Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Puerto Rican Rice and Beans (Pink Beans) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Puerto Rican Rice and Beans (Pink Beans)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on November 27, 2012

      My fiance is Puerto Rican, and so our daughter is obviously half Puerto Rican. I find myself striving to make Puerto Rican dishes to perfection, I even made Coquito last Christmas and I will be making it again this year! (My fiance isn't even home to try all this stuff that I'm making for him!) But, I'd rather practice while he's locked up so that when he comes home he'll be surprised. Anyway... this recipe was BY FAR the best recipe I've tried yet! The inlaws never gave me recipes because they all have it in their memories! So, this recipe will be used in our house over and over now because it's amazing! I changed a little though, like 2 potatoes, I didn't have Sofrito but I had Recaito and I added an onion. It was delicious!!! Thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      Everyone loved this dish tonight! So easy and flavorful-probably the best beans I've made! Only change I made was to simmer w/o the lid to make a thick sauce. I love the olives-no need for added salt. Thank you, Michelle, for a DELICIOUS recipe! Made for the Think Pink Tag Game In Honor of Breast Cancer Awareness, October 2008.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2006

      I made this tonite for dinner and enjoyed it. I'm familiar with Puerto Rican dishes because my son's father is PR himself:).. I missed the sprinkle of adobo and garlic powder even though I know you do use minced garlic. Other than that, a good recipe! But I would omit the water next time, just personal preference. This will be made again though. Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2014

    • on December 20, 2013

      Great recipe! I kept going off the goya can on how to make rice and beans. I wanted something more like how my family would do it and found this. Soooo good! Very easy to make as well. Also great if you a college student.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2013

      Awesome recipe. Quick and Tasty. If you don't have the ham, I use the Goya " Sabor a Jamon De Cocinar." same awesome taste of the ham, only in a powder. Can use 1 packet for 2, even three cans of beans. And if you want it quick, use can potatoes. Also good and quick. M.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2012

      Family just returned from San Juan, and loved the cusine! My eldest son loved the PR rice and beans. He thought these were exactly right! I used kidney beans, but prefer the pink beans if I can only find them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2012

      It doesn't get any better than this. Thanks or sharing. Now I'm gonna search to see if you have more recipes posted. Yum, yum. These are probably the best beans I've had. You even outdid my puerto rican abuelita. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2011

      Absolutely fabulous! My husband had this when he was stationed in Puerto Rico so I surprised him with this recipe. He said it was BETTER then what he had. He absolutely loved it. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      great recipe. very flavorful. we don't eat pork products, so omitted the ham. thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      Delicious!! I've made these twice already, thanks so much for the recipe! I know I'll be making them with every Spanish-themed food night in the future :).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      Oh my.....this is wonderful!!!! I followed your instructions exactly (even serving the avocado slices with it). Hubby insists that I make this again. This is such a easy meal to prepare yet a full flavored dish that makes you feel good all over. Thanks for sharing, Michelle Bass.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Puerto Rican Rice and Beans (Pink Beans)

    Serving Size: 1 (229 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 407.4
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    18%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 9.1 mg
    3%
    Sodium 650.3 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 65.7 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 7.2 g
    29%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 17.1 g
    34%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sofrito sauce

    recaito

    sazon goya

    manzanilla olives

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes