thanks! :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Littleolmee June 27, 2010

This is my new favorite muffin recipe! I replaced one cup of flour with whole wheat, and about 2/3 of the oil with apple butter. It worked great and cut some calories and fat, added some fiber. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maggiepcs October 24, 2006

These are amazing muffins. I've been making these exact muffins for years and everyone loves them! Even my sister who usually turns her nose up at pumpkin! Thanks for adding a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daphne2002 February 27, 2003

These muffins were nothing short of excellent.I am making them this weekend for a fund raiser. I also did a batch changing it to one cup of pureed bananas (on the ripe side instead of pumpkin, and cinnamon instead of pumpkin pie spice, and 2 cups of cut up bananas(slightly on the green side). These were also good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sally Wolfe June 20, 2002

Moist, tasty muffins and they're easy to make. Everybody LOVES them and the chopped apple is marvelous in them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darcy November 29, 2001

These muffins are, hands down, our family's favorite. They are moist, delicious, and even better the second day. Perfection!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cupcakes and cuties December 21, 2012

Really good muffins. Used a little more apple than it called for and doubled the spices as some reviews recommended. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marysdottir January 09, 2012

Terrific! They were wonderful. I followed suggestions of other reviewers and used 3/4 C. white sugar and 3/4 C. brown; I doubled the spices and doubled the topping. I also added walnuts to the batter. Made a lovely, tender muffin that was brimming with autumn flavors. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLHquilts November 26, 2010

THESE WERE AMAZING!!!! I did what someone else suggested and used brown sugar, doubled the spices and topping. I never eat muffins the day after but i ate theses for 2 days after i made them. They are a light and moist muffin. Thanks for posting :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissyDressage October 15, 2010

Used pears instead, ww flour(kin arthurs white ww), less sugar- 1 3/4 C . For the topping I used extra virgin coconut oil (solid at room temp)-I prepared the topping first and put in fridge. That was a mistake. It hardened and I had to break it up.RESULT: moist, delicious, will make again-got some older apples in the fridge that are winking at me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stealthcook February 10, 2010
Pumpkin Apple Streusel Muffins