Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Provencal Potato Galette Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Provencal Potato Galette

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on June 22, 2009

      Yum! I had to use dried thyme, as I had no fresh on hand, but it was delicious. A bit on the greasy side, next time I think I'll cook the bacon a bit more crispy and drain the fat off better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      Flavour to savour, this is true! Hubby gave it 5 stars plus too! Used diced up low fat bacon as had on hand for the day, Next time will just put it into potato mixture to cook that way! No need to pre-cook and no grease, so can stay healthy recipe! Easy to do, is a keeper for entertaining, for hubby and me! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      This was delicious! Fatty? Yes, but worth it! I served this with my Easter Ham dinner and got rave reviews from my IN-LAWS! LOL I used a borrowed mandoline slicer for the onions and potatoes which made it a snap to put together. I also used kitchen shears to cut up the bacon before frying. Oh and I DID NOT drain the bacon grease and I used the entire pkg (12 oz)! It was yummy! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      I'm sorry but this recipe was just Way too fatty for us. If you don't mind soft bacon( it softens while baking) or bacon grease, you might think it's good.I would hate to eat much of this recipe just because of that fact alone. We hated it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      This turned out really good. I needed something to serve with a chicken wellington recipe I was making and this complimented it very well. Thanks for posting this. This is a great recipe and if you haven't tried it your missing out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      OOH LA LA! I saw this photo and said, "I've GOT to make these for lunch! And I did! (shame on me, with my gluttonous appetite, with an even more shameful 300+lb 5' 1 frame) I ate them all. That's right, ALL! I will make these again tonight for my family, as I forfeit dinner, pray to my Goddess Jenny Craig and make a B-line to the treadmill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      This recipe is definitely a keeper. I did add most of the bacon grease and at the end I topped it off with a little fresh parsley and shredded cheese. absolutely delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      I would give 10 stars if I could! These will be a weekly addition to my menu! Being lactose intolerant I have really missed scalloped potatoes and I thought this was a great replacement! I left out the thyme completely. The only problem I encountered was that I too wasn't sure whether or not to add the bacon grease. Also (and maybe because I did NOT add the grease) the potatoes stuck to the bottom of the pan. Next time I'll grease it :) But the flavor was so exceptional it made up for everything!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      Tasty, looks good, very easy to prepare, was great on a chilly winters night (for us!) I was glad for the advice about weighting it down, I just used a pie dish. Since we were only three for dinner, I halved the recipe and it worked out perfectly. Thanks for a great recipe, Kim :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      This dish has a wonderful presentation, and an equally good flavor. I was a bit confused if I was to add all of the bacon grease to the potato mixture so I did not. It was still quite tasty, and in fact, the left overs will make a fantastic base for scrambled eggs in the AM! Thanks Kim!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      I made this for French Food and Foto Fun. I used fresh thyme and it was marvelous! Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      This is excellent and fancy-smancy enough for company! Very tasty and worth the splurge of a "few" extra calories. Instead of thyme, I had some homemade Herbs de Provence I received in a swap, so I added it after the bacon and onions were cooked. Made for PAC Fall '07. Thanks for the great recipe Kim.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2006

      Kim, we loved this! I used fresh Thyme from my garden and ummm..well...regular bacon because I don't know what streaky bacon is LOL!!! I assumed it was like a fatty bacon. We all loved this, it was a terrific dish. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Provencal Potato Galette

    Serving Size: 1 (152 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 418.8
     
    Calories from Fat 284
    67%
    Total Fat 31.6 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 11.5 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 48.9 mg
    16%
    Sodium 462.6 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 8.6 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes