Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Primanti Brothers Sandwich Pittsburgh original!!! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Primanti Brothers Sandwich Pittsburgh original!!!

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 15, 2011

      I know the recipe for the cole slaw

      10 lb of shreaded cabage
      1 2/3 gallon of apple cider
      4 cups of sugar
      1/2 cup of salt
      1/4 cup of pepper

      There is no mayo no celery seed. I've had to make this every week when I lived in pittsburgh

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      The sandwich made properly wold be 5 stars. Here are a few hints, some are echoes from previous reviewers. I too am from the Western PA area and have had a few Primanti Bros. sandwiches in my day, and found a recipe that is as close as I think anyone will get that whenever I have the craving I make them myself.

      Cole Slaw is made with finely shredded green cabbage, apple cider vinegar celery seed and sugar. No Mayo here.
      Bread is thick sliced white Italian bread, as fresh as you can find, if needed warm in a micrwave for 16 - 20 seconds just before you put the meat on the bread.
      French Fries are Fried twice, 1st on Medium heat, second on High heat. allowed to cool/drip in between, while oil heats back up to the higher temp.
      Meat is warmed on a grill or cast iron skillet, flipped then cheese added until it melts, then place on the bread, top with coleslaw and fries, slam the top peice of bread down on top to hold it all together, wrap in butcher paper and cut in half. Enjoy your sandwich, the paper hold's it together. BTW, I omit tomato.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2012

      The correct assembly of this sandwich is important. Following the picture on the Primanti Bros.website, the warmed meat goes on first, with the melted cheese covering the meat. Then, and this is the critical part, you stack on the fries. The melted cheese helps to keep the potatoes from falling out. Next comes the cole slaw and then the tomatoes. Top with a second slice of bread, cut in half and wrap in paper. The cole slaw dressing soaks into the potatoes and seasons the tomatoes at the same time but doesn't make the bread soggy.

      A whole meal inside 2 slices of bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      This was a wonderful sandwich! I saw it initially on the Food Network and just knew I could find the recipe here. This was very tasty and messy and sloppy like any good sandwich should be.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      I am from Pittsburgh (there is an "h" on the end) & have eaten MANY Primanti's sandwiches. There is NO mayonnaise on them!!! I've never counted the slices of meat, but I'm pretty sure it's not just 5-6. One sandwich has at least 2 inches of meat in the center, when you cut the sandwich in half. One reviewer mentioned a few ingredients & he's on track, except that vegetable oil is added too. If you ever have the chance to visit Pittsburgh, you've got to go to Primanti Brothers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

      I went to Primanti Brothers for the first time about a month and a half ago on a girls weekend trip to IKEA. I love IKEA but I couldn't stop thinking about Primanti Brothers! Mmmmm I am craving it now! Can't wait to try this!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      The restaurant's sandwich is 5 star. You will need to find the cole slaw to get this perfected. It tastes more like a type of sauerkraut than cole slaw to me. They make it with all kinds of meats. It is wrapped in butcher paper and cut in half. This is making me crave one right now. Oh, the things the Burgh does with fries!!! Try a Pittsburgh salad also!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2007

      I saw these on the food network and they looked so good, so we made our own. Not something to eat everyday but as a treat they are wonderful. And I have never been to Pittsburgh.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2006

      Try making the "cole slaw" with just thinly sliced cabbage, apple cider vinegar, salt and pepper. This keeps forever. Overnight or more is best for the sandwich, and make sure you use thick sliced Italian bread like Mancini's. I don't use the mayo and my fave is also the pastrami. MmmMmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2005

      The cole slaw makes the sandwich but I can't find the recipe. It is vinegar based and peppery.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2004

      Umm...just a couple comments...you can use any kind of meat (corned beef or pastrami are my favorites)and it's not served in waxed paper, but rather white butcher paper. They slice it in half and then wrap it in the paper. Also, for a little extra, you can get a fried egg. Remember that Primanti's started in the Strip District (the wholesale/retail food shops, restaurants and nightclub area just outside the Burgh!), and these sandwiches started to feed the hungry truckers! Now, darn it, I'm hungry for a Primanti's! OrigCyn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2004

      Yes finally a sandwich i can enjoy from near home I have been looking for a taste of western pa for so long i just about gave up thank's for sharing it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2002

      Very Good... And very close. And Sandra, they DO fit all of that on the bread... It is a large sandwich to say the least. It is supposed to overflow the sides. I've been there many times... :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2002

      I couldn't possibly fit all of this between just two slices of bread, so I made several sandwiches. I was able to buy shaved ham (which is ham cut so thinkly you can almost see throught it). This made using 3 slices of ham acceptable, but I only used half of the cheese and coleslaw and served the french fries as a side. This worked well. The sandwiches were delicious and if this is what they sell in Pittsburg, I will have to put Pittsburg on my 'toens to visit list'.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Primanti Brothers Sandwich Pittsburgh original!!!

    Serving Size: 1 (166 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 335.5
     
    Calories from Fat 154
    46%
    Total Fat 17.1 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 10.0 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 41.0 mg
    13%
    Sodium 733.0 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.4 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    6%
    Protein 18.5 g
    37%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham

    French fries

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites