Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Puerto Rican Red Beans and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Puerto Rican Red Beans and Rice

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on December 04, 2002

      Just as your family got hooked, so did mine. I love this dish, it is authentic, easy to make, and the left overs are fantastic. Once again, when I heated up my lunch at work, my co-workers, enticed by the aroma, gathered around to see what I was eating. If you like spice, try this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2013

      Excellent, easy to make and the flavor is equal to what is served at restaurants here in Puerto Rico.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2013

      Good stuff! I changed the recipe up a bit to make it vegan and didn't sacrifice any flavor...used a soy chorizo and then used a couple tablespoons of vegan bacon bits instead of ham which provided that smoky flavor. In the end I added I can of diced tomatoes. . .juice and all. It tasted a lot like my chorizo chili which I love.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2012

      I made the following changes from the original: First, I cooked the rice in a rice cooker with chicken broth, cilantro, 1 tsp of onion flakes and 2 tsp of lime juice. I used black beans, left out the bell pepper and tabasco, and replaced the ham with diced chicken lunchmeat. I used a whole pkg of chorizo and it was a bit spicy. Next time I would cut the amount of chorizo to 2/3 of a pkg. We loved this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      This was okay, but I really like Cajun spiced red beans and rice much better. This makes an enormous amount of food. Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2011

      Very nice, easy dish! A few mods... use two cans of beans... use some sort of chicken or turkey smoked sausage. I also add corn towards the end and sprinkle Mexican cheese on top. I also omit the Tabasco and just put the bottle on the table so everybody can spice as they please.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      Quite nice. Wife and kid loved it. I used Lousiana Hot Sauce instead of Tabasco. Was pretty mild. Definite addition to the permanent cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      It was fine. We weren't ecstatic about the recipe, but perhaps that was because I left out the chorizo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      Delicious version that blew my old recipe out of the water. I really enjoyed the flavor of the rice after it cooked in with the other ingredients. I did cut down on the Tabasco however (2 tsp), afraid my daughter might not eat it if too spicy. It was very mild this way but still had plenty of flavor. For the meat, I did not add the optional chorizo, but rather used some lean smoked turkey sausage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      My wife doesn't do well with tomatoes, so I did this recipe as printed except that I just plain left out the can of tomato sauce. It was still great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      My daughter (the cook in our family) made this a few nights ago. We all loved it so much that she made it three times week! She even added extra onions and bell peppers. She doesn't always use exact messurements, but it still turned out excellent. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      THANK YOU!!!! this was a great recipe! My husband is Puerto Rican and I've only ever made white rice w/red beans or the yellow rice w/garbanzo beans. boring!! today was his birthday & I wanted to surprise him with a traditional PR dish... and he LOVED it!! I added shrimp also since he & my kids love it. Everyone enjoyed it - he told me to make sure I saved the recipe to make it again!!! thanks again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      I made this as written, aside from omitting the meat. My whole family devoured it. DH and 7 year old asked for thirds even. The only piece of advice I'd offer is, if anyone else makes it without like I did, to add some salt. I know this should have been common sense since I left the ham out, but it didn't dawn on me lol. I will absolutely be having this again though, thanks so much true!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      Wonderful! This took my husband right back to Puerto Rico where he spent time while in the Navy. I used 2 cans of red beans and 2 8oz cans of tomato sauce, 2 cups water and 2 cups chicken broth. Did not cook with the Tabasco, but let everyone spice it to their taste at the table. We will make this weekly from now on! Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      This is very good and I didn't think it was too spicey. It had just the right amount of "kick" to it. The only change I made was to use 2 15-1/2-ounce cans of beans and a 15-ounce can of tomato sauce. I made it the way the recipe stated, but after tasting, I felt it needed more beans and a little more sauce. It turned out great! Thanks for sharing! UPDATE: I had to up this to 5 stars. This is truly the best rice and bean recipe I've tried so far. Thanks again for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2008

      I was making fajitas and thought I'd try and make some rice and beans to go with... I am not of the Puerto Rican decent but I love spicy foods and I thought your recipe was wonderful. It's got just enough kick. I didn't have any chorizo sausage handy so I just used ham from the ham bone at Easter. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2006

      DH requested red beans and rice the other night, and never having made them, I of course turned to 'Zaar. I decided to go with this recipe after reading several as it sounded yummy. And I wasn't wrong! The only thing I did different was to use smoked sausage instead of the ham, and I cut way back on the Tabasco (which I was glad I did). I added a little chicken stock to the whole mixture to create more of a sauce since I made steamed rice to put it over, instead of mixing the rice in the same pot (DH's request). We both really enjoyed it - it has great flavors and it so simple to make! I'll be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2003

      Excellent dish. I cut back on the Tabasco sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Puerto Rican Red Beans and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (378 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 726.2
     
    Calories from Fat 149
    20%
    Total Fat 16.5 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 30.2 mg
    10%
    Sodium 1173.5 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 113.4 g
    37%
    Dietary Fiber 14.1 g
    56%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 29.8 g
    59%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites