62 Reviews

With 41 5 star reviews you probably dont need another testimonial to how good these rolls are, but being a novice I just had to write to let those rookie bread machine users like me out there know that this recipe is great and that I had fanatstic results the fisrt time. They are indeed crunchy outside and soft inside. DH absolutly loves these!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sharon214 April 19, 2009

I made these rolls last night to have with some soup. These were a huge hit with my flatmates and boyfriend - the rolls had all disappeared before they had a chance to cool. I too found that I had to add close to a cup of flour to bring the dough to the correct consistency but other than that I followed all the directions. Delicious and great that there's not any butter too (makes me feel a little better after eating so many!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lill_mim April 16, 2009

I'm a roll making queen thanks to this recipe. Easy and tasty! Thanks. Tonight, I'm adding a little rosemary to it. :-D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
8elbows March 26, 2009

My first attempt at rolls and these came out awesome. I did need to add additional flour as it was a humid day but I am used to that. Took these to a potluck dinner and my friend's daughter declared these the best rolls she has ever eaten. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msboogie February 19, 2009

Excellent crust on these rolls. However I didn't think the flavor was that good. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa January 04, 2009

Excellent! I made these into 8 big kaiser rolls. My family loved the taste and had seconds at supper tonight. I used a can of water also in the bottom of my oven, while they baked. Also I brushed the buns with egg yolk/water mixture, before placing in the oven. I didn't care for the smell of the egg yolk as they baked though. Kind of gross.But very tasty buns!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilypads January 01, 2009

Made these today for Christmas dinner (in the freezer) I had the same problem mentioned here about the dough being too sticky, so expected to add more flour. I added about 1/2 cup more (just felt it after adding a bit) and they came out wonderfully. I also put the water in the oven while I preheated it and it did the trick. The tops were nice with just the right amount of "crusty" and tender inside. My DH and I had to sample one to make sure we could serve them at Christmas, we can, everyone will love these.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susang December 22, 2008

We did this by hand, as we don't make our bread in a machine. This turned out really well. These rolls were made for cheese steaks, which are notorious roll destroyers. With a generous application of mayonaise on both sides of the roll, these guys held up very well, almost to the very end of the sandwich! If you're throwing greasy stuff into your rolls, this is the way to go! Great taste, great texture, and resistant to cheese stake toppings!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Green Guisador September 17, 2008

I am "new" to baking, but am trying more and more things since I got a breadmaker... however, these didn't turn out for me at all. I was left with a soupy mixture at the end of my dough cycle. When I read the recipe I thought there was a little more water and yeast than other recipes I have tried and the same amount of flour... maybe I need to play around with it some more to make it work for my machine... I read where other reviewers had problems with sticky dough, so I was prepared for that, but my dough was so soupy I didn't want to waste flour trying to fix it... Maybe it's just me since so many others loved it... I will try it again soon. Thanks for posting!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atlfitgirl August 19, 2008

Best rolls we have ever made-we will use this a lot thanks so much

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjcush February 01, 2008
Prize-winning Crusty Rolls (bread Machine Dough Cycle)