24 Reviews

This is exactly what I was looking for, thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHEF GRPA March 19, 2013

A favorite in our family! Great recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melanie Adrienne November 08, 2012

I made these for a little Oscar Party this weekend and they were GLORIOUS! I loved them. I found the texture and taste to be just perfect. A nice crunch on the outside and a soft, doughy inside. It took about an hour for my dough to rise completely and another half hour once they were dunked in the baking soda solution. These were a huge hit. I'll definitely be making them again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diet It Up February 28, 2011

Once you salt and butter it, you can see the resemblance to mall pretzels. My complaints: the dough doesn't roll thin enough without breaking. It is missing something that I can't quite put my finger on. It's not as chewy; something about mall pretzels is that they almost taste as if they are quick fried which is hard taste to replicate at home. My praises: it comes out really soft and delicious. Once the pretzel sucks up the butter and salt, it is really delicious! They go great around hot dogs too, I just quick boil the hot dogs about half way and then let them cool before I wrap them in dough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moe13a August 06, 2010

I don't know if it was the high elevation in the decision for giving this recipe just 3 stars or if it was just the recipe. First off, there was confusion in the yeast. A pkg. & a half is far more than 1-1/8 tsp. Maybe h jones meant ounces? I used the equivalence of 1 pkg. which would balance the 4 cups of flour. The dough was far too moist and gooey to work with. It fell apart trying to shape it. I do feel that the final product did taste nice, but was hoping for something a bit more airy and not so heavy. After making it I compared it to others on here and found there was too many that were similar. I don't believe I will be doing this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CabinKat July 18, 2010

My kids and I enjoyed making this recipe. It was very good, but I made my pretzels too big and fat, so they were more like bread. My kids made pretzel people which were perfect. Experiment with the size of the rope so you can find out how you like them best. I also followed CabinKat's advice an greased the cookie sheet with Crisco oil instead of a light coating of spray. Some stuck, but it was no problem. Enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dandy Sandy April 01, 2010

This is exactly what I was looking for, thank you for posting. This tasted exactly like the super pretzels you get at ball parks with the cup of cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kara kim February 26, 2010

I was looking for a dough to wrap around hot dogs, and I now know I found it. Made it as pretzels first to see how they would come out. The whole family devoured them, and said I needed to make another batch for snacks this evening. As good as if not better than the mall pretzels, and so much better than the frozen ones in the store, and much cheaper too. I made mine in the bread machine, and brushed the soda water generously, then salted. I did brush butter on when they were done. Another keeper I tell you if I keep finding all these keepers they will never let me out of the kitchen.lol.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
redneckgetaway51 December 18, 2009

Updated: These made yummy, yummy pretzel cheese logs. Next time I'll make pizza logs by coating the cheese in tomato sauce; and next time I plan on freezing it beforehand so it doesn't leak out the ends like it did with this batch. I used 3/4 cup white flour and 3/4 cup whole wheat flour and salted with kosher salt-- I skipped the melted butter and just baked with the salt on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the80srule November 01, 2009
Pretzel Dough