Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Prime rib Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Prime rib

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on September 11, 2007

      A word of advice is to NEVER leave meat in an oven for 4 to 8 hrs. with the heat off... Bacteria starts building on anything sitting out (even in the oven) after 2 hrs., and you can get VERY SICK!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2001

      Interesting recipe. I followed it to the letter. The roast I had was small (About 2 lbs) and I though it came out too well done. It had the texture of a crock pot roast rather than a rare cooked roast. Will try it again with a larger and less expensive cut of meat. Hope you post more recipies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      I have done it this way for YEARS! It IS always perfect! And, if you have someone in your family who is habitually late their tardiness will not ruin the meal! Just turn it back on when they walk through the door! And no, I do not worry about leaving the meat in the WARM oven for 4-8 hours. It is simply cooking at a very low temp....that is why you don't open the oven door.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      Made this last night with a 10lb roast. Since we have some folks that prefer more well-done meat, for its final cook time, I gave it 50-55 minutes, then let it sit outside the oven, covered, for 30 minutes. It was PERFECT. The middle was medium rare, most of the roast was just under medium, and the ends were just shy of medium well - a perfect assortment for the group we had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2010

      I made this tonight for christmas eve dinner, wow it was awesome I made a 6 lb. tenderloin I didn't have string to tie it I used minced garlic in the butter like others have suggested it was just a little rare for my taste but the flavor was oh so good next time I might cook 40 mins then let sit for 30 but even rare it was sooooo good thanks for the great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      I found this recipe on Recipezaar several years ago. It truly is PERFECT every time. I always use a rib that has 'bone in' and always in the 4-6 pound range. For those that like a rarer prime rib, cut initial cook time to 45 min. Let is sit for the 4-6 hours indicated, turn over back on, but only do 1/2 hour. Year after year... it is P-E-R-F-E-C-T! Delightfully tender, always perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

    • on December 26, 2008

      We started using this method of cooking our prime rib over a year ago. It always comes out perfect, no matter the size of the roast. My DH just throws spices together for a rub. Then we wrap it in foil and leave it in the refrigerator over night. The next day we follow the cooking method. We have never been disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      This was my very first time making a prime rib. My husband found this website instructing us to "coat entire rib with rock salt - - make sure it's completely covered". Then part way through the cooking "use paper towel to wipe away salt". It sounded like a pain. This was very easy and my husband loved it. The most difficult thing - - not opening the door to check on it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      I agreed with the first reviewer, my three pound roast was well done. I don't know if I should blame the recipe or my oven, but I will definitely try it again, but will check the temperature frequently on the final cooking time. I think 25 minutes would have been perfect for mine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2007

      Very easy, and very delicious. Will use again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      Chalk up another believer! This was so easy. It was wonderful knowing exactly when the roast would be done, so I could time the side dishes. I did use different spices--used "mixed up salt", pepper, garlic and onion powders. It was per\fectly done with crusty bits on the outside of the roast and medium rare inside slices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2006

      Fixed this today for Christmas dinner. I have fixed prime rib before but it's been a while and I was a little worried. After reading all the comments I knew it would be great and I wasn't wrong. Turned out really good. DH likes his a bit more done so next time I will go a little longer at the end. He ate some on the ends that was done more but the rest of us loved the medium rare. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2006

      I was so nervous because it was really hard to just leave it and not see it! Followed the recipe except because our prime rib was 18 pounds increased final cooking time, still a perfect medium rare and tasted better than the Restaurant! I will always do it this way

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2006

      We have made prime rib for our Christmas Eve dinner for years. While looking through the Recipezaar site one day, I thought I'd check out other recipes for prime rib. Though I wanted to continue to use the marinade we've used, I decided to try your cooking method. To be honest, I was nervous....prime rib is no cheap cut of meat and I had nothing else to feed 10 hungry mouths! It was marvelous! We had a 7 pound roast and it was scrumptious. I'll definitely use this method again! Thanks, Pat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2006

      This is the same way I cook Prime Rib every Christmas Eve and it always turns out perfect! I got this recipe from a newspaper column many years ago. Be sure to NOT open the oven door!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2006

      This exact method also works with a tip roast cap off. Carved thinly it maked the juciect roast beef. It was delicious and fork tender I sliced it cold the next day for sandwiches. Next time I will try it on the right roast and post those results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2006

      OUTSTANDING, AND UNBELIEVABLE. I followed the directions to the letter, and it was perfect. The only hard part was not peeking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2006

      I made a 18 pound boneless prime rib for my wifes birthday. I coated the entire outside with season salt and sprinkled it with Monteral Steak Seasoning. The last 45 minute cooking time I also cooked at 410 degrees. Wonderful crunchy,salty crust, perfect medium rare. It was fantastic, guests and my self said it was the best we have ever eaten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2006

      I was skeptical this would work, but it certainly did! I had a 6 lb roast so cooked it a little longer at the end. I will always use this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Prime rib

    Serving Size: 1 (0 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites