49 Reviews

I do a 50/50 breakdown with ketchup and bbq sauce because we like things spicy. I am also quite liberal with the seasonings. Other than that, I make this as is. It had not only become my go-to omg-what-are-we-going-to-have-for-dinner-tomorrow meal, but a great meal to home to after a hike with the BF or a whole group of friends. Well done.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JennyLynn99 August 18, 2010

this was fantastic...i actually made it for my wedding and it was a huge hit...i did add a lil bbq sauce for extra flavoring as well as lemon pepper...was a lil watery so i put paper towels under the lid and it sucked up all the moisture! fantastic and will def make it again

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angie20094 May 09, 2010

This was really great! I read the reviews and did 1/2 ketchup and 1/2 BBQ (Jack Daniels BBQ). I also threw the chicken in while it wasa still frozen and it came out really nicely. I did leave the top off for a little while to thicken the sauce up (probably from the frozen chicken). Over all a really great recipe I will do this one again!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheRushinChef January 09, 2010

We really liked this recipe. The only change I made was that I used brown sugar instead of molasses since I was out of it. I liked the fact that the chicken wasn't drowning in sauce. It was just enough. We topped the sandwiches with cole slaw. Mmmm. Thanks for the recipe. We'll be making it again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelly Morton August 23, 2008

Turned out AMAZING! I've tried a lot of sauces and this one is the best and a "keeper" recipe. I must comment, I think I goofed up and did a 2 serving portion, but put in 1 cup of ketchup. I'll have to try it with 1c and double everything. As I said, the sauce is a keeper and this would be baseline. If you want spicier, add a little more Tabasco or your favorite hot sauce (mine is Blair's - Widow Maker). If you want more smoke, add a little liquid smoke. If you want sweeter, add orange juice or apricot preserves (I use Smucker's). If you want more bitter, try orang zest. I'd like to try it with a little Bourbeon, so will add a little Jim Beam to the next batch. Anyway, just slow cooked the chicken covered in water with onions on bottom, drain, add BBQ sauce and back in the slow cooker for a spell. Perfect. Thank you soo much for the sauce. A key item and most recipes suck because people don't give up the goods. Thank you soo much!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
equinox1971 March 01, 2014

Doubles easily in a 4qt crock-pot, I like that this isn't an unnecessary amount of sauce - seems to make just the right amount of BBQ. A double batch made 24 small dinner roll sandwiches, with some extra chicken leftover. I also used half bbq sauce, half ketchup as a few reviewers have noted, which gave it a nice smokey flavor.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI January 03, 2012

I wanted to LOVE this recipe, but I needed to make some changes. My kids LOVE pulled sandwiches (pork or chicken), but I have never attempted to make them myself so this was my first attempt. The sauce was VERY tart and vinegary (like the description), and it was a bit much for my taste. I had to add some Sweet Baby Ray's and some brown sugar before serving it. I will make again, but I will tweak it to my families liking. The chicken turned out wonderful, and as for the sauce being too watery, it did not seem to matter as all of the flavor was throughout the meat.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nickie409 December 11, 2010

I like that is was not too saucy. A bit sweet for my taste though so I will reduce the molasses. I was looking for a more tangy flavor. I cooked on high for 4 hours. My husband loved it and I look forward to converting the leftovers into bbq chicken nachos tonight!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
learningangie October 21, 2013

Oh my goodness, this is wonderfu! I did not have molasses so used brown sugar, and half ketsup and half sweet baby rays. Other than that............heave an on a bun. My husband was so impressed! LOVe LOve Love......<br/>This is a keeper for sure!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ldyzcookin July 14, 2013

This is a great recipe! I do have to recommend making more sauce, though. I used 2 chicken breasts (fairly normal sized) & needed to make more sauce (about 1/2 the recipe amount) to fully cover the chicken. I figured that if there was 2 much sauce, we could just use a slotted spoon to drain off any excess. I used all ketchup, and used hot taco sauce for the tabasco sauce. It was my husband's 4th of July meal & he went back for seconds! Thank u very much for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS July 09, 2013
Pulled Chicken Sandwiches (Crock Pot)