Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pronto Pups aka Corn Dogs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pronto Pups aka Corn Dogs

    Average Rating:

    124 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 124

    Sort by:

    • on August 16, 2002

      We have a mess of grandkids and this is a perfect recipe for even the picky eaters. Easy to make and fun. A great recipe if you're looking for that 'carnival' atmosphere. A solid addition to my cookbook. Thanks, ShannonBecker

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2010

      These were so yummy !!! I had used Hebrew National weiners and they were delicious. So easy to whip together. This was the first time making corn dogs too. I had put the batter in a tall glass and then dipped the weiners in the batter that way. I will be making these over and over again. The batter fluffed right out so nicely when in the fryer. They freeze so well too with reheating in the micro they taste just like they came out of the fryer. Thanks for sharing your recipe Fair weather cook we really enjoyed them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2003

      I have never eaten a corndog in my life, and this was my first time. I thought it was really unique....sweet, crispy on the outside, and of course salty on the inside. The baking powder made the batter very fluffy after frying which was great. I need 1 1/2 cup (approx)of milk to make it the right consistency. Yummy...the spicy sausages def. tasted better than the normal ones.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2010

      No complaints, these were really good corndogs. Used a glass for the batter, I had enough for about 18 dogs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      Wow! I have been looking for a good corndog batter for a while. This one is really good. I used about 1 1/3 cup of milk. It needs to be a little thicker than pancake batter to stick properly. This is also great batter for cheese on a stick. Just cut cheese to 1/2"x3", and proceed with corndog directions. I like it with pepperjack cheese. My kids like it with velveeta. You can use any kind you like. Yummy! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      These were really easy to make. I reduced the amount of these to six with no problem. I also didn't use any sticks. Otherwise I didn't change anything else. The flour helped the breading to stick very well. I will make these again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      Oh my goodness! These are so good. I made this recipe and we loved them. I too, skipped the stick, so it would fit better in my pan but didn't miss it. I loved this recipe. I was able to get 15 from them. Thank you so much for sharing this with us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      These were fabulous! My son is allergic to eggs so I used Ener-G Egg Replacer for the egg. The rest I followed as written. My husband said these tasted like the kind you get at a fair. I will definitely make these again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      We were sitting around one night talking about food we missed from the USA and someone mentioned corn dogs and everyone agreed. I hadn't been able to find corn meal so asked a friend who was coming to bring me some. I made them first for my husband and he said they were very good and to please make them again. The next couple times I made them I quartered the hot dogs so they were bite size appetizers. This was so much easier to fry than the whole hot dogs. They were a hit! I'm almost out of corn meal so need to find someone who is coming down soon to bring more. Thanks so much for this delicious recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2003

      My kids wanted hot dogs but I didn't want to spend that much so I tried these. They were good and the kids liked them. Easy to make as well. I even let my 8 year ld help make these. Next time I'll have to keep track how much milk I add.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2002

      Tried these on Dads (Rick Young) recommendation and they were fabulous, the batter was sweet and crunchy, just like it should be. Personally I prefer the "veggie" hot dogs to the meat ones, especially "Linkettes". A definite thing I can get my son to eat. Thanks alot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2014

      Omg yummy! We skipped the sugar and add mustard powder. Boar,'s Head all beef franks with a tall glass for the batter. Everyone loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2014

      i hope everyone i am cooking this for likes it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2014

      The recipe is very tasty, but didn't make nearly enough batter to cover anywhere near 24 dogs. I realized right around 12 dogs that the batter in my glass was no longer deep enough to coat a dog; and this was a problem, as I already had another 12 dogs on sticks, floured, and ready to dip. <br/><br/>I had used the last of my corn meal and milk with the first batch - oh oh, now what? Note to self - Do not use Jiffy Corn Muffin mix! The remaining 12 were edible, but ugly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2014

      I made these last night and they couldn't have been easier. I found that adding just enough milk to where the batter comes off a spoon in a steady stream without breaking provided the perfect consistency. I only made 8 corn dogs and then used a cookie scoop to make about 12 hush puppies. So so good! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2013

      Followed the recipe exactly and they came out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2013

      This was a great recipe. I didn't have skewers, but it turned out great. My son had three of his fellow teenaged friends over so I made these. As a special treat, I wrapped bacon around them (nuked for 2 minutes). They pounded down a dozen of them PLUS all the hush puppies I made with the left over batter! My wife had to finish the batter since I'm not real good with pancakes. ;^)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2013

      My very picky kids loved these corn dogs. I will definitely do this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2012

      These were delicious and much easier to make than I thought, as an inexperienced deep-fryer. I may have made the batter too thick, so aesthetically, they were not perfect, but taste-wise, they were great. Next time I'll thin it out a bit more. Unless you like them puffy and huge!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      My family loves this recipe. We make them often...grand kids really enjoy them. I use 1 1/2 cups of milk and they always are perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pronto Pups aka Corn Dogs

    Serving Size: 1 (1583 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 213.9
     
    Calories from Fat 124
    57%
    Total Fat 13.7 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 31.6 mg
    10%
    Sodium 741.9 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 6.6 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites