10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A terrific cake! We froze it a month before Thanksgiving, defrosted it in the refrigerator overnight and brought it out in the morning to room temp. Had it for breakfast AND dessert. Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buffalo Gal 75 December 07, 2008

SO good!!!! Not that it needed changes but I was going by what I had on hand. I used butter instead of margarine. I didn't have butter flavoring or orange extract so used 1/2 tsp vanilla, 1/2 tsp. maple extract, 2 tsp orange juice. I also added 1/8 tsp. cardamom to flour mixture and when cool I topped with a powdered sugar glaze with vanilla and cinnamon. YUM!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Huntergirl* October 27, 2009

so i did not read the recipe before i started putting the cake part of the ingredients in the mixer bowl. i put the spices that belonged in the pecan mixture in it. oh well i baked in anyway and it was delish. i also made my own pumpin pie spice. 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp cloves and 1/8 tsp cardamom

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laverne69 February 10, 2010

Wow, delicious! I used just a 1/4 teaspoon of the orange extract, and more vanilla instead of the butter extract. I also used nonfat sour cream, and only 1/4 cup of the brown sugar. I like how you can taste the orange, pumpkin, spice and filling, but none overwhelms the other. Made this as muffins - a dozen and a half little treats, baked for 24 minutes. I have been wanting to make this recipe for a long time, and it did not disappoint!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito November 22, 2008

Excellent recipe! I adjusted it for High Altitude and baked it in two small loaf pans, it came out wonderfully moist with just the right touch of pumpkin flavor. Thank you for sharing a great "keeper" recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chefette2u October 29, 2008

This coffee cake received rave reviews from everyone here. I used butter, left out the butter flavoring, and used orange juice concentrate. The flavor was excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitcatnumber1 October 11, 2014

I made this,on Sunday for dinner. I had opened a can of pumpkin puree for Canadain Thanksgiving in October, and I froze the unused portion in a ziploc bag. The cake was easy to prepare, and tasted awesome. DH had some for breakfast, he loved it. I used real butter, and 1 tsp each vanilla and orange extracts. I served it with caramel low fat ice cream, mmmmm. Thank you for a fabulous recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
conniecooks December 01, 2008

This was very good. I put it in a bundt pan and used butter instead of margerine. Very tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*SpeechTeachMe* November 05, 2008

A great fall recipe - moist and wonderful flavour. I used butter instead of marg - omitted the butter flavouring and didn't have orange extract so upped the vanilla to 1 tsp. And my pumpkin spice combo was 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp cloves and 1/4 tsp mace. Thanks so much for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
country girl kim September 16, 2007

Oh Mirj, this is a lovely cake! I made 1/2 a recipe and baked it in a loaf pan. In exactly 35 minutes, it was done to perfection. I used this recipe for Exceptional Pumpkin Pie Spice and otherwise made as written. I am glad that you mentioned the _curdled_ look because mine sure had it. ;-) Thanks so much for sharing your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieQusie July 31, 2007
Pumpkin and Spice Sour Cream Coffee Cake