567 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My family LOVED this recipe!!! This is one of the BEST bbq sandwiches I have ever ate. I followed the recipe to the tee without any changes to ingrediants (except I could only find a 8lb roast, so I had to cook on high for 12 hrs) and it came out perfect. I see alot of people post ratings with ALOT of changes to the ingrediants, but I feel like if they do that, then they are not rating THIS recipe. But thats just my opinion. Great recipe AS IS, might try some the suggestions, but my rating is for the original. ;)

108 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
celimab4 January 31, 2011

Wow, about 99% of the reviews are not for THIS recipe. I actually made this recipe as instructed and thought it was fantastic. I didn't add liquid smoke, apple cider or anything as a substitute for the three ingredients listed. If I had, I would have written a review for THAT recipe. Haha

Anyways, try this one! It's great!

82 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cwolery October 31, 2011

This is our favorite method for pulled pork. A nice variation uses 1 cup apple cider vinegar 1 cup apple juice/cider 1 tsp liquid smoke instead of the ginger ale. Easy as 3.1415926

34 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doug Mc August 09, 2010

A keeper. Very easy to make. Lots of leftovers. Yum... I cooked it on high for 6 hours with a new crock pot by Crock Pot then another 2 hrs on low with the sauce. Meat fell off the bone and was easy to pull apart. We did not keep the onions because we do not like onions in this. We used the Sweet Baby Ray's bar-b-q sauce as stated because we had never tried it but it's too sweet for me so I might have to use Bandits' sauce next time. Very good. Thanks for sharing.

23 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maude1763 November 10, 2010

GREAT recipe for entertaining!!! I made this for a family birthday party and it worked perfectly, it was a hit! I like that it's a crock pot recipe which allowed me to spend time with guests instead of standing around the kitchen. I have a newer crock pot so I cooked the pork butt roast on low for exactly 9 hours and then shredded the meat. I put the meat back in the pot on low for about an hour and then switched the crock pot to warm for a few hours until it was time to eat. I put the other ingredients in exactly as called for and it was perfectly tender, not dry at all. Thanks for a great recipe!

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Betty Lovestoeat August 18, 2010

I have made this recipe many times. First I carmalized the onions, put pork on top, 1 can of budwis. beer, 1/4 cup vinager apple cider, 2 cups of apple juice. I used the baby rays sweetn' spicy bbq sauce for that little kick and 1/4 cup water or little less and it is to die for. Following the basic recipe that is posted cooking wise.

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shadow352 August 12, 2010

Love it. This has become one of our regular dishes, as we make it monthly. It is SO easy and a total hit with everyone I've shared it with so far. I find the recipe to be pretty forgiving too. I often cook the pork (cut in smaller sections) on high for approx 4-5 hours, add the BBQ sauce, and then cook for another hour or so on low. I am sure it is probably better when it is cooked longer on the low setting, but we have no problem enjoying it when using this quicker method. Thanks so much.

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loxycook December 08, 2010

This is the recipe my daughter-in-law makes and everyone always raves over it. I finally made it myself and couldn't believe how easy it was to make. I used COKE instead of ginger ale because that is what I had on hand. I cooked it about 11 1/2 hours then shredded and added BBQ sauce as directed but put into the fridge overnight. The next day I cooked it another 3 hours and it was to-die-for!! Ummm some good cole slaw on top would be the perfect sandwich. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!!

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammafishy August 11, 2010

Talk about an easy recipe! 268 good reviews don't lie--I followed directions, but utilized comments to shorten cooking time--overnight for 12 hours and about an hour more after adding the barbeque sauce. Turned out great. Thanks for a foolproof recipe.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers June 27, 2010

This is very good, but not quite as good as the one I make with Pepsi....but that could be because that is what I am used to. I cooked my pork butt on low for 10 hours, then shredded and added the barbecue sauce for 2 hours. It would have been overcooked and dry if I had cooked it longer. But I did cook in a newer crockpot.....I think if I'd made it in a cylinder shaped older crockpot, I'd need to cook it longer. But I also think the older models cook more evenly and would have kept it more moist. I love to do this when I can't smoke my pork butt on the grill, and it is wonderful to take to sell at little league concession stands and high school concession stands...stays hot and you can sell a lot of sandwiches!! Thanks for posting this.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom December 15, 2010
Pulled Pork (Crock Pot)