Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pseudo Sourdough for the Bread Machine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pseudo Sourdough for the Bread Machine

    Average Rating:

    7 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-7 of 7

    Sort by:

    • on December 28, 2012

      I had to make this twice as I ruined the first loaf! I added 1/2 tsp. citric acid to ensure a sour flavor and it was too acidic, deteriorated the gluten and made it way too sour, to the point of bitter! Anyway, the second loaf turned out much better. Not noticeably sour, hence the 4 stars, but it made a delicious, tender, flavorful loaf I will definitely make again! Thanks for posting, made for Everyday is a Holiday, 2012

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      The bread does have a faintly reminiscent flavor of sourdough. I took barley groats and ground them to flour and it added a nice texture and flavor. Benefit to be able to use up the remaining sour cream that was a little past its pull date and only added to the sour flavor I am certain. Reviewed for Veg Tag May 2010. Thanks for posting! PS Tasted delicious today toasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      We loved this bread and will definitely make again. Good toasted or not. However, it does not taste like sourdough bread to us. Make it with all bread flour---maybe the barley flour makes the difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      This is a really good bread. I have never tasted sourdough bread. I used no fat sour cream and it worked well. I used only all purpose flour. I cooked the bread in the oven in a bread pan. Thanks Annacia :) Made for Market tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      Yum!! Great bread and an easy way to do sourdough. This rose really nice and browned well. I could not find barley flour right away and so made this with 3 cups of bread flour instead. I will keep searching for the barley flour. This really didn't last long at all, maybe a couple of hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      We like this because it is so easy and tastes good. Nice to not have to go through the trouble of having a sourdough starter. We can make without the pre-planning. I was going to post this because I have been using the recipe, which I got on allrecipes.com

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2007

      Great Bread. I made the dough in the bread machine and then popped it in the oven. I lost track of time and it cooked a bit too long, but boy is it ever good!! This is a great and easy recipe! Mini Chef Ty is eating it like it is cake! Thanks Annacia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pseudo Sourdough for the Bread Machine

    Serving Size: 1 (795 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2017.7
     
    Calories from Fat 488
    24%
    Total Fat 54.3 g
    83%
    Saturated Fat 25.0 g
    125%
    Cholesterol 75.9 mg
    25%
    Sodium 2729.5 mg
    113%
    Total Carbohydrate 333.1 g
    111%
    Dietary Fiber 17.5 g
    70%
    Sugars 27.0 g
    108%
    Protein 48.2 g
    96%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes