10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We had this tonight with steak and bowtie pasta salad. It was a big hit. The garlic and spices were a perfect compliment to the provolone cheese.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazz Lover May 14, 2006

Nice treat! I had never thought of using olive oil instead of butter! I used sweet french bread as I could not find the Italian, which I would have preferred, and mozzarella.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trisha W May 26, 2005

MMMM Just what I was looking for. I liked the olive oil. I used a shredded italian cheese blend, next time I will try it with the sliced provolone. Thanks for posting..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Homey January 08, 2014

Loved it! We, like another reviewer, used this to make open faced sandwiches for Italian Skillet Burgers. YUM! Very easy, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef SuzyQ July 24, 2008

This was ok but I think I'll still keep searching for another recipe. It had more spices than I would have liked. Mandi

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandikaake March 05, 2006

I served this with chicken marsala and it was great. I think the provolone cheese has more flavor than a mozzarella cheese would. I used the crushed red pepper flakes and I'm glad I did.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon December 29, 2005

Delicious! I used it as a base for open-faced sandwiches with Italian Skillet Burgers (Italian Skillet Hamburgers). DH loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beth Red December 28, 2005

Took this to a gathering of about 30 people last night, wow, it disappeared very quick, have had to hand out the recipe to a few people. This was eaten at a bbq and went really well with the steaks and salad. I used mozzarella, next time will try provolone and did use the crushed pepper flakes. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Latchy May 24, 2005

Absolutely PERFECT! Yum! Even my daughter who won't touch garlic bread with her spaghetti or lasagna, tried this and had THIRDS!!! (Made the other 2 kids mad because they wanted more!) YUM! Thank you, very much, for this recipe! Now we can ALL enjoy our bread with our pasta! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacky5 May 17, 2005

A perfect mate to our spaghetti & meatballs! I used a Baguette, skipped the pepper flakes but added some fresh Italian parsley to the mixture. I cut my own slices from a block of Mozarella - I'll grate it next time so it melts a little quicker. Thanx cookin!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady May 14, 2005
Provolone Garlic Bread