Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Prize-winning Crusty Rolls (bread Machine Dough Cycle) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Prize-winning Crusty Rolls (bread Machine Dough Cycle)

    Average Rating:

    62 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 62

    Sort by:

    • on March 26, 2009

      I'm a roll making queen thanks to this recipe. Easy and tasty! Thanks. Tonight, I'm adding a little rosemary to it. :-D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      My first attempt at rolls and these came out awesome. I did need to add additional flour as it was a humid day but I am used to that. Took these to a potluck dinner and my friend's daughter declared these the best rolls she has ever eaten. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      Excellent crust on these rolls. However I didn't think the flavor was that good. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      Excellent! I made these into 8 big kaiser rolls. My family loved the taste and had seconds at supper tonight. I used a can of water also in the bottom of my oven, while they baked. Also I brushed the buns with egg yolk/water mixture, before placing in the oven. I didn't care for the smell of the egg yolk as they baked though. Kind of gross.But very tasty buns!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      Made these today for Christmas dinner (in the freezer) I had the same problem mentioned here about the dough being too sticky, so expected to add more flour. I added about 1/2 cup more (just felt it after adding a bit) and they came out wonderfully. I also put the water in the oven while I preheated it and it did the trick. The tops were nice with just the right amount of "crusty" and tender inside. My DH and I had to sample one to make sure we could serve them at Christmas, we can, everyone will love these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      We did this by hand, as we don't make our bread in a machine. This turned out really well. These rolls were made for cheese steaks, which are notorious roll destroyers. With a generous application of mayonaise on both sides of the roll, these guys held up very well, almost to the very end of the sandwich! If you're throwing greasy stuff into your rolls, this is the way to go! Great taste, great texture, and resistant to cheese stake toppings!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      I am "new" to baking, but am trying more and more things since I got a breadmaker... however, these didn't turn out for me at all. I was left with a soupy mixture at the end of my dough cycle. When I read the recipe I thought there was a little more water and yeast than other recipes I have tried and the same amount of flour... maybe I need to play around with it some more to make it work for my machine... I read where other reviewers had problems with sticky dough, so I was prepared for that, but my dough was so soupy I didn't want to waste flour trying to fix it... Maybe it's just me since so many others loved it... I will try it again soon. Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      Best rolls we have ever made-we will use this a lot thanks so much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      easy and delish- everyone loved them-thanksfor this great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      Wow! I am new at bread-making, and I don't have a bread machine, so I was nervous to try these despite the rave reviews and simple instructions. I'm so glad I did, and thanks to the other reviewer who also used a Kitchenaid mixer! I combined all the liquids and the yeast in the mixer, then gradually added the flour until it was the right consistency. I also had to use closer to 3 1/2 cups, and I cut the water to 1 1/8 cups. I let it rise for two hours, then made the rolls as written from #4 on. YUM! My 4yo son and I split one straight out of the oven, and I'll make these again and again. I'm excited to try different variations, too. These definitely increased my bread-making confidence... Thanks so much, Chris from Kansas, for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      For the longest time, I have tried making numerous recipes for rolls. Some were okay, others quite good, but this is just the BEST! I won't need the other recipes from now on! They came out just like I like them, crisp outside and with a wonderful flavor. No wonder they took first prize...They deserved it! They tasted much better than most rolls from the store or bakery. I think that next time I will try to use an egg wash and sprinkle them with either poppy or sesame seeds, but they really don't need an improvement. Just to make them a little different from time to time. I did make 12 rolls as suggested, but for sandwiches, I think I would like them a little larger - maybe make 8 rolls out of this recipe. In my oven, it took more like 20 minutes, but ovens differ. I ate two before they were completely cool! DELICIOUS! I sliced the rest in half and put most of them in the freezer for future use. Thank you so much for posting this great recipe, Chris from Kansas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

    • on September 27, 2007

      These are the best rolls I've ever made.They are tender inside,crispy outside and great tasting.I decided to try these after reading all the great reviews. From now on I will make sure I have a dozen of these in my freezer ready to serve when I need them.I included a couple of pictures.Thanks Chris for posting this winner. Sage/Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      These turned out so well. I just got a bread machine and this was my first experience making rolls. The shape of the rolls wasn't pretty but boy did they taste great! We didn't care what they looked like! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      These were great. I, like Melanie, did add more flour to make a workable dough but the results were just great. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      I used this recipe to make ham & swiss rolls for a road trip. They turned out great, and this dough is better than the recipe i used to use. Just make the dough in your bread machine, and when it is done, take it out, divide it into 16 pieces, flatten in your hand, put pieces of Swiss cheese and ham in them one at a time, pinch to seal in the contents, and put on a baking sheet in a 350* preheated oven for about 30 minutes. They freeze well and travel well. No mess!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2007

      Wahoo these were good!! OUTSTANDING rolls and so easy to make. I needed to add about 2/3 cup more flour in the dough cycle to make it the perfect pliability to divide and form into rolls. I too put a pan of water in the oven bottom when I pre-heated the oven and during cooking process and the rolls came out with a very nice crust and soft and delicious inside :-) Thanks for a perfect recipe for hoagie buns! AAA+++

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      Excellent rolls! I don't own a bread machine so I made the dough in my KitchenAid stand mixer. I used only 1 1/8 cups water and included 3/4 cup whole wheat flour with the bread flour. The recipe made eight nice-sized hoagie rolls which I used with my Toasted Steakhouse Sandwich recipe ~ Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2007

      One of the best recipes fo rolls that I've ever tasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      These were great. I almost screwed up and forget about 1 cup of water. I used Ms Dash instead of salt and used olive oil instead of oil. DH said it was the best bread he's ever had. Served with pork roast, but looking forward to having with soup tonight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Prize-winning Crusty Rolls (bread Machine Dough Cycle)

    Serving Size: 1 (748 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 131.4
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    10%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 296.9 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.1 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites