Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Puerto Rican Style Pernil (Roast Pork) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Puerto Rican Style Pernil (Roast Pork)

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on December 17, 2008

      this is a great recipe, the trick I use for crispy skin (chicharron) IS dont turn it, LEAVE IT ALONE). i DONT USE SAZON, I MAKE A PASTE OF THE SEASONING WITH 3 TBPS OF OIL. IS SOOO GOOD.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2003

      I made this recipe exactly as posted although I did fear that the meat would be tough and dry from the long cooking in the oven. NOT! It was tender and delicious. At one point in the cooking process, I stepped outside to walk down to the mailbox, and when I came back into the house - WOW - what an aroma! I sliced this very thin and will use the leftovers for sandwiches. (FYI - for those of you intolerant of MSG, there is some of that in the Sazon seasoning - just so you are aware.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      Awesome basic recipe! The great thing about this recipe is that you can continue to add ingredients that you love! I added green stuffed olives, basil, thyme, olive oil, sazon, adobo, black pepper, a touch of honey and cayenne pepper...words cannot explain it! My fiance is from Colombia and he hinted that even his mothers recipe had some competition now! I found no need for foil like the other reviews--the hard crust is like a fantastic chicarron! Thankyou so much ~j4~!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2003

      jb4, I also though this would be a good crockpot recipe,so I used my crockpot and it was delicious.And I too just bought my first Adobo Seasoning, I wasn't sure I would know what to use it on so I looked up recipes on zaar and yours was one I decided to use. Thanks for a wonderful sunday dinner. Darlene Summers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2003

      The 2 men in my family loved it. My son is an executive chef and he really liked it. It was the first time that I used Hispanic seasonings but it will most certainly not be the last. Best pork roast that we have ever eaten.BTW, I cooked it in a crock pot because it was partially frozen. Came out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      Yummmmmmmm! The flavor was amazing!!! I know I didn't do it right, because I just used a pork roast and cooked it in the crock pot with about an inch of white wine in the bottom, but I did everything else the same and wow! It was just a tad dry but the flavor made up for it, especially sloshing it around in the wine/broth at the bottom of the pot first :) This is going to be a repeat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      I made 5 Pernils for christmas (had a huge family come over) and they turned out great! The skin was nice and crispy and the meat was very moist.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      This has been a big hit. I have made it twice, and it's scrumptious! We just used it as a pulled pork for little slider sandwiches at the lst event, and everyone loved it. 1st time I made it with the Sazon Goya, and some Emerils Southwest spice....which was delicious too. Followed the recipe to a tee this last time, and it was great....Thanks for a simple and delicious pork roast recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      This was a delicious way of preparing a pork shoulder. My whole family loved it. I only had a 4.5 pound shoulder, so I seasoned it according to the recipe and then cooked it for 3 hrs at 350 degrees in a covered dish with a little water in the bottom. What great flavor! I am going to make a red-eye gravy with the drippings to go with the left-overs tomorrow. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      So Good!! Have not had a pork roast in a long time since my memories are of dry pork with applesauce thrown on to moisten. My roast was on the smaller side so it took about 4 hours. This was juicy & tender and the garlic mixture stuffed in the meat along with the rub made this one of the tastiest pork roasts we've ever had. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2007

      I can't get over how delicious, easy and inexpensive this recipe was! That's the makings for 5 stars as far as I'm concerned. It turns out juicy and oooh so tasty!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2007

      I made this unbelievable roast pork (pernil) for my Puerto Rican partner's family. Served it with "Authentic Puerto Rican Red Beans" (Authentic Puerto Rican Rice and Beans) and rice. To say the least, everyone was very impressed. Muchas Gracias!! Al

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2006

      This roast was wonderful. I seasoned in the AM and let marinate all day in the frig. I did tent it with foil for half the cooking time. It was tender and delicious. I served it with a Zucchini Casserole #19840 and Black Beans and Rice. I seasoned my black beans with Sofrito, #109425, which I had made several weeks ago and frozen. Excellent meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2005

      i made this with a boneless tied 4 lb shoulder. i used double the spice mix and rubbed it in, cooked on convection roast at 325 for 2 hours and 300 for 2 hours more. this had a lovely spicy crust and was fork tender on the inside, even better than the pernil we just had in puerto rico. i served this with red beans and rice, and the next day i made cuban sandwiches with the leftovers.!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2004

      This is a really great recipe, however I have some extras you can add in to make this a real winner. (This is not for the health aware!) Mix all the dry ingredients (garlic, salt, adobo, sason) into a small tub of butter. Also mash about 10 cloves of garlic into this mixture for extra flavor cause you really cant overdue on flavor with this recipe. Then cut the large slits deep into the meat and put your flavored butter mixture into the meat. Sprinkle more adobo and sason on outside of meat. The butter will give extra flavor and make the meat just fall apart in shreads. Its the best!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2004

      I've made this recipe many times and it is one of the best pork recipes i've ever tasted! The meat comes out tender and juicy and very flavorful. It's a real keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2003

      The roast pork turned our amazing! I didn't think I was going to survive the day smelling how wonderful it was, and when it was finally out of the oven I had to pull a piece off and I couldn't believe it, it was amazing, the best pork I have ever had and I have had alot, we used it last night for cuban sandwiches and oh man!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2003

      Fabulous recipe. Meat was tender and fell off the bone. I made this in the oven, but may try the crockpot next time. thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2003

      Very, very good and worth the time to make it!!!! It is extremely rich and flavorful!!! Thank you jb4 for a terrific recipe!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2014

      This was real tasty!!!! Both my hubby and mom enjoyed it. I followed the recipe as written as it was my first time using a couple of the seasonings called for in this recipe. Over all the flavor was what I was hoping for and it was not difficult to put together. Note: I did season and refrigerate the roast the day before. I have found that this technique works well to obtain max flavor....especially with larger cuts of meat. Thanks for sharing ~jb4~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Puerto Rican Style Pernil (Roast Pork)

    Serving Size: 1 (229 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 896.7
     
    Calories from Fat 612
    68%
    Total Fat 68.0 g
    104%
    Saturated Fat 23.5 g
    117%
    Cholesterol 268.3 mg
    89%
    Sodium 633.8 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 65.1 g
    130%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sazon goya

    adobo seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites