Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Puffy Oven Pancake or "Hootin' Annies" Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Puffy Oven Pancake or "Hootin' Annies"

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on September 04, 2006

      I was first introduced to this when I first got married from a church cookbook. This is a great breakfast. I put butter on while it is hot and sprinkle powdered sugar on top...MMMMMMMM!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2003

      My husband likes this recipe but i don't care for it. It is more like a thick crepe, every eggy. I cooked it twice and both time it stuck to the bottom of the pan. I think IF I make this again i will not use the butter but start with a cold baking dish and spray it with pam.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      A super-easy tasty breakfast, great for company. We had it with honey and homemade applesauce. It served 3 adults and two young children. A big hit! It will definitely go in the repertoire.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2010

      This is a favorite for me. I LOVE to put vanilla yogurt and strawberries on it. It is soooo good! I feel it is a fairly healthy breakfast too - Filled with protein. I cut the butter down to 4 T to cut down some of the fat content.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      Worked really well. The result is eggy and buttery tasting, perfect with warm Freezer Apple Pie Filling - OAMC or maple syrup. Next time I'll try it with lemon juice and powdered sugar, too. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      I loved how this puffed up on the sides, but I felt that the middle seemed too "flat." My husband thought it had 3 distinct textures and he never knew what he was going to get in each bite. The directions weren't clear on how much to mix it, so maybe that was my problem. I don't like eggs, so I used Minta's suggestion of increasing the flour and milk. We flavored it with butter, powdered sugar, and maple syrup. We won't do this often, but I do think it will be something different to do once in a while.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      Beautiful texture - pleased the whole family. I will double next time for family of 5. Delicious with powdered sugar or maple syrup. Similar flavor to French Toast. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      We LLLLOVE this recipe and make it often! Betty Crocker's suggestion is to serve it as the Germans do... with lemon juice and powdered sugar. Yum! Thanks for posting a family favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      This made a great breakfast for hubby and me this morning!! He just loved it and asked me to make it often. Also thinks it will be great for Thanksgiving breakfast when we have family here. Fix some bacon and/or sausage, some fresh OJ and brew up some hot coffee...mmmm what a way to start the day!! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

    • on October 08, 2006

      This is a great recipe!! Easy, fun and loaded with taste!! It's a favorite in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2006

      This is nearly identical to my mother's recipe for German Pancakes. This was one of my favorite breakfasts as a child - and still is - and it's one of my husband's and son's favorites now. I love it with butter and powdered sugar, my husband likes to pour maple syrup over it, and my son likes it with maple syrup or dipped into applesauce (or both!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2004

      I was looking for a puffy pancake. This was way to eggy to be considered a pancake. I also had a lot of problems with it sticking to the pan. I don't think I will be making this dish very much if at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2004

      We are converts to the oven baked pancake and this recipe did not let us down. DH likes lime juice and honey on his; I prefer golden syrup or treacle or even apple sauce. The timing is about right. Just watch small ovens - you may want to take a look in at the10-12 minutes mark and maybe place some foil loosely over the top to stop burning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2003

      Also known as "Dutch Babies" to some ('Dutch' being the Americanized 'Deutsch') -- great with powdered sugar and lemon juice or powdered sugar and jam. Really good for a Sunday dinner. :) If you DON'T start with a hot dish, you will not get the puffiness. I use an iron skillet, and decrease the oven temperature to 400 or 425. I love it like it is -- but if you are one who thinks it is 'too eggy', you can increase the flour and the milk by one-half cup, each.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Puffy Oven Pancake or "Hootin' Annies"

    Serving Size: 1 (756 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 275.1
     
    Calories from Fat 161
    58%
    Total Fat 17.9 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 9.8 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 222.2 mg
    74%
    Sodium 289.6 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 9.8 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites