Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Prime Rib Roast Beef With Fresh Garlic and Rosemary Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Prime Rib Roast Beef With Fresh Garlic and Rosemary

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on December 28, 2011

      I'll add to the 5 star ratings here. Did this for Christmas day Rib Eye Roast - 10lbs. Everyone raved about it. Even my parents who don't eat a lot of red meat went back for seconds. Finished it off by deglazing the pan and making a Cabernet reduction. This was a real winner and I will come back to it again to be sure. Thanks for sharing this one Rita.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2011

      Perfection! I was really nervous about preparing a prime rib roast, but full my full faith into this recipe, knowing that Paula Deen never screws anything up. This was our Christmas dinner entree and everyone ooohed over it. Thanks Rita!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2011

      First time a roast every turned out just right! I'll always use this method in the future. I used Herb-Crusted Prime Rib With Red Wine Sauce for an accompanying red wine sauce - perfectt combination. Thaks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      Mmmmmm....OUTSTANDING!! My boneless roast was 4 lbs so I cut the "resting time" down to 2.5hrs and the slices came out perfectly MEDIUM. We used dried rosemary in our rub and that was tasty as well. Thanks for the recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2010

      This recipe was excellent! I had my doubts, but it was really wonderful. My son wanted prime rib for his birthday and he was very impressed. Only thing I did different was to start the roast at 450 for 15 minutes - then followed the instructions. When the roast was finished reheating, I removed it from the oven and let it rest for 20 minutes before serving. The recipe implies that you should let it rest IN the oven for 20 minutes, but I didn't think so. Perfectly cooked - just enough "pink" and juicy and tender. DEEEELISH!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2010

      That was fantastic! I chose the bone-in roast, about 6 lbs, and it could have cooked a little longer in the beginning. The seasoning was fantastic and the roast was cooked very evenly. I'm using the bones to create a stock and the smell is making me hungry for last night!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      I am rating the seasoning for the exterior, but I opted to cook it as my butcher suggested instead. The oven off method is how I normally cook my prime rib and I wish I would have done so this year, but my roast was 10 pounds so I was afraid it would'nt be done. Never again will I use any other method other than the one described here. The seasoning was very flavorful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      Awesome recipe, mine sat for about 3 hours. I love this more than some of the other "rest in the oven" recipes because the coating is edible and the garlic flavor puts it right over the top. Served mine with baked taters and brussels sprouts. Thanks for a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      Heavenly is the world that comes to mind after eating this roast, and I don't even like prime rib! In-laws were coming to visit and we made this roast for dinner and served it with the Horseradish Sauce (Prime Rib Roast), asparagus and mashed potatoes. Everyone LOVED this roast, definitely a keeper and will be made often. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      Was so good, our guests were able to cut it with a butter knife. I loved that 8 mos pg we could have such an easy main course hosting Christmas. I think will be our new Christmas tradition. We did wait about 20-30 longer to turn back on the oven for a little over 5 lbs and it was perfectly medium throughout most of it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2007

      I used a bone-in roast and followed the recipe as written as a treat for my family for Valentine's Day. The meat was perfectly cooked and the seasoning was enough to add that "certain something" without eclipsing the flavor of a beautiful cut of beef. All 4 of us agree that this is superb -- I would serve this to guests, which earns my 5 star rating.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2006

      This was delicious. I have been using a similar recipe for cooking prime rib on Christmas Eve, but I really enjoyed this one. The fresh garlic gives it an extra special flavor and I wouldn't make it without. The rosemary is also perfect for the prime rib. The cooking method is so easy and the perfect way to time your dinner. I cooked my roast the second time for 50 minutes because I like some of it to be a little more done on the ends. My family thought this was the best prime rib yet.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      LOVED THIS. Absolutely perfect. Gorgeous -- as you can see from my pictures ;) Will make again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2006

      Wow, what an easy way to get the cow cooked! I was intimidated until I read the directions and saw how easy it is. This was great and came out just the way I like.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2005

      Ok I'll say up front I didn't use the garlic or the fresh rosemary. I used kosher salt and some fresh ground mixed peppercorns. The taste was fabulous and the cooking method was easy. I had a smaller roast as I was only cooking for two the outer ends of the roast were medium-well and the middle came out medium rare. I made this with garlic mashed potatoes and made pan gravy from the drippings. It was delish. Next time I will include the rosemary and garlic. Thanks for posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2005

      This worked beautifuly. The rosemary and garlic made it taste so good, and the smell in my kitchen was *H E A V E N L Y* ...And it was so easy!! I relaxed at my daughter's soccer game while the turned off oven did the trick. It really worked and there was just the right amount of each type of meat from rare to medium well. Rita, it was awesome! THANKS!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2014

      I never made a prime rib roast before, but I followed this recipe and it was delicious! I chopped up the garlic with the rosemary and mixed in a little olive oil to make a paste. I salted and peppered the roast and then put the paste on. I cooked a 5.75 pound bone-in roast and I used a thermometer so that I could monitor the temp. I made the mistake of rewarming the roast to 138 degrees; it was more done than I wanted because of the carryover cooking time, but still delicious. Next time I will make sure to only rewarm up to 125 degrees so that it only reaches about 135 degrees after the carryover cooking time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2014

      WOW! This really was fantastic! This was my first time making a roast and I was so nervous about how it was going to come out for my guests. It was full proof!<br/>My rib roast was only 3 lbs, so I decreased the time sitting in the oven to 1 hr 30 mins until the internal meat was at 135 degrees, and it was perfectly med rare. Thank you for sharing such a GREAT recipe! Love having success in my kitchen!! <br/>Notes: I used Hawaiian Salt to give it an extra flavor kick, and I used olive oil to coat the roast with seasonings and it gave a nice moisture too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2013

      I was very nervous making this roast but as you can see it was delicious; this will be the roast for special occasions. I used a little over a 5 lb ribeye roast which did not change the taste or cooking time at all; the cooking time is definitley for medium rare. I will cook it a little longer( for me) next time but did not want to make any changes since this was the first time making it. As Rita says be generous with the salt and pepper. I decreased the salt by one teaspoon but won't do that again. This is an easy and a great way to impress your guests! Thanks Rita:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2013

      I forgot to 'rate' my review. Sorry. Lots else on my mind. (I've made this often, I KNOW it's a 5-star recipe when cooked to a 'reasonable' doneness.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Prime Rib Roast Beef With Fresh Garlic and Rosemary

    Serving Size: 1 (4 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 6.5
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    46%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 291.4 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.4 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.2 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    boneless beef rib roast

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes