Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Proper Scottish Oat Scones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Proper Scottish Oat Scones

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 11, 2012

      These are very nice scones. I used dried cranberries and sprinkled the scones with sugar. I like that there is oatmeal in them. Thanks for sharing a real winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2011

      What a wonderful recipe, JB! My yogurt was nonfat greek vanilla, and the slight vanilla flavour was a lovely addition. I also used golden raisins and added in some dried blueberries, too. The instructions were perfect, and I shared them with my very pleased landlords (whose adorable 3 year old brought my note saying I had scones if they wanted any upstairs with the biggest smile on his face!) They love it when I bake on weekend mornings, and it's recipes like this that have given me such a good reputation! This one's going in my cookbook, and I'm passing it on to my sister, too. Like Maito, I love my scones with a crunchy sweet topping, so as usual, I gave a light sprinkling of Starrynews' Spiced Sugar which is a pantry staple! Recipenapped for Veggie Swap #39 ~ October. Thanks again for another winner, JB!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2011

      I made these scones with sour cream (no yogurt on hand), added dried cranberries, & sprinkled coarse sugar on top. Also, I dropped them with a scoop as they were so sticky. They got VERY brown in 12 mins. (I didn't check them sooner--shame on me--because a reviewer had said they took more like 20 mins. to bake). But all that being said, they were quite delicious! The chunky oats gave them a nice texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      I loved these. They are a lot like my favorite scone recipe, with a healthier taste. I subbed currants since that's what I had, and they were great in them. Make sure to flour your hands when you pat this out, it is a very sticky dough. I always like some sort of "glaze" to crunch up the top, so I brushed them with a little milk and then sprinkled them with a tiny bit of sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2010

      WOW, what a hearty, filling and yummy recipe for scones! Mmmm, the oats and whole grain flour add such a great nutty flavour and make for a wonderfully coarse texture. A true stick to the ribs food. ;)
      I made half the recipe and ended up with 6 big round scones that were gone in a flash. Everyone loved these.
      The only change I made was to use dried cherries in place of the raisins as I was out of the latter.
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing another fantastic recipe with us, JB!
      Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap #25 August 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      I found that these take a lot closer to 20 mins start to finish than 35. The scones weren't brown but they were firm to touch so out they came. They were baked through and the taste is marvelous. My only changer were to make 8 small scones (I used the amount for 6) and to use just 1 1/2 T of the raisins. I'll enjoy them when the weather is frosty with a lovely cuppa as well as summer breakfast on the deck.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      Easy and quick. Thank you for a simple recipe that can be made 1st thing in the morning for breakfast. Enjoyed by all. Made for ZWT6 Family Picks. No-Nonsense Nibblers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      These are so delicious, and they are surprisingly quick to put together! I replaced the AP flour with spelt flour and used fresh blueberries (cleaned then dried and tossed with flour) instead of raisins. Delish! My crew absolutely inhaled them. I also appreciate a scone recipe that doesn't require pulling out the pastry blender! Thanks for posting, JB. This one is definitely going in the keeper file! Made for ZWT 6 Family Picks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      I made these scones for DH's breakfast. He really enjoyed them. Topped with butter and honey. Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Proper Scottish Oat Scones

    Serving Size: 1 (54 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 169.9
     
    Calories from Fat 49
    29%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 20.7 mg
    6%
    Sodium 272.3 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 8.6 g
    34%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites