7 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had to make this twice as I ruined the first loaf! I added 1/2 tsp. citric acid to ensure a sour flavor and it was too acidic, deteriorated the gluten and made it way too sour, to the point of bitter! Anyway, the second loaf turned out much better. Not noticeably sour, hence the 4 stars, but it made a delicious, tender, flavorful loaf I will definitely make again! Thanks for posting, made for Everyday is a Holiday, 2012

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pammyowl December 28, 2012

The bread does have a faintly reminiscent flavor of sourdough. I took barley groats and ground them to flour and it added a nice texture and flavor. Benefit to be able to use up the remaining sour cream that was a little past its pull date and only added to the sour flavor I am certain. Reviewed for Veg Tag May 2010. Thanks for posting! PS Tasted delicious today toasted.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl May 06, 2010

We loved this bread and will definitely make again. Good toasted or not. However, it does not taste like sourdough bread to us. Make it with all bread flour---maybe the barley flour makes the difference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb G May 14, 2008

This is a really good bread. I have never tasted sourdough bread. I used no fat sour cream and it worked well. I used only all purpose flour. I cooked the bread in the oven in a bread pan. Thanks Annacia :) Made for Market tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette March 09, 2008

Yum!! Great bread and an easy way to do sourdough. This rose really nice and browned well. I could not find barley flour right away and so made this with 3 cups of bread flour instead. I will keep searching for the barley flour. This really didn't last long at all, maybe a couple of hours.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 March 02, 2008

We like this because it is so easy and tastes good. Nice to not have to go through the trouble of having a sourdough starter. We can make without the pre-planning. I was going to post this because I have been using the recipe, which I got on allrecipes.com

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristianne January 05, 2008

Great Bread. I made the dough in the bread machine and then popped it in the oven. I lost track of time and it cooked a bit too long, but boy is it ever good!! This is a great and easy recipe! Mini Chef Ty is eating it like it is cake! Thanks Annacia!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper January 20, 2007
Pseudo Sourdough for the Bread Machine