15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good. I got lots and lots of compliments--all from the one person I served it to. I used 4 chicken thighs half frozen for two people, and cooked on low for 6 hours. Around 4 hours I pulled the meat off the bone, then an hour before serving I made sure to shred it up real good. I reduced the brown sugar since other reviewers said they didn't like it, but I hardly noticed the taste so I'll probably use the full amount next time. Since my husband gets off late, I added a bit more of the mixture and let the meat stay in there for two more hours (after the six).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bake Em N Take Em July 07, 2011

Easy recipe and tasty! Only thing I would change is definitely not going over 6 hours on low or increase the amount of chicken in the pot. I did about 7 hrs on low and then the "warm" setting for another hour or two - not much sauce left and chicken not too tender. In any case, the flavor was good and we still ate it all up! So I would give it another try with some adjustments.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drchantel June 11, 2011

Very good! And quite easy!! Turned the leftover into BBQ Chicken Pizza!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmcquaide July 08, 2013

I liked it but too tangy for DH but that might have been the brand of BBQ sauce (Sweet Baby Ray's). Also I didn't have Italian so used Sweet Vidalia Onion. Had to chop the chicken, not shred because it was tough (old hens) so the texture was not quite right.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc December 13, 2012

LOVE this recipe! I use Jack Daniel's brown sugar bbq sauce, and figured out the first time that it's a good idea to reduce the amount of brown sugar that I put in. In any case, it's a tasty, easy meal that doesn't take a lot of time to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilvorpalbunny December 10, 2011

This comes out very tasty. Only thing I add are some ringed onions, they soak up the flavor quite nicely.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DividedBlue_EyedSky November 20, 2011

This is such an easy & tasty dish! I had to make enough for 70 people so I loved how I could change the serving size number & it adjusted the amount of ingredients needed! I used two crockpots going at the same time, doing batches of about 6 chicken breasts each. Took all day & overnight to make enough but turned out great!! Looking forward to making this again, but in a smaller amount :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandymoon83 February 05, 2011

This was a tasty recipe and went over quite well with the family. Smelled delicious while cooking and was certainly an easy to make! Will be a must have when we are short on time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J_Malooly August 08, 2010

This went over really well with my dad and 8 year old. Mom doesn't like BBQ all that much, so I wasn't anticipating good reviews there! HA! Love the fact that it uses frozen chicken and I actually tossed in some legs and wings that I had frozen last month as well as the boneless skinless. Made for a nice dinner served on hamburger buns with homemade coleslaw and oven fried potato wedges. Will definitely make again! Oh, and I too will cut back the brown sugar a bit, but that's probably more to do with the BBQ sauce that I used. Thanks so much! Keep 'em coming!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SmoochTheCook June 01, 2010
Pulled BBQ Chicken - Slow Cooker