Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pull-Apart MONKEY BREAD Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pull-Apart MONKEY BREAD

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on August 29, 2002

      This was so easy to make and my family really loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2002

      I fixed this for a Hispanic family. Everyone enjoyed it & I even passed on the recipe to someone. I fixed it the nite before, refrigerated it & let it sit out for about 1 hour. Even then it was still chewy inside each bite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      MAJOR NOMMAGE! Wow, we couldn't keep our paws off this delicious and easy snack. I used finely chopped pistachios for the optional nuts and halved the recipe, using a round medium-sized Pyrex dish as it's all I have that's semi-suitable. I think I cooked it a bit too long, forgetting to take into account that the mass was significantly smaller than the original recipe, but it was still absolutely divine as is. Parts of the buttery sugar caramelized and turned crunchy and... well, SINFUL, despite what my lame photograph of the yummy lumpage depicts. *lol* Thank you so much for this great guilty pleasure, Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2008

      Fabulous and easy. I agree with Lulu... it takes a bit longer than 15 minutes. I had mixed the nuts and sugar and cinnamon up the night before (in a ziploc bag which made coating the biscuits and cleanup easy!) and baked the bread the next morning. It took about 5 minutes per can of biscuits bearing in mind that I cut them in half so that added a bit of time. I made a couple of adjustments to the recipe: Used 2 teaspoons of cinnamon because I like LOTS of cinnamon flavor and this just didn't quite seem like enough. Also, I cut the biscuits in half so I could capture more of the cinnamon mixture and this seemed just perfect. I used pecans for the nuts. Also, I'm a sucker for a glaze so mixed one up with 2 T. melted butter, 1 T. plus 1 teasp. hot water, 1 teasp. vanilla and one cup of powdered sugar. Mixed this all together in a pyrex measuring cup (in which I had melted the butter in the microwave) then drizzled it all over the bread after it was baked and removed to a serving plate. YUM!! Baked it in a tube pan for 45 minutes and it came out perfect. Can I just say that this was an absolute hit at work this morning? I brought it in for my department and noticed some "outsiders" coming into our area for no "apparent" reason! Ha! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2004

      D'Lish us...I made it with only one can of biscuits. I put it into a very small casserole dish I have and it was great. I let it cook for about 15 minutes. Next time I will make an icing to top it. This is a great quick dish to serve at a brunch or potluck. I definately will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2003

      This recipe is fantastic. To make it easier, put the cinnamon/sugar mixture in a plastic bag, quarter the dough and toss in the bag. It's less mess and takes a lot less time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2011

      This was such a wonderful breadfast for us. I did add a pkg of butterscotch pudding to the cinnamon sugar mixture (something my mom always did) but otherwise followed your recipe. My family loved it. Thank you for sharing a family memory with us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2007

      This was a huge hit with my kids as an after-school snack. Sweet but substantial enough to keep them going till supper. One caution: I used a tube pan, and ended up with a lot of the "syrup" on the bottom of my oven. Next time I make these, I will use a bundt pan. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2007

      I used 1 can of biscuits-enough for the two of us. I baked it in a 1-qt. pyrex bowl, which was perfect. I was amazed that they did get syrupy- looking just like birdybaker's picture. The center pieces were not coated, but it wasn't dry. I watched it carefully in the oven, and removed when the top was medium brown and still seemed a little squishy when I pressed on it. The result was that perfect almost-doughy-but-not-quite texture!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2007

      I have this recipe five stars, but I did change it. Here are my changes....I don't own a bundt or tube pan so I used a deep dish pie pan. I used 2 cans of the cheapest biscuits, 1 cup of sugar and 1 tblspn of cinnamon. It came out wonderful and my kids and hubby gobbled it up. Thanks for the recipe, it will be a staple in our house!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2014

      I put 20 biscuits coated with brown sugar, cinnamon, and chopped peanuts and cashews into my bundt pan, formed two layers and baked for 30 minutes. The outside turned crispy. It's probably because I baked them for a little too long, but over all, this is a fantastic snack for a crowd. With some coconut icing, I can imagine this to be a BOMB!!!! Great recipe and so easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2011

      Made this for my family and they have now demand it at least once a week. Thanks for this yummy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      Delicious! We halved everything and baked for 25 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      The time on this was WAY off for me. I got up early and threw this together for breakfast. I checked it at 25 minutes and it seemed done to me, but I figured maybe the ones on the bottom needed more time. I let it go to 35 and it was burned to a blackened crisp on the outside. We could still eat the inside, but I'd suggest checking it long before 45 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      took longer than 15 minutes to prepare. the top and bottom sections were baked and browned after 40 minutes at 375, but not the middle section. maybe because i used a tube pan versus a bundt pan? or, maybe because the biscuits were rolled instead of cut into 4 sections each as noted in other recipes. my family loved it, but i plan on experimenting the next time so all the biscuits are baked throughout. i served right from the pan onto plates with vanilla ice cream. my hubby and sons did enjoy it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      Very easy, and fun for the kids to help with. They loved the name too! Thanks alot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      this is very good with dried cranberries and orange zest !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      Thanks, came out great! Everyone wanted it and I couldn't remember the recipe. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

    • on October 14, 2006

      This was very easy, but mine burned at the bottom where the excess butter and sugar had collected (I guess it ran down?) and became rock like. Next time, I will cook it for about 40 min to see if that helps. The ones at the top tasted great though. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pull-Apart MONKEY BREAD

    Serving Size: 1 (136 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 479.3
     
    Calories from Fat 206
    43%
    Total Fat 22.9 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 9.3 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 25.3 mg
    8%
    Sodium 1062.7 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.5 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 27.2 g
    109%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites