Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Prize Winning Marinade for Beef Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Prize Winning Marinade for Beef

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on December 23, 2010

      Followed recipe fairly closely and it turned out great. I put the meat on the warming rack of my grill and used the heat from both burners to cook it and had no problem. Will definetely cook this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      I only had time to marinate for 8 hrs so poked holes in the roast before soaking. I agree it makes way more marinade/sauce than required for a 5-6 lb roast so I cut those ingredients in half. I almost didn't do the sour cream step, but I found the marinate very tangy. The cream blended the sauce nicely into a very flavourful addition. It turned out to be my favorite part of the meal. Made twice-baked potatoes & the sauce was used onto on them also. This deserved 1st prize, thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      Really good recipe...the sauce is delicious with the sour cream mixed in with it. Sometimes I don't have time to marinade for the entire 48 hours, so I poke holes in the meat with a fork before I pour in the marinade, it seems to soak in the flavor just as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      This worked great for us. I didn't use the sour cream though but I might next time. I only marinated for about 30 minutes and then slow cooked it in the oven. The flavor really came through nicely. But, next time I would rather marinate for the full amount of time and then slow cook it in the crock pot. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2007

      Very yummy! We cut back the peppercorns by half (because of the kids), added a little hoseradish to the marinade, and cooked it in the oven at 300F (I found out this morning that we are out of charcoal AND propane for the grills). We still had to trim the outer edges due to the spiciness and omit the sauce for the little ones, but DH and I LOVED this! The sauce is especially yummy, and made our dinner look very fancy on the plate! Served with roasted green beans (Roasted Green Beans) oven-baked potatoes for a delicious meal. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2013

      Such a wonderful marinade! I wrapped the roast in foil and cooked it in the crock-pot on low with potatoes and zucchini (wrapped separately in foil packets). Wrapped the potatoes in foil and put them on the bottom of the crock-pot, then placed the wrapped roast on top of the potatoes so that it would cook in low, indirect heat. Tucked the foil packets of zucchini in beside it. Wow - my new favorite crock-pot dinner. This will be a frequent menu item! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2012

      Marinaded an 8 pound beef roast tip for about 24 hours and put on the outdoor smoker for dinner with friends. Turned out super, and the marinade/sour cream sauce was excellent!! Don't skip this step....it takes little time, and is worth it!! This recipe is a keeper and will be making again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2012

      I'm sorry but I have to rate this low. My steak had too much soy sauce taste and I only marinaded for 5 hrs before cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2011

      I used this on a stuffed roast and it came out very tender but the marinade seemed to be over powering. All we could taste was the marinade itself. I was not overjoyed with the length of time the meat needed to sit in the marinade. May try one more time only cutting the marinade time drastically.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2010

      Sorry I couldn't rate this one higher but for the amount of marinating time we didn't find this to be anything spectacular and found that it fell way short of our expectations flavor wise. Can't say that I'll do this one again but thanks for sharing! Made for All Fired Up Grilling Photo Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      Since it's the middle of winter, I didn't want to fire up the grill. But this marinade was great on the 4 lb. bottom round roast that I didn't know how to cook. I kept it in the marinade for 36 hours and then in the oven at 250, lightly covered with foil until the internal temperature was at 160. Best tasting, most tender roast ever! This marinade is now in my recipe box! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      This marinade made an excellent roast. I had a 5 lb sirloin tip roast that I marinated for just over 24 hours, then cooked to medium in a slow oven. The meat was very tender and tasty. I used all of the leftover marinade, thickened with a bit of corn starch with the sour cream and it made a very tasty gravy for the meat and the potatoes. Very nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      This was a simple and delicious marinade. I used it on some venison steaks that were given to us and it worked beautifully. I did leave the steaks to marinate the full 48 hours and was not sorry that I did. Cooked them on the barbeque with some wood chips and it was wonderful. Thank you Elizabeth for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      Terrific!! I marinated for 48 hours and then cooked it on the bbq. First I seared it on all sides for a minute or so each side, then (with one of 3 burners on low) over indirect heat for 3 hours. Mine was a 4lb roast. It came out at 155 F, perfectly medium rare! It was delish! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      I didn't have time to marinade the roast beef so I used the ingredients for this recipe and added half a can of beer right before cooking in the oven (was running super short on time). Threw in a few potatoes for the last 45 minutes. WOW! Thanks so much for the fantastic recipe! I can't wait to try it your way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      I love cooking over indirect heat on the grill. It makes the meat so tender and delicious! This marinade is a show stopper! We REALLY loved it!!! This will be my new marinade and I will share with my friends this way of cooking beef on the grill! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      What a winner, my family couldn't get enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      This was so flavorful and easy, we were all tickled over the flavor, I almost wish I had doubled the recipe to make more sauce to drizzle all over everything!!!! Yummy, thank you for posting. I will be using your recipe again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      Great marinade for barbecued tri-tip. I love it when a marinade has ingredients that are standard in the fridge. We'll be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      Absolutely wonderful, we love our beef but this was the best ever way we have eaten it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Prize Winning Marinade for Beef

    Serving Size: 1 (88 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 284.0
     
    Calories from Fat 205
    72%
    Total Fat 22.8 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 13.2 g
    66%
    Cholesterol 59.8 mg
    19%
    Sodium 2440.8 mg
    101%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 8.8 g
    35%
    Protein 6.5 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sirloin tip roast

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites