568 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this exactly as directed for my daughter's sweet 16. All of her friends loved it! I'd done about 7 pounds of pork and it was all gone when the night was over. Will definitely make again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmpmn December 29, 2011

This process for cooking pork works really well and is very flexible. I had a 2lb pork loin in the freezer and decided to give it a try. Here is what I did: night before apply rub to pork (I like 1 tablespoon seasoned salt, 1 teaspoon ground black pepper, 1 tablespoon garlic powder, 1 tablespoon onion powder, 1 tablespoon ground paprika, 2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce, 1 teaspoon liquid smoke flavoring). In the morning, I put it in the crock pot exactly per the instructions. When I got home (approx 10 hours later), the pork was fall-apart tender and smelled fantastic. I shredded the pork, discarded the onions and fat/juice, and returned the pork to the pot. I then added approx 16 oz of bbq sauce and 1/4 cup beef stock to thin it out a bit. Let it combine for approx 45 min. My husband is a proud Texan who loves pulled pork. He said it was awesome, quickly scarfed it down, and went back for seconds. It was so flavorful that we didn't even need sauce on the side.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megan.pekala November 03, 2011

I made this recipe last week as it appeared. The only change I made was to use a mini sirloin pork roast. I am not sure what other areas of the country would call this cut, but it is a boneless cut, not as nice as a center cut roast would be, but much nicer than a butt. It has just enough fat to allow it to cook nicely in a crock pot. The only noticeable difference is that when you shred the meat the fibers are not as long as with other cuts, but once place in a roll....who would know?
I am making the recipe again today, this time I plan on adding some garlic and liquid smoke.
A great and simple recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clyde'sBonnie October 01, 2011

Thanks for this fantastic recipe. Soooo easy and delicious. I tried a different BBQ sauce the second time, and Sweet Baby Ray's is definately the way to go. Followed the recipe exactly, and it was perfect. The hubby asks for it often now.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
edielaren September 05, 2011

I have made this recipe every year for the July 4th pot luck and it gets rave reviews. A suggestion to a different flavor and taste...one year I didn't have ginger ale and didn't want to make the trek back to the store, so I used a can of beer. Worked wonderfully!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjurkonis_779345 July 01, 2011

I've made this twice, and follow the recipe nearly exactly. I buy and use a single 20 ounce bottle of Canada Dry ginger ale, instead of just the one cup. After draining the crockpot, removing the fat and shredding the meat, I like to add a cup or two of a vinegar-based barbecue sauce to keep the pork moist without making it too sweet. Then I add enough Sweet Baby Ray's (or occasionally other sauce) to get it to the perfect consistency.

I made this for our SuperBowl party yesterday, starting off with a 6.5lb Boston Butt pork shoulder. It was JUST enough to feed 18 people with side dishes and other things included. We all got at least one good sandwich. The recipe was met with raves. It's a winner because you only have to spend about 20-30 "active" minutes on it (removing the fat and shredding the pork) and it will keep from 1 hour to 8 hours on low after you've prepared it for serving. It doesn't get dry, it just gets more tender!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cat from Charlotte February 07, 2011

Phenomenal technique, not just the recipe. I love pouring off the fat with the soda and then having just the moist perfect meat in the bbq sauce! Even the good restaurants here in Texas will serve you a sandwich with the fat still on the meat. BARF! You don't have to be afraid that any of the bites you take are going to have you recoiling in horror as you spit out a big hunk of fat! Just moist, perfectly cooked pulled pork! PS- I used 7up instead of ginger ale and sweet baby ray's bbq sauce. I would also consider doing this with pineapple juice and then a teriyaki style sauce instead of bbq.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grimm's Restaurant Tales January 17, 2011

This is WONDERFUL!! My husband kept saying how great it is. Thank you so much for sharing this.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laurabalthrop December 10, 2010

This was so, so good, although I modified it quite a bit. I completely forgot about the onions, I've no idea why, but I never sliced them and didn't even think about it until I saw them sitting on the counter hours later. I didn't have ginger ale, but I had Dr. Pepper, so I used a 3.75 pound boneless pork shoulder and 1 can of Dr. Pepper and cooked on low for 10 hours. I removed the pork, shredded it, bagged it and threw it in the fridge. I discarded the cooking liquid. The day I needed it (I was cooking ahead for my daughter's birthday party) I tossed it back in the crockpot and mixed in the barbecue sauce (Sweet Baby Ray's). It seemed kind of dry so I added a bit of Sprite (again, it's what I had), maybe 1/4 c. or so, just to moisten it up a bit. Warmed through and served. It was so good, such a hit, and EVERYONE ate it (all the guests plus my toddlers!). Definitely keeping this recipe, and will make again and again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RSL October 15, 2010

Wonderful the meet fell apart and the onions just kind of metled into the meet.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hprothero August 23, 2010
Pulled Pork (Crock Pot)