10 Reviews

Looking 'forever' for the perfect pumpernickel bread recipe and, eureka, I've found it! Totally authentic, hearty pumpernickel and easy to make. Thank you for sharing. It's a 'keeper.'

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hudakore September 24, 2012

I discovered that I'm just not a fan of pumpernickel bread. However my DH loves dark breads so I gave it to him to enjoy. The 4 stars are because of his enjoyment of the bread. Nothing to say against the chef. She has a lot of wonderful recipes and this one is part of the many good ones. If you like pumpernickel bread...then you should indeed make this one. Made for PAC Spring 2012.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarrolJ April 19, 2012

Nice flavor. I cut the recipe in half and it turned out great, one loaf. made for shady ladies team, ZWT7. Yummmmm

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakinBaby June 17, 2011

Old fashioned is right, I feel like "Popeye" with huge strength in my arms now! This is a lovely loaf, I followed another reviewer and made two smaller loaves. this is perfect with a nice, mellow, butter on top, and so loved by all at home. Followed this exactly, and it came out perfectly. Made for ZWT7

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm June 15, 2011

Unlike any other bread I've ever had. Very yummy and delicious! made for ZWT6 voracious vagabonds!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin_nurse May 27, 2010

My family loved this bread, great flavor. Followed recipe exactly. This went well with the "Belgian Beef Carbonnade" #423788 by ElaineAnn Made for ZWT6 Bread: Oma's Kitchen Challenge. The No- Nonsense Nibblers.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MomLuvs6 May 23, 2010

Great bread! Baked a small loaf in a preheated cast-iron dutch oven and the other is 'fermenting' in the refrigerator; plan to bake today. The only thing I did differently was cut the recipe in half to make two small loaves. I use instant yeast for my bread baking so cut the amount to 1 tablespoon. Also substituted coffee for half of the water. Used my Kitchen Aid to mix and knead. Made for ZWT #6. Thanks for sharing

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galley Wench May 23, 2010

The first time I made this bread it turned out like a rock, it had good favor but it was just heavy.
After adjusting the Yeast, the second loave's turned out great.
For my area, I had to double the yeast
This is yummy bread, next batch I'm going to try adding Coffee, this sounds like something I heard my Russian GrandMother added to her recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bert98947, Bread Maker February 23, 2012

I followed this recipe with no changes. The bread is to sweet and very dense. This was not a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mickie F. March 14, 2014

This bread was AWFUL. Followed the recipe exactly; the loaves would not form properly but I could adjust that next time by changing the liquid ratio of the dough. The texture turned out okay, but this bread JUST TASTES HORRIBLE. There is WAY too much molasses in it - it tastes like a Christmas cookie gone wrong. Just horrendous. Luckily I made a dip to go with it that I can drown it in, otherwise I would have thrown it out. Practically inedible on its own.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kac266 February 09, 2014
Pumpernickel Bread