27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A word of advice is to NEVER leave meat in an oven for 4 to 8 hrs. with the heat off... Bacteria starts building on anything sitting out (even in the oven) after 2 hrs., and you can get VERY SICK!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen September 11, 2007

Interesting recipe. I followed it to the letter. The roast I had was small (About 2 lbs) and I though it came out too well done. It had the texture of a crock pot roast rather than a rare cooked roast. Will try it again with a larger and less expensive cut of meat. Hope you post more recipies.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo October 05, 2001

I have done it this way for YEARS! It IS always perfect! And, if you have someone in your family who is habitually late their tardiness will not ruin the meal! Just turn it back on when they walk through the door! And no, I do not worry about leaving the meat in the WARM oven for 4-8 hours. It is simply cooking at a very low temp....that is why you don't open the oven door.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janet Warner December 27, 2010

Made this last night with a 10lb roast. Since we have some folks that prefer more well-done meat, for its final cook time, I gave it 50-55 minutes, then let it sit outside the oven, covered, for 30 minutes. It was PERFECT. The middle was medium rare, most of the roast was just under medium, and the ends were just shy of medium well - a perfect assortment for the group we had.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JulieannH December 26, 2010

I made this tonight for christmas eve dinner, wow it was awesome I made a 6 lb. tenderloin I didn't have string to tie it I used minced garlic in the butter like others have suggested it was just a little rare for my taste but the flavor was oh so good next time I might cook 40 mins then let sit for 30 but even rare it was sooooo good thanks for the great recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
traceycooksalot December 24, 2010

I found this recipe on Recipezaar several years ago. It truly is PERFECT every time. I always use a rib that has 'bone in' and always in the 4-6 pound range. For those that like a rarer prime rib, cut initial cook time to 45 min. Let is sit for the 4-6 hours indicated, turn over back on, but only do 1/2 hour. Year after year... it is P-E-R-F-E-C-T! Delightfully tender, always perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
telizpettis November 24, 2010

We started using this method of cooking our prime rib over a year ago. It always comes out perfect, no matter the size of the roast. My DH just throws spices together for a rub. Then we wrap it in foil and leave it in the refrigerator over night. The next day we follow the cooking method. We have never been disappointed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pmh262 December 26, 2008

This was my very first time making a prime rib. My husband found this website instructing us to "coat entire rib with rock salt - - make sure it's completely covered". Then part way through the cooking "use paper towel to wipe away salt". It sounded like a pain. This was very easy and my husband loved it. The most difficult thing - - not opening the door to check on it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Small Town Cook February 10, 2008

I agreed with the first reviewer, my three pound roast was well done. I don't know if I should blame the recipe or my oven, but I will definitely try it again, but will check the temperature frequently on the final cooking time. I think 25 minutes would have been perfect for mine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jules127 March 20, 2007
Prime rib