Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Puffed Wheat Squares Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Puffed Wheat Squares

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on April 21, 2003

      I've been making this recipe for years. Always a kid pleaser. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2004

      DH loves Puffed Wheat Cake, so this was an automatic hit in our house. Although a do agree that 1 tsp. is not enough cocoa. I added 2 heaping tbsp. This was a nice soft and chewy square and will be made often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2012

      I wanted to use up some puffed millet, so I made a half a batch. 1 heaping teaspoon of cocoa to the half batch made a nice subtle flavor. I used sugar syrup leftover from another recipe in place of the corn syrup. They stuck together "loosely" but well enough to enjoy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      I bought puffed cereal on sale, and thought my little ones would like it (I always hated it, but...) anyhow, they screamed for their oatmeal, and spit it out, and threw it on the floor. Needless to say, nobody was happy. I hate to throw away food and found this recipe. Sprinkles make almost anything taste better to my kids (must be the lack of junk food), anyhow, this kinda reminds me of popcorn balls, and no worries about those 4 bags of cereal getting used up. Skipped the chocolate, and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and added some stevia instead. Seems to be fine. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      Great squares, I used 2 tablespoons of cocoa and it was the perfect amount! They disappeared so fast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      I made a half batch today with puffed rice instead. i added one tablespoon of cocoa powder, so it has a slight chocolate taste. they came out very crispy, but were a little too sweet for me. i also used dark corn syrup, but next time i will try light for a slightly less caramel taste. i cut them as soon as i pressed them flat. in fact, i think i could probably have added more cereal and it still would have held together fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      It was fabules!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      Loved it! I remember this from my youth and was surprised when I bought the puffed wheat cereal that there wasn't a recipe on the back for these (thought, for sure, there would be!). This recipe was even better than I ever remember them tasting! I added 2.5 tbsp of cocoa for an extra-chocolaty taste and a sprinkle of cinnamon to the syrup mixture. My 20 month old DD was crazy about the squares! I can't wait to try them with colorful sprinkles next time! Thank you for the post; it's a hit with our family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2006

      I was excited to make this recipe since as a child we often ate this as a treat. I too added more cocoa for more of a chocolate taste. I was disappointed in the out come since I followed the recipe to a "T" although I did reduce the heat since it looked to be too much of a rapid boil. The batch I made broke into pieces as I tried to cut them. I will make them again however adjusting the heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2005

      Great snack squares with a sweet caramel flavor. I omitted the cocoa and used Sugar Smacks (sweetened puffed wheat cereal). Would suggest cutting these just after they cool, they were very difficult to cut after a few hours. I'd never heard of these yummy treats. Can't wait to try the chocolate version. Thnaks, Pamela!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2004

      Although everry prairie kid i western Canada seems to enjoy these, they're not well known in Eastern Canada. Reading comments from other chefs, I will note that the recipe I use has 2 TBS cocoa. I haven't tried this version yet, but I will soon, and will post my recipe soon. Any version of this recipe has always been a hit in any community where I have lived.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2004

      I love Puffed wheat and made this for my ladies at work, Great healhty snack. I made it without the cocoa and it was delish. Much better than Rice Crispy Treats. A keeper for sure. Maybe Puffed Rice the next time

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2004

      Found that 1 teaspoon of cocoa didn't sound like much, even three didn't make it chocolatey enough for my tastes. Other recipes call for 4 tablespoons. I'd try that if wanting a chocolate square.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Puffed Wheat Squares

    Serving Size: 1 (611 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2257.7
     
    Calories from Fat 424
    18%
    Total Fat 47.1 g
    72%
    Saturated Fat 29.3 g
    146%
    Cholesterol 122.0 mg
    40%
    Sodium 475.6 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 469.4 g
    156%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    16%
    Sugars 275.3 g
    1101%
    Protein 14.8 g
    29%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites