13 Reviews

Yum! I had to use dried thyme, as I had no fresh on hand, but it was delicious. A bit on the greasy side, next time I think I'll cook the bacon a bit more crispy and drain the fat off better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debarra June 22, 2009

Flavour to savour, this is true! Hubby gave it 5 stars plus too! Used diced up low fat bacon as had on hand for the day, Next time will just put it into potato mixture to cook that way! No need to pre-cook and no grease, so can stay healthy recipe! Easy to do, is a keeper for entertaining, for hubby and me! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickeydownunder April 22, 2009

This was delicious! Fatty? Yes, but worth it! I served this with my Easter Ham dinner and got rave reviews from my IN-LAWS! LOL I used a borrowed mandoline slicer for the onions and potatoes which made it a snap to put together. I also used kitchen shears to cut up the bacon before frying. Oh and I DID NOT drain the bacon grease and I used the entire pkg (12 oz)! It was yummy! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
betsypower2005 April 21, 2009

I'm sorry but this recipe was just Way too fatty for us. If you don't mind soft bacon( it softens while baking) or bacon grease, you might think it's good.I would hate to eat much of this recipe just because of that fact alone. We hated it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jacqueline G. March 25, 2009

This turned out really good. I needed something to serve with a chicken wellington recipe I was making and this complimented it very well. Thanks for posting this. This is a great recipe and if you haven't tried it your missing out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mean Green March 25, 2009

OOH LA LA! I saw this photo and said, "I've GOT to make these for lunch! And I did! (shame on me, with my gluttonous appetite, with an even more shameful 300+lb 5' 1 frame) I ate them all. That's right, ALL! I will make these again tonight for my family, as I forfeit dinner, pray to my Goddess Jenny Craig and make a B-line to the treadmill!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MerryKitchenMaid March 24, 2009

This recipe is definitely a keeper. I did add most of the bacon grease and at the end I topped it off with a little fresh parsley and shredded cheese. absolutely delicious!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juliatomlin86 March 24, 2009

I would give 10 stars if I could! These will be a weekly addition to my menu! Being lactose intolerant I have really missed scalloped potatoes and I thought this was a great replacement! I left out the thyme completely. The only problem I encountered was that I too wasn't sure whether or not to add the bacon grease. Also (and maybe because I did NOT add the grease) the potatoes stuck to the bottom of the pan. Next time I'll grease it :) But the flavor was so exceptional it made up for everything!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
piranhabriana March 22, 2009

Tasty, looks good, very easy to prepare, was great on a chilly winters night (for us!) I was glad for the advice about weighting it down, I just used a pie dish. Since we were only three for dinner, I halved the recipe and it worked out perfectly. Thanks for a great recipe, Kim :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth May 26, 2008

This dish has a wonderful presentation, and an equally good flavor. I was a bit confused if I was to add all of the bacon grease to the potato mixture so I did not. It was still quite tasty, and in fact, the left overs will make a fantastic base for scrambled eggs in the AM! Thanks Kim!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 April 22, 2008
Provencal Potato Galette