11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Not strictly a salad in my books, but really nice and refreshing dessert. I used only 1/2 cup of sugar, perfect for us. Because it's not a berry season, I made it with peach jello and canned peaches, not bad!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare February 06, 2012

I love this salad/dessert. The salty sweet pretzel crust goes so good with creamy cheese layer and the jello layer. THank you for sharing with us, I couldn't quit eating it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour August 11, 2013

Love this 'salad' for dessert. Came together very easily with little effort. Make very certain your cream cheese layer meets the pan very well on all four sides or the runny jello layer will seep down to the pretzel layer. Delicious and we ate every bite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twixxy April 23, 2013

Wow, did this jello salad go over well at our Easter gathering! Everyone loved it and wanted more. It really could be a dessert but it worked really well with our ham dinner, too. Only one problem, I guess I didn't wait long enough when letting the jello set until slightly thickened (there was no time given for this in the directions so I waited about 20 minutes) - and when I poured it over the top, it ended up seeping down into the coolwhip and pretzel layers. This left me with a veryyyyy thin layer on top. Luckily I had another small box of red jello and used that to increase the jello layer. I ended up using frozen (defrosted) strawberries, which worked fine, but next time I will use fresh. Thanks for a winning recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood April 26, 2011

I absolutely love jello & can happily eat it in almost any dish, & this one was, in my humble opinion, outstanding! The pretzels weren't crushed fine, in any sense of the word, & that worked great! Loved the salt & sweet combo & the strawberries & look forward to making this again & again over the summer when strawberries (as well as other kinds of berries) are in season locally! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe! [Made & reviewed in Everyday Is a Holiday tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike April 10, 2011

I have wanted to try this type of dessert and got my chance while tagging in I Recommend Tag Game. I made this exactly as written, using fresh strawberries, as it is Strawberry season here in FL. This is very good, but did get mixed reviews from my family!! I loved the pretzel crust, but DH and DD didn't care for it and just ate the topping. My DS's GF just loved this dessert. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 March 24, 2011

Super tasty ... I only made one change I used raspberry jello. I will happily make this again. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ceezie March 22, 2011

I chose this recipe because this is a favorite of my niece, and I've never made it before. I wasn't really sure what consistency the pretzels should be, mine were fairly fine. I love anything with cream cheese, so just loved this. However, normally I hate anything with jello, but this was an exception. I loved the mix of saltiness and sweet. Unlike another reviewer, I didn't have any problem mixing the sugar, cream cheese and cool whip......but I did let my cream cheese soften. Mine mixed up quickly and easily. Nice and colorful, and something I think I will serve again in the hot summer months....maybe for 4th of July!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom March 12, 2011

Very good recipe and wonderfully tasty dish. A new favorite in my household. A suggestion for preparation, mix the softened cream cheese with the sugar and then fold in the cool whip for better blending. Otherwise you may end up with lumps of cream cheese and gritty sugar that is not completely blended.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geochy December 24, 2007

Simply loved this recipe, it was very easy to make.I made it for a graduation party eraly in the Summer and everybody was asking for the recipe. Very refreshing with a slight crunch from the pretzel crust. Will definetely be making this again. Thanks for sharing it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JsBride August 21, 2007
Pretzel Jello Salad