14 Reviews

I know the recipe for the cole slaw

10 lb of shreaded cabage
1 2/3 gallon of apple cider
4 cups of sugar
1/2 cup of salt
1/4 cup of pepper

There is no mayo no celery seed. I've had to make this every week when I lived in pittsburgh

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kreamfire September 15, 2011

The sandwich made properly wold be 5 stars. Here are a few hints, some are echoes from previous reviewers. I too am from the Western PA area and have had a few Primanti Bros. sandwiches in my day, and found a recipe that is as close as I think anyone will get that whenever I have the craving I make them myself.

Cole Slaw is made with finely shredded green cabbage, apple cider vinegar celery seed and sugar. No Mayo here.
Bread is thick sliced white Italian bread, as fresh as you can find, if needed warm in a micrwave for 16 - 20 seconds just before you put the meat on the bread.
French Fries are Fried twice, 1st on Medium heat, second on High heat. allowed to cool/drip in between, while oil heats back up to the higher temp.
Meat is warmed on a grill or cast iron skillet, flipped then cheese added until it melts, then place on the bread, top with coleslaw and fries, slam the top peice of bread down on top to hold it all together, wrap in butcher paper and cut in half. Enjoy your sandwich, the paper hold's it together. BTW, I omit tomato.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaptBillWilson February 05, 2011

The correct assembly of this sandwich is important. Following the picture on the Primanti Bros.website, the warmed meat goes on first, with the melted cheese covering the meat. Then, and this is the critical part, you stack on the fries. The melted cheese helps to keep the potatoes from falling out. Next comes the cole slaw and then the tomatoes. Top with a second slice of bread, cut in half and wrap in paper. The cole slaw dressing soaks into the potatoes and seasons the tomatoes at the same time but doesn't make the bread soggy.

A whole meal inside 2 slices of bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura2of7 July 16, 2012

This was a wonderful sandwich! I saw it initially on the Food Network and just knew I could find the recipe here. This was very tasty and messy and sloppy like any good sandwich should be.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
baklava glue January 04, 2010

I am from Pittsburgh (there is an "h" on the end) & have eaten MANY Primanti's sandwiches. There is NO mayonnaise on them!!! I've never counted the slices of meat, but I'm pretty sure it's not just 5-6. One sandwich has at least 2 inches of meat in the center, when you cut the sandwich in half. One reviewer mentioned a few ingredients & he's on track, except that vegetable oil is added too. If you ever have the chance to visit Pittsburgh, you've got to go to Primanti Brothers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hebreezins September 22, 2009

I went to Primanti Brothers for the first time about a month and a half ago on a girls weekend trip to IKEA. I love IKEA but I couldn't stop thinking about Primanti Brothers! Mmmmm I am craving it now! Can't wait to try this!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalalauren May 07, 2009

The restaurant's sandwich is 5 star. You will need to find the cole slaw to get this perfected. It tastes more like a type of sauerkraut than cole slaw to me. They make it with all kinds of meats. It is wrapped in butcher paper and cut in half. This is making me crave one right now. Oh, the things the Burgh does with fries!!! Try a Pittsburgh salad also!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycitycook January 04, 2009

I saw these on the food network and they looked so good, so we made our own. Not something to eat everyday but as a treat they are wonderful. And I have never been to Pittsburgh.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canewsam March 22, 2007

Try making the "cole slaw" with just thinly sliced cabbage, apple cider vinegar, salt and pepper. This keeps forever. Overnight or more is best for the sandwich, and make sure you use thick sliced Italian bread like Mancini's. I don't use the mayo and my fave is also the pastrami. MmmMmm

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pittsburgh Rare June 02, 2006

The cole slaw makes the sandwich but I can't find the recipe. It is vinegar based and peppery.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christgrant July 14, 2005
Primanti Brothers Sandwich Pittsburgh original!!!