23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Simple and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. May 17, 2014

I have made this bread a couple of times and really love it so have no hesitation in giving it 5 stars - but - I get confused every time around the instruction no 4 that says "Make a well in the remaining flour and pour in the liquid; stir in a little of the flour until the liquid gets thick, then cover the bowl and leave in a warm place until the mixture is frothy, about 10 minutes". When I make a well in my remaining 4 cups of flour and pour in the 2.5 cups of liquid it still makes a thick dough - nothing that by any stretch of the imagination will turn into a frothing mixture. So should I be pouring the water into the 2 cups of flour leaving 4 cups set aside? And what does it mean when it says stir in a little flour until the liquid gets thick? What liquid? I've just poured it all into my flour. I really get confused by instruction 4 and so am getting by by pouring ALL the liquid into ALL 6 cups of flour which gives me a dough I can work with. As I said, I've made the bread a few times and love it - but would like to understand that instruction a bit better in case I'm doing something wrong and there's something I could do to make it even tastier.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K8tee July 01, 2013

I need to had my 5 stars to this great bread. I made it exactly as directed except before putting in the oven I brushed with melted butter and topped with an artisan bread blend topping. It made 2 lovely big breads so I even had one to share with a neighbor who also gave it 5 stars. The smell in the house while it was cooking was to die for. Loved the idea of warming the flour before using I think that really helped the yeast to work, I'm going to try that trick with some of my other recipes. The end result was that great crusty outside with a soft, wonderful texture inside. Thanks Sue for posting the real thing. 1-24-13 - As an update, I've made this recipe several times since I first reviewed it and it just gets better and better, I continue to add a seed mix to the top after brushing with a whole egg that's been beaten and like the added bite it adds. This continues to be a favorite around here.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 January 24, 2013

Served for our New Year's Day lunch, this was part of a Greek-inspired meal. The recipe was cut in half and yet yielded two decent sized loaves. An ABM prepped the dough. Sprinkled sesame seeds on top before baking. Good clear, directions. Easy! Menu #71572

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl January 17, 2012

LOVED IT! Sue, this is the most authentic European loaf I've made, thank you for a terrific recipe! I halved the recipe to make just one loaf, and rather than spraying with water, I sprayed it with olive-oil flavored Pam and my loaf browned beautifully. Made for ZWT, please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup October 29, 2011

I've always loved fresh crusty bread, and this was fantastic! I'm pretty new at bread making and was relieved at how simple this recipe was - I was able to make it with no problems at all. My family loved it! Thanks so much for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dustyhershey April 21, 2011

Great recipe, being a bread lover, this one is a keeper for sure !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
macera44 April 08, 2010

Yup, good bread. I replaced one of the 6 cups of flour entirely with semolina for a denser, coarser texture. Dusted liberally with sesame seeds before baking. It's the real thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens July 09, 2008

We just loved this bread!!! It has a great texture and flavor!!! I only made one loaf but should have made the two loaves. When done baking I basted the outside with a little melted butter. Thanks Sue for a great bread recipe. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 June 18, 2008

A fantastic loaf of bread. My husband ate one loaf right out of the oven. I made the dough in the bread machine so had to add 1 more tablespoon of water. Made for Tastebud Tickling Travellers for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ycooks2 June 18, 2008
Psomi - Greek Bread