19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A very delicious sauce/rub (if you omit the A1 as i think its overpowering).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Azure Eyes April 26, 2012

As many times as I've made this recipe, I need to leave a review. This rub is delicious and I haven't made pork in my crock in years! My BF loves it and requests that I make it this way every time I talk about making pulled pork. The only thing I did differently was add a bottle of beer that I like (Columbus Pale Ale or Wheat Ale) around the pork before sticking it in the oven and I cover it for about 3 or 4 hours then uncover the rest of the cooking time. The outside is still dark and crispy, falls apart and is super moist! I don't make the BBQ sauce as we prefer sweet baby rays cola-q and just put some on top of our sandwiches.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wwatson86 January 23, 2015

I tried this because of all the great reviews, it was very good and I would make it again but BE WARNED !! this sauce is WAY TO SWEET !!! Unless you like eating pure sugar, the brown sugar and molasses should be cut in half,the sweetness killed the sauce it was horrible. But the base of the sauce was good, and if cut in half is wonderful! I am an expierenced cook but found this very easy although I put the pork in the crock pot and cooked it and then added the sauce. But Donna thank you because when the sugar is cut in half it is WONDERFUL !! Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carpi Diem June 12, 2011

Donna, Donna, Donna...thank you so very much for sharing such a wonderful recipe. It deserves 10 stars. I did the rub as written but I put it in the crock pot instead because there was a family emergency. When I got home, I added the sauce and shredded the pork. Wowwww!! Best sauce ever. Best pulled pork ever and I am such a picky eater. thanks again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB February 21, 2011

The only problem with this recipe is waiting the 6 hours with the scrumpious smell permeating the house. I generally make this on days I can be out doing yard work or outside on the deck while it cooks. Thanks for the recipe it is one of my all time favorites

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
farfam6 August 01, 2010

I'm only rating the sauce, but Wow, it was really good! I used it for pork ribs and got rave reviews. I just used the cheap pork ribs, slow cooked with steak seasoning and seasoning salt. I drained off the fat and basted the ribs with this sauce and put them back in the oven for 15 minutes. We then took them to my in-laws, where my BIL put the ribs on the BBQ and basted them with more sauce. Every person who ate them loved them! I'm getting ready to make the sauce again for pork strips slow cooked in the crock pot. This is definitely a keeper that I'm sure I'll be using often. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarlaM July 12, 2010

OMG!!! I have never made pulled anything BBQ before. The ratings for this recipe is why I chose this one. I had not ever made anything like this before. The directions were so easy to follow, the ingredients (yum) were easy. My only change is I used 3/4 of brown sugar and 3/4 of molasses for the sauce and 3/4 brown sugar for the rub. Just a fraction too sweet for me. My husband and children could not eat enough. We are limiting ourselves to fix it only once a month so as to not burn out on it. AWESOME!!! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tiggerkitti October 29, 2009

I quartered the rub recipe to put on some boneless country ribs I just threw in the crockpot. Boy were they spicy!!! I would probably use less cayenne next time because I've got wee ones who don't appreciate it as I do, but FANTASTIC flavor! I made a whole batch of the sauce and was very glad I did. Had a WONDERFUL flavor. We used this in a BBQ salad (lettuce, cheddar, bacon, cucumbers) that was tossed with a bit of the BBQ Sauce; my version of a salad at Famous Dave's BBQ joint. YUMMY! Thanks for a great recipe...I'll definitely use this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SandwichQueen August 12, 2009

I made this for my sons 30th birthday party. The guests thought it came from a local BBQ restarant that has the best BBQ in this area. Best BBQ recipe I have ever used.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NanaDiane April 03, 2009

I only made the rub minus the cayenne pepper for my pork roast and boy was it GOOD and very tender! I will make this often and try the sauce next time as well. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaec February 16, 2009
Pulled Pork BBQ, BBQ Rub, and BBQ Sauce