Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Prime Rib Roast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Prime Rib Roast

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on November 29, 2002

      This was the first time I had made prime rib at home so I was a little nervous about any recipe. This was simple, with very few ingredients, and that is why I chose it. I didn't want something loaded down with seasoning to overpower the flavor of the roast. This fit the bill perfectly. This was simply wonderful! The meat was so flavorful, and it cut so tender, and melted in your mouth. We love horseradish too, so I also made the sauce, which was just as wonderful as the roast. This is definately a keeper Miss Annie! Already planning on making it again for New Years!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2002

      This was a part of our family Christmas Eve dinner and it was excellent! As my husband was carving, he said "this is done perfectly"! A great method to cook prime rib. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2002

      Melt in your mouth delicious. First time for me to make prime rib, too, but it came out perfect. DH says it's better than he gets @ our favorite steakhouse & I take that as a real compliment. Sauce was good, too, but you can also just serve with plain horseradish. I rubbed the meat with pre-minced garlic & plenty of it. Tender & tasty, but don't overcook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2002

      I made this recipe for our Christmas dinner. Wow! It was delicious. I just added some herbes de Provence when I rubbed the garlic, salt and pepper on the roast. The whole house smelled wonderful while it was cooking. I let it rest, covered with foil, about 15 minutes while I de-glazed the roasting pan with a little red wine, and made a nice brown gravy from the drippings. Some of the drippings were also used to make Yorkshire pudding. We decided we didn't need the sauce this time, so I didn't try that. I'll definitely be making this again and want to try the sauce, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      Ths is a FINE method for cooking prime rib. Have used the same method for 20 years +, however, I cook a TOTAL of 18 min. per pound for rare to med.rare, including the searing at 450-475 degrees. I also place slivered fresh garlic into 16 or more slits in the roast, after rubbing w/salt and pepper. Sometimes I press flour into the top side to give extra boost to the crunchiness of the crust. As others have said, NEVER buy less than 3 ribs, even if cooking for 2. It makes great leftovers. To be a nut about it, I use a calculator to multiply the lbs and tenths of pounds by 18, then divide by 60 to get the total cooking time in hr(s) and minutes by decimal point. I then subtract 30 min from this total and that is the remaining time at 300 degrees. Additional resting time of 15-20 minutes is cruital. This is NEVER fail and so simple. Thank you Miss Annie for posting. Really keeps me from having to run to my very old edition of the New York Times Sunday cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

      This is for the roasting method only, since the sauce wasn't made. My dad called yesterday asking me how to roast a 4 bone prime rib, and I had no idea. Looked for the highest rated recipe and voila! Dad told me this was wonderful, and his roasting skills are still king, so big thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      Great recipe for the Horseradish! I followed the cooking instructions, but my wife likes things done, so had to put it back in the oven for about 30 minutes more than suggested. I also have done it with salt, pepper and flour, and the flavor can't be beat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      Thanks for a simple and tasty way to enjoy prime rib. Our roast was cooked to perfection and we will be using your method from now on. Again many thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      Excellent preparation direction. Nice and easy. The sauce was great. However, the time was a little long and my roast was a little over done. Next time I will reduce the time. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      Went all out and bought the entire rib...15 pounds, and it turned out perfectly! Cooked it in a roaster oven with truffle oil and the butcher's special rub with the one inch slits with sliced garlic tucked inside. Used your temperatures and cooked it 18 minutes per pound as another review suggested for a rare roast. Also kept close tabs on the internal temp, and when it reached 120 degrees I turned off the roaster and let it sit for 30 minutes. Perfect....and I was very nervous about this giant roast.....Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      Great! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      Wonderful roast, very nice sauce. Salt, pepper and garlic season it perfectly. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      Forgot 5 stars for the prime rib

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      Fantastic! Moist and melts in your mouth. The horseradish dip was terrific too! SOOO easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      Brought the meat up to near room temperature and did a 5.5 LB (2 rib) roast, in our convection oven, Got to 140 degrees in 110 minutes total time (including the 30 minute sear)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2004

      I made a rub with olive oil, rosemary, salt, pepper, thyme and crushed garlic. Rubbed it all over the meat, and also stuck whole cloves of garlic into the meat. Came out excellent, but I think 18 minutes a lb. for rare is a better estimate. I also took the meat out 20. minutes before serving to let stand before carving. Searing the meat first locked in all flavors. Excellent suggestion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2004

      Seasoning was great. I had a 7 rib 17 lb. roast. Roasted it for 1/2 hour at 475 & then only 2 hours at 300. Make sure to start checking the thermometer after 1 to 2 hours or you could end up with very expensive shoe leather.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2004

      I also used this recipe for my first adventure with Prime Rib. It was wonderful. I followed the time guide in the recipe, but also checked the internal temp of the prime using the Joy of Cooking as a reference. It came out perfect! Hubby made a pig of himself. I prepared the horseradish sauce, but we decided that we prefer Reese's with our prime. I will use this cooking method for all future Prime Ribs. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2004

      Our family welcomed in 2004 with Miss Annie's Prime Rib Roast and what a marvelous feast we had! The meat was tender and flavorful and the horseradish sauce was the perfect complement. I added just a touch more sugar to the sauce which was the only change I made. I served with my own Jeff's Yorkshire Pudding. I have found you just can't improve on any of Miss Annie's recipes. Always perfect ; )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2003

      I bought a pre-seasoned 3.5 lb. prime-rib so I used your cooking method and it turned out great. My first attempt at prime rib and I can't wait to try it again. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Prime Rib Roast

    Serving Size: 1 (41 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 114.0
     
    Calories from Fat 102
    89%
    Total Fat 11.3 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 29.9 mg
    9%
    Sodium 89.0 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.3 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 1.3 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites