Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pretzels Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pretzels

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on March 19, 2003

      I first learned how to make this in the 3rd grade. I lost the recipe over the years and was glad to find it again! A couple of options for variety: add cinnamon to a buttered top or parmesan cheese. It's just like the stuff you buy at Costco!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2003

      Well, these were wonderful! Very quick & easy to prepare the dough, which took about 30 minutes to rise. They came out soft and light and very tasty. If you have never made pretzels before, they can be a little tricky to twist into the correct shape, but they are very fun and even the lopsided looking ones looked & tasted delicious once baked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2005

      Why to buy Pretzels, when you can make them on your own with this recipe? These Pretzels, or Bretzel as they are called in Germany, are so easy to make and the outcome is wonderful. And they are for sure best eaten hot. The only difficulty was to bring them into the form of Pretzels. If you don't care about their form, try sticks or rolls - much easier to make, but as tasty as Pretzels. Thank Mimi Bibeck for ths wonderful recipe. From now on my Bretzel will be homemade.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2003

      Making pretzels sounds intimidating, but this recipe was really easy and made a nice light pretzel. I thought the flavor was a little bland and the end result was a bit more bread like than I wanted. I'm still searching for a NY style chewy soft pretzel recipe. I might tinker with this one a bit. Thanks for a great start!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2003

      I made these last week and they tasted better than any other recipe that I have tried. The only reason I put 4 stars instead of 5 is because I am still searching for the perfect pretzel recipe! I want a super soft pretzel like they sell at the mall or at costcos!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      Made these "terrific" pretzels on a ski vacation recently, and I might not have hit all the high notes on the slopes but I sure had a few "fa-la-la's" from grateful apre ski folk. Thanks for sharing a tried and true.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      This is an easy to follow recipe that makes a tasty pretzel. Followed the recipe almost to the letter, but unfortunately didn't have coarse salt, so I used fine sea salt (which was still good). You really need to make the dough thinner (slightly thicker than a pencil width) to get bigger pretzels - otherwise, the pretzel becomes a knot! We put some cheeze on the last batch and it was delicious. Will make again in a pinch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      GREAT recipe!! I made 8 small pretzels just plain like directed and made 8 small pretzels with melted butter and grated asiago cheese on top, they were a hit! I can't wait to make these again, they're perfect. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      yummy! Thanks!!! Great to do with the kids.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      OMG!!!!!! There is one that really is EASY!! My family has been making pretzels for years and I just love doing it so I've lost recipes and found new and Better ones but, this one, is by far the best. It's perfect for making pretzels. I ran in to NO problems at all and am pleased that i got 16! pretzels out of it.Hint- use canola oil on your bowl and pan when baking them and letting the dough rise. THANKS MIMI!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      I am little. I mean I am a kid and I love to cook. This was so easy to make. I think you should stretch out the doughwhile moding itinto a pretzel. This was a great recipe but had a little to much flour. Try cinnamon and sugar on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2006

      These weren't bad, but not like the chewy ones you get in the malls. I also used some of the dough and wrapped around hot dogs before the second rising. Was a huge hit with the family and they've asked for them that way again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2006

      i replaced the 1/2 cup water with smart balance whipped butter, and it was great- also i sued egg beaters on top, with some kosher salt and that worked well! i would suggest putting some butter on top of the finished pretzels before serving! enjoy, very easy to make- i also made some sticks with them rather than twist all in traditional pretzel shape!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2006

      Replace the 1/2 cup water with half cup melted salted butter, this will give the missing falvor

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2005

      These were very good. The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is because I felt they were missing something but can't put my finger on what. The flavor was just a little, I don't know, flat. However, I will most likely make these again. They were crunchy on the outside, soft in the middle. I made 6 medium sized pretzels and one very large one. Both ways worked well. They puff up alot so be careful when making them or they could puff into a solid pretzel with no pretzel shape. They were also very easy to make and would be great for kids to help with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2005

      I got carried away and made 6 batches for a function. They were fabulous, but I have never worked with dough before and the large batches were hard to work with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2005

      These pretzels were good. I added a little butter on top of them when the came of of the oven. The only thing I would recomend is not to stretch the dough out to much when making the pretzels, when baked they get crunch in less thick areas. But if you make them thick and smaller they turn out pretty good. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2005

    • on October 13, 2005

      These are great. I took Stardustannie's advise and topped with slices of jalapeno's and sprinkled with parmesan cheese. Easy recipe that I will use often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2005

      This was a great, fun recipe. The ratio of flour to water was spot on, I didn't even need to use flour to roll them out. They turned out so well and taste wonderful. What more can I say? Thanks for a recipe that I will use again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pretzels

    Serving Size: 1 (77 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 163.6
     
    Calories from Fat 7
    67%
    Total Fat 0.8 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 15.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 211.5 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.1 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes