42 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is, by far, the best French Toast I've ever had! I grew up on ole "fried bread", but, it sure never tasted like this! Really, really good, Angelfan. Thanks for posting a winner! LC

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laudee December 22, 2002

Me and my husband loved this. I used half whole wheat half enriched white flour, vanilla soy milk, splenda instead of sugar, egg beaters, and whole wheat bread. This was a yummy addition to our weekend big breakfast! Thank you for the recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jamb August 10, 2003

This French Toast is absolutely amazing! We loved it! Sort of a cross between French toast and pancakes. Tastes great with the hint of cinnamon and nutmeg, and it's so sweet that I hardly needed any syrup. I just wish I could figure out how to cut this recipe in half (how do you divide an egg?) since there's only two of us. I would give this recipe 6 stars if I could! UPDATE: Made this again using only half the sugar -- it was still great, so I think I'll make it like this in the future. I may even try using half whole wheat flour.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cpenner July 12, 2003

I thought that the batter for the french toast was way too thick. However, the taste is wonderful. I will try this again and use half the flour and report back on the results.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie May 16, 2003

Very nice! An excellent recipe for thinner bread that would otherwise fall apart while making french toast. I halved the recipe, but still used one whole egg, and it worked beautifully.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CassiaDawn August 18, 2010

I hava a similar recipe at home that uses a pancake mix instead of flour. We liked this one much better. Even though it is more of a batter, the coating is not that thick, and you don't end up with soggy french toast. This is a winner, and the way I'll make my french toast from now on. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
october sky September 29, 2009

Not really to our liking we found. Easy recipe to follow, and although we enjoyed the results, I wouldn't make again...we missed the lightness of French toast dipped in egg and milk. This one is dense and heavier, understandable with the thick batter. Glad I made it, however, because I do like trying things in new and different ways. Thanks, angelfan.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
woodland hues May 19, 2008

We liked the flavor on this, and I would have given it 5 stars, but I had a hard time with the appearance. It browned up just like a pancake, so it really did look more like a pancake and taste like french toast. Also, the batter ran down the toast a little, while cooking the first side, so that it literally was a piece of square piece of french toast with a round pancake sitting on top of it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup September 09, 2006

This recipe is wonderful. Absolutely perfect for a special breakfast. After discovering this one, it's going to be a long time before I try a different French toast recipe. I followed the recipe exactly. And I served it with warm homemade strawberry syrup, sprinkled with powdered sugar.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki G. May 09, 2003

This is NOT your run of the meal French toast, it's soooooo much better. Puffy is right, I made as directed with only one small addition of 1 teaspoon of vanilla and it was perfect. Topped with powdered sugar, butter and warm maple syrup - YUM!!! This has become my new go to recipe, so glad you posted AND I chose it to make.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 July 31, 2013
Puffy French Toast