52 Reviews

This is a great recipe! I do have to recommend making more sauce, though. I used 2 chicken breasts (fairly normal sized) & needed to make more sauce (about 1/2 the recipe amount) to fully cover the chicken. I figured that if there was 2 much sauce, we could just use a slotted spoon to drain off any excess. I used all ketchup, and used hot taco sauce for the tabasco sauce. It was my husband's 4th of July meal & he went back for seconds! Thank u very much for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS July 09, 2013

This homemade BBQ sauce is so delicious and I love the fact that I don't have to deal with any chicken bones. Extremely easy to put together and it went very quickly in my house! Great recipe! I featured this recipe in my blog - http://danasfoodblog.com/?p=174.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DanaPNY June 15, 2013

This came out great. The second time I made this I added a half of a cup of Dr Pepper soda which I thought added a little extra flavor. Will make again

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucas_D_N January 15, 2011

Excellent! Added ½ a teaspoon of chili powder and ½ tsp of paprika and it was delicious. Reminded my mom of a BBQ place back home in Alabama.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blond one January 10, 2010

Amazing. I tried this recipe tonight and it came out great. I was short on time, so I did it on high for 3 hours. I'm sure it would taste even better slow and low, but it still came out tender and the amount of sauce was perfect. I didn't have any onion, so I just left it out and it was still very tasty. This is a keeper!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisagriswold1 September 30, 2009

I'm not a ketchup fan (even homemade), so I was pleasantly surprised by how good this recipe turned out. I assumed 3 chicken breasts meant one pound and I sextupled (X6) the recipe, cooked on high for 4 hours and low for 8. To us it tastes just like sloppy Joe's. Yum! I also used honey instead of molasses (didn't have any) and I am going to add this easy recipe to my "make at the lake" recipe box. I guess I'm going to start having ketchup around the house. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lclausen October 12, 2008

Wonderful! I used 4 chicken breast and doubled up on the sauce. The sauce did not thicken up as much as I had hoped, but the flavor was excellent! My husband ate it straight and I had mine on a bun. This recipe is so incredibly simple and so easy to serve! Thanks, justcallmetoni!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev May 03, 2008

I doubled this recipe so I would have leftovers to freeze. I was so excited when I tasted the sauce but it got quite watered down after cooking with the 6 breasts. Next time I will hold a little sauce back and add it in after I shred the chicken. Very good though! Oh and I took the advice of another poster and did half BBQ sauce and half ketchup. Heres a tip. I make my buns diner style, butter the inside and toast them in skillet. Makes a big difference.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jameswife24 April 21, 2008

This made a delicious meal to come home to. The meat was fall-apart tender and the flavor of the sauce was excellent. I didn't change a thing and my whole family loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 August 15, 2007

Hi, could some clarify for me if this recipes is calling for 3 full chicken breasts (both halves) or for 3 chicken breast halves? I'd appreciate any help because I'm planning on quadrupling it for a party. Because this is a question, I gave the recipes five stars so I wouldn't pull its rating down. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zaarina November 12, 2015
Pulled Chicken Sandwiches (Crock Pot)