Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Puerco Perdigado Con Chile Rojo (Braised Pork With Red Chile Sau Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Puerco Perdigado Con Chile Rojo (Braised Pork With Red Chile Sau

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on March 11, 2007

      Oh my goodness! This is a fabulous, multi-purpose recipe! I had permission from cookiedog to try this in the crockpot so that's exactly what I did. I cut a 3 lb pork shoulder (removing most of the fat) into bite-sized pieces. I then mixed all of the other ingredients, minus the whipping cream, in a large bowl. I put the pork into a 4 quart crockpot and topped it with the sauce. After mixing well, I set my crockpot on Low for 5 1/2 hours and added the whipping cream in the last 10 minutes of cooking. I served this to my roommate tonight with white rice, a side of guacamole, some pico de gallo and Trader Joe's Homemade Tortillas. We were cleaning our plates with the tortillas to get every little bit of the sauce! :D I'm taking the leftovers for lunch tomorrow with some rice to make into a taco. I'll top it with a few slices of avocado and my mom's salsa. Yum-O! BTW, this would also be awesome served alone with refried beans and spanish rice. Thanks so much for posting, cookiedog. Another fantastic recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      We really enjoyed this recipe. The meat was very tender. I made some fresh home made corn tortillas and before I knew it, my husband and daughter were in the kitchen over the pan and eating it right out of the pan with warm tortillas! I didn't even bother to set the table for dinner! Thanks so much for this recipe. This is exactly the type of food we like!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      Great recipe! The meat was very tender and the sauce had great flavor. I skipped the cream and used 5 tsp. chili powder and 1 tsp. ancho chili powder. I do think that next time I will add some chiles to heat it up some, but I will certainly make this again (and again...)!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2012

      Made this to cure the craving for rich Mexican food. It wasn't too spicy, as our 4, 7 and 8 year old loved it. But it had a very deep, rich flavor. Was great with white rice, tortillas and home made salsa Verde. My brother is getting into town tonight, and where he lives now doesn't have the best Mexican food, so Ill be making it again for him this evening.

      I did not have any tomato pasted, so I subbed in 2 times as much tomato sauce. Worked like a charm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2012

      Oh, yum! I used chicken stock instead of just water. Might add some heat some other time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      This is excellent!! We would give it 10 stars if we could. The meat is soo tender and the sauce such great flavor. Served it with El Torito Cilantro and Pepita Salad Dressing and fresh corn tortillas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

    • on May 30, 2009

      Easy and very tasty. The only thing I would change the next time for me personally is to lesson the chili powder to 3-4 teapsoons. It was a bit too strong and overwhelmed the rest of the spices. Other than that, it is delicious. Thanks Cookiedog.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      Absolutely delicious:) So good that even though my mum had dinner already, after having a small taste of the pork she asked for a serving for herself! The rest of my family gobbled it up in no time:) I served this with flour tortillas, refried beans, cheddar cheese, fresh tomato, guacamole, sour cream and lime wedges. I had to use chili flakes instead of powder, turned out well though as it made the sauce look pretty:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      Delicious - tender and flavourful. I served this in Burritos with refried beans, cheddar cheese, fresh tomato, steamed broccoli and fried peppers. It was a hit with my whole family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2008

      This was great! I made it in a crockpot on high for about 3 hours. I added about 3/4 of a cup cream in the last 10 min and then some arrowroot for a thicker consistency. I also had double concentrated tomato pasteI served this with all the fixens, except pumpkin seeds, mexican rice and beans. This was easy and flavorful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      I have to say, this was awsome!! I made this just as directed (but just one onion - its all I had) and I used fat free half & half (again, all I had) and it had so much flavor and the pork was melt in your mouth tender! I served this with cheddar cheese, sour cream and tortillas, along with Chicana...mexican I Think? and mexicn rice to guest we had over to watch a fight, and this dish with the hit of the night! I'll definitely be making this again, but I'll be doubling the recipe next time! Thank you for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      This was very very good, will definitely be using this recipe often. I did use beef instead of pork. Next time I'd like to try this in the crock pot as well. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      Fabulous, everyone in my household enjoyed this. Nice flavors - simple to make. Great recipe we will enjoy making again. Thanks Cookie!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2007

      Very nice. Easy with good flavor. I used pork shoulder and the lower amount of chili powder. Next time I would use the higher amount for a little more of a kick. I also added a cup of mushrooms just cause they needed using and that was good. I tried it with the avocado and will try pumpkin seeds and sour cream with the leftovers. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2007

      Cookiedog, This recipe is fantastic. It was easy to make and made my house smell so good. My family loves mexican food and this was a great new way of making pork. I also made this with beef. I cut down the chili powder down just a little. Thank you for a wonderful recipe. This is a definate keep sake in my recipe book

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2007

      Well, you were right Cookiedog, I really liked this!It was fairly easy to make,and filled the house with the most wonderful smells while it was cooking.I made it exactly to the recipe,but at the last minute I realized that I had forgotten the pumpkin seeds for garnish.But, that's okay because it was still great, and that gives me an excuse to make it again,I have to try it with the pumpkin seeds because I love them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Puerco Perdigado Con Chile Rojo (Braised Pork With Red Chile Sau

    Serving Size: 1 (406 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 651.3
     
    Calories from Fat 431
    66%
    Total Fat 47.9 g
    73%
    Saturated Fat 17.6 g
    88%
    Cholesterol 176.8 mg
    58%
    Sodium 832.0 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.3 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 44.2 g
    88%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes