Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Psomi - Greek Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Psomi - Greek Bread

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on May 17, 2014

      Simple and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2013

      I have made this bread a couple of times and really love it so have no hesitation in giving it 5 stars - but - I get confused every time around the instruction no 4 that says "Make a well in the remaining flour and pour in the liquid; stir in a little of the flour until the liquid gets thick, then cover the bowl and leave in a warm place until the mixture is frothy, about 10 minutes". When I make a well in my remaining 4 cups of flour and pour in the 2.5 cups of liquid it still makes a thick dough - nothing that by any stretch of the imagination will turn into a frothing mixture. So should I be pouring the water into the 2 cups of flour leaving 4 cups set aside? And what does it mean when it says stir in a little flour until the liquid gets thick? What liquid? I've just poured it all into my flour. I really get confused by instruction 4 and so am getting by by pouring ALL the liquid into ALL 6 cups of flour which gives me a dough I can work with. As I said, I've made the bread a few times and love it - but would like to understand that instruction a bit better in case I'm doing something wrong and there's something I could do to make it even tastier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      I need to had my 5 stars to this great bread. I made it exactly as directed except before putting in the oven I brushed with melted butter and topped with an artisan bread blend topping. It made 2 lovely big breads so I even had one to share with a neighbor who also gave it 5 stars. The smell in the house while it was cooking was to die for. Loved the idea of warming the flour before using I think that really helped the yeast to work, I'm going to try that trick with some of my other recipes. The end result was that great crusty outside with a soft, wonderful texture inside. Thanks Sue for posting the real thing. 1-24-13 - As an update, I've made this recipe several times since I first reviewed it and it just gets better and better, I continue to add a seed mix to the top after brushing with a whole egg that's been beaten and like the added bite it adds. This continues to be a favorite around here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2012

      Served for our New Year's Day lunch, this was part of a Greek-inspired meal. The recipe was cut in half and yet yielded two decent sized loaves. An ABM prepped the dough. Sprinkled sesame seeds on top before baking. Good clear, directions. Easy! Menu #71572

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2011

      LOVED IT! Sue, this is the most authentic European loaf I've made, thank you for a terrific recipe! I halved the recipe to make just one loaf, and rather than spraying with water, I sprayed it with olive-oil flavored Pam and my loaf browned beautifully. Made for ZWT, please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2011

      I've always loved fresh crusty bread, and this was fantastic! I'm pretty new at bread making and was relieved at how simple this recipe was - I was able to make it with no problems at all. My family loved it! Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      Great recipe, being a bread lover, this one is a keeper for sure !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      Yup, good bread. I replaced one of the 6 cups of flour entirely with semolina for a denser, coarser texture. Dusted liberally with sesame seeds before baking. It's the real thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      We just loved this bread!!! It has a great texture and flavor!!! I only made one loaf but should have made the two loaves. When done baking I basted the outside with a little melted butter. Thanks Sue for a great bread recipe. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      A fantastic loaf of bread. My husband ate one loaf right out of the oven. I made the dough in the bread machine so had to add 1 more tablespoon of water. Made for Tastebud Tickling Travellers for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      This is WONDERFUL. Thank you for the great directions. It was very crusty and soft in the middle. Amazing. Thank you for sharing! Made for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      This is delicious bread! My DH loved how the crust was crisp and the inside so soft. The first loaf didn't last long. My loaves didn't get real brown even after baking for 40 minutes, but the bread was definitely done and was still delicious. Made for ZWT4- Thanks for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      I didn't have a Greek dinner really, but I did have a salad with feta and lemon poppyseed dressing and thought this bread would be perfect, and it was! Crusty on the outside and tender on the inside, just the way good bread is supposed to be. We woofed this down in no time at all. Good thing it makes 2 loaves, as I got to have some toasted too! Excellent bread and toast Sue.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      This was gorgeous. I made it as part of a Greek dinner party. I felt like saying ....wow I made this...aren't you impressed! Thanks for thr great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      This is an excellent bread recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      Great bread! Fabulous crumb, really nice crust, excellent flavor toasted or untoasted--good for savory or sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      Good bread. Since we didn't get to it the first day, I cut the loaf in half, buttered, sprinkled with garlic powder, italian seasoning, mozzarella and parmesan cheese and toasted in the oven. Also one side of the loaf had sliced tomatoes on top. It was indistinguishable from bakery bread. Thanks Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2006

      good contenintal bread recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2006

      Very good bread. My DD, who is the bread connoseur in our family, said it was just how bread should be: crusty on the outside and soft on the inside with good texture and flavor. My dinner guests thought that I had bought it at the bakery. That made it a winner for me. I adjusted the oven temp. to 350 for convection and baked it for 30 minutes; but it was a little dark, so I think that 25 minutes might have been the right amount of time. Next time I will mist at shorter intervals and check more closely as it nears the end of the time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2006

      EXCELLENT GREEK PSOMI (BREAD!) My family really enjoyed it! Very soft and tasty. I shaped round as we prefer it that way. YUM this will be made again, and again! THANKS

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Psomi - Greek Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1280 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1470.7
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    97%
    Total Fat 9.7 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 2392.7 mg
    99%
    Total Carbohydrate 297.7 g
    99%
    Dietary Fiber 11.3 g
    45%
    Sugars 7.3 g
    29%
    Protein 40.9 g
    81%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites