9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are very nice scones. I used dried cranberries and sprinkled the scones with sugar. I like that there is oatmeal in them. Thanks for sharing a real winner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tednjoc May 11, 2012

What a wonderful recipe, JB! My yogurt was nonfat greek vanilla, and the slight vanilla flavour was a lovely addition. I also used golden raisins and added in some dried blueberries, too. The instructions were perfect, and I shared them with my very pleased landlords (whose adorable 3 year old brought my note saying I had scones if they wanted any upstairs with the biggest smile on his face!) They love it when I bake on weekend mornings, and it's recipes like this that have given me such a good reputation! This one's going in my cookbook, and I'm passing it on to my sister, too. Like Maito, I love my scones with a crunchy sweet topping, so as usual, I gave a light sprinkling of Starrynews' Spiced Sugar which is a pantry staple! Recipenapped for Veggie Swap #39 ~ October. Thanks again for another winner, JB!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen October 22, 2011

I made these scones with sour cream (no yogurt on hand), added dried cranberries, & sprinkled coarse sugar on top. Also, I dropped them with a scoop as they were so sticky. They got VERY brown in 12 mins. (I didn't check them sooner--shame on me--because a reviewer had said they took more like 20 mins. to bake). But all that being said, they were quite delicious! The chunky oats gave them a nice texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emariemac July 18, 2011

I loved these. They are a lot like my favorite scone recipe, with a healthier taste. I subbed currants since that's what I had, and they were great in them. Make sure to flour your hands when you pat this out, it is a very sticky dough. I always like some sort of "glaze" to crunch up the top, so I brushed them with a little milk and then sprinkled them with a tiny bit of sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito February 05, 2011

WOW, what a hearty, filling and yummy recipe for scones! Mmmm, the oats and whole grain flour add such a great nutty flavour and make for a wonderfully coarse texture. A true stick to the ribs food. ;)
I made half the recipe and ended up with 6 big round scones that were gone in a flash. Everyone loved these.
The only change I made was to use dried cherries in place of the raisins as I was out of the latter.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing another fantastic recipe with us, JB!
Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap #25 August 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula August 04, 2010

I found that these take a lot closer to 20 mins start to finish than 35. The scones weren't brown but they were firm to touch so out they came. They were baked through and the taste is marvelous. My only changer were to make 8 small scones (I used the amount for 6) and to use just 1 1/2 T of the raisins. I'll enjoy them when the weather is frosty with a lovely cuppa as well as summer breakfast on the deck.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia July 01, 2010

Easy and quick. Thank you for a simple recipe that can be made 1st thing in the morning for breakfast. Enjoyed by all. Made for ZWT6 Family Picks. No-Nonsense Nibblers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MomLuvs6 June 29, 2010

These are so delicious, and they are surprisingly quick to put together! I replaced the AP flour with spelt flour and used fresh blueberries (cleaned then dried and tossed with flour) instead of raisins. Delish! My crew absolutely inhaled them. I also appreciate a scone recipe that doesn't require pulling out the pastry blender! Thanks for posting, JB. This one is definitely going in the keeper file! Made for ZWT 6 Family Picks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian June 26, 2010

I made these scones for DH's breakfast. He really enjoyed them. Topped with butter and honey. Made for ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Dana June 18, 2010
Proper Scottish Oat Scones