Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pumpkin and Black Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pumpkin and Black Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    67 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 67

    Sort by:

    • on October 18, 2011

      Yum! Yum! Yum! I love anything pumpkin, so I might be a bit biased! But DH loved it too- and he's not so into pumpkin. The kids thought it was too spicy even though I didn't add the cayenne. I might cut back on the curry powder so they can eat it too- or leave it ( I loved the curry flavor) and just make them chicken nuggets! I used half and half and will "temper" it next time (that is- put the half and half in a bowl and add some of the hot soup to the bowl slowly so the half and half warms up slowly. You add about a cup of soup to the bowl then stir the whole thing back into the pot of soup). I would do this because my half and half curdled a bit. It didn't affect the flavor but it makes it look less attractive. I will definitely make this again and again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2011

      This was very good! Really enjoyed it! The only thing I did different was add two cans of black beans.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      I made this vegan (w/rice milk) and added extra black beans. It was wonderful. I served with thin slices of tomato as garnish and even my non-vegan family members enjoyed it (this happens nearly-never!) Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2010

      I thought this was great! I added bell peppers, garlic and an extra tsp of cumin. I also used 3 cans of beans and 1.5 cans of pumpkin and no milk. Perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      I too omitted the cream, added about 1 T garlic powder and a spoonful of sour cream when serving, the spices were just right, very good soup

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2014

      If you wouldn't use vegan ant stock, why would you use vegan chicken stock? Sounds to me like you are craving chicken, and cry. Soybeans are not cream. Idiot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2014

      Made it as written, except used chicken broth and omitted cayenne so my young son would eat it. We were a little unsure what we would think, but we all loved it and will definitely make it again! Thank you so much!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2014

      I hesitated a long time to make this because I just wasn't sure my husband and I would like it but it was really good! I left out the onion due to an allergy and used chicken broth as that's what I had on hand. Otherwise, I followed the recipe and was happy with the result. The flavors and consistency were great and it had just the right spicy kick. I thought it needed a decent amount of salt and maybe next time I'll add some shredded jack cheese as a garnish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      I substituted Tandori Masala as for my spice, low sodium broth, lactose-free Half & Half for the cream, and doubled the black beans. Also slowly added hot soup to the half&half to heat it up prior to adding it to the main pot to avoid curdling. <br/> Although this is a relatively mild soup, that's important in my three-generation, picky-eater home. We served it with garlic bread and the meal was a hit! I like that it is so healthy and quick to prepare. The soup would also go well with toasted cheese sandwiches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2013

    • on January 04, 2013

      This was good. I left out the cayenne pepper so the kids wouldn't be scared off. It was lacking some of the flavor I was hoping for out of this, but not too bad. Served with cornbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2012

      This an easy to put together and very delicious soup. I made it just as directed and would definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      This was great! I used coconut milk. Next time I'll add more black beans and use more veggies. This is a great basic recipe that can be modified and one that I'll definitely be using again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      This makes a delicious soup! I cooked my own pumpkin rather than using canned, and I used half and half in place of the whole cream. I think this soup is great this way, but could also be great with coconut milk and some thai style curry paste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2011

      After deciding on your recipe to use with some frozen fresh tomato soup made with homemade chicken broth I soon discovered no pumpkin in the house.....so I had to improvise. Sauted onion, 3 garlic cloves, 3 carrots and 2 celery with a vegetable marrow then added 3 cups of my frozen tomato soup. When everything soft I pureed and voila...it looked like creamy pumpkin with a tomato taste! Added about another cup of store bought chicken broth, 18% cream and spices as listed. After a couple of delish tasty bowlfuls we decided to add another can of black beans and we are looking forward to leftovers later in the week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      Our whole family loves this soup - even my picky 2-year old. I've been making it with almond milk and homemade pumpkin puree, and canned diced tomato instead of tomato sauce, since that's what we usually have on hand. I think that makes it a little thinner, but by letting it simmer for an hour or so, we get a thicker consistancy, which is what we like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      I tried this because I am expanding my horizons, and haven't been eating meat. I used homemade vegetable stock, 2 cups of homemade tomato juice, and rice milk in place of cream. I was worried that it would be too thin, but it wasn't. My husband and I both enjoyed this soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      I liked it but didn't love it. The pumpkin definitely lends a different texture to the dish, but overall it was missing something....a little extra zip/tang I guess. It also made a HUGE amount....way more than 4-6 servings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      Very good recipe but why vegan chicken broth? If you're vegetarian, just use veg. broth. Or, if you're so desperate for chicken broth, why not use it? I don't get it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pumpkin and Black Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (354 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 495.0
     
    Calories from Fat 274
    55%
    Total Fat 30.5 g
    47%
    Saturated Fat 15.0 g
    75%
    Cholesterol 81.5 mg
    27%
    Sodium 176.2 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.6 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 10.8 g
    43%
    Sugars 8.3 g
    33%
    Protein 12.9 g
    25%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    fresh chives

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites