Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pumpernickel Bread (No-Knead) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pumpernickel Bread (No-Knead)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on March 07, 2012

      This bread is phenomenal! Such great flavor and so easy to make! I keep making this poor girl's recipes and forgetting to rate them! Just remember when you see one of her recipes, make it, it's got to be good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      Delicious pumpernickel! Tons of flavor, but without that blast of bitterness that so often ruins pumpernickel and rye breads for me. Mine didn't rise up too high, but then I have never had a no-knead rise up as high as regular bread. I baked mine inside a roasting pan with a lid to create a nice, crunchy crust and chewy interior, and oh my goodness. It was superb. I'm definitely replacing my old pumpernickel recipe, which I have never been completely happy with. Thanks a lot. ***Bonus: This bread makes INCREDIBLE grilled sandwiches. I just used it for a French dip with leftover roast beef and a bit of provolone all melted together on the George Foreman grill. The bread is so flavorful on its own that it really elevates the sandwich. I'll definitely make this regularly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2014

      Scoop, sweep, level...gotcha. Let me do my work. Okay, go on... Mix, turn and knead. There's quite a long list to the plan, but off to bake... I'm back! A beauteous bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2011

      I am a bread lover, but I had to put off making this bread because I could not find the rye flour. Once I was able to locate it I purchased both the light and dark rye flour. My first batch was made with the dark rye flour, easy recipe with a great outcome. I couldn't believe how good it tasted. I only let it sit in the refrigerator for 6-8 hours, the next loaf will be made with the light flour and I will let it sit in the refrigerator 24 hours before baking. I used the entire recipe for one round loaf baked on a parchment paper lined stone. What a great loaf of bread with almost no effort involved. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      This was a great bread. I can't say anything else. It was easy, perfect consistency, just right. Thx for a definite keeper.
      Kim

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      What is there not to love about this? Wowsier! Totally unique and lovely in prep and taste! Loved the use of cocoa, coffee, and molasses, and this really was a hit at home! Loved, loved the no-knead method and am so going to continue to make this for a long, long time! Made for "Walk on the Wild Side" Challenge June 2010. Zee Zany Zesty Cookz

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      I love Pumpernickel bread but never tried to make it myself. This bread was easy to make, had exceptional flavor, I loved the crispy crust of this bread. Was perfect with the stew I served it with. Already have a request to make it again! ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      this was terrific, I added caraway into the dough not on the outside. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      This recipe made it into our Book #242923! 09/12/09 - Great bread! Although I've never had pumpernickel before, it was my MIL's favorite, so I felt compelled to try it. ;) I was definitely not disappointed. Made (seedless) to specs. I was surprised to find ingredients such as cocoa and coffee. Bird stated that it was true to taste for traditional pumpernickel flavor (she enjoyed it with her mom long ago). Thank you so much for posting! ~Buddha

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      The pumpernickel I know (Polish after German original) is a coarse rye sourdough bread so I looked at the recipe with certain disbelief. Yet the bread has a very nice taste close to the German original. DH liked it. And I love that is no-knead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pumpernickel Bread (No-Knead)

    Serving Size: 1 (68 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 132.9
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    38%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 487.5 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites